Insight Tour Reviews

Insight Vacations
4.5 out of 5
467 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Insight Vacations. Every review has been verified.

     
“Stunning Southern Italy”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

A week in southern Italy in summer - what could be better! Spending more than the usual amount of time in 2 locations; Puglia and Sorrento (3 days in each) allowed a more relaxed vacation and the opportunity to explore these areas in more depth.

Great included activities and even better optionals resulted in some very memorable occasions, especially those that involved the divine Italian cuisine! And won't forget the shots of Limoncello!

This is now the 4th Insight trip we had booked through Global Journeys and all handled by the wonderful Hannah. Now planning the next trip...

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Glorious Switzerland in 8 days”
- WA, Australia Jun 2019

We enjoyed very much the Glorious Switzerland 8 day tour recently. It was great. Well organised. Martin was a very experienced and knowledgeable tour guide and was very organised. Our group of 35 was great and joyful, came from Canada, US, Australia, NZ and Singapore. Seat rotation was a great idea. Georgie from Global Journeys was very helpful. Will recommend this tour and Global Journeys to friends.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A great, hassle free way to see Italy.”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019

This was our first Coach Tour we have done, it was a great, hassle free way to see the country. Just sit back and relax. The Insight Vacations' coach was superb, free wifi, extra legroom and the driver was excellent. We did seat rotation each day, and stopped every few hours for breaks.

Our tour guide was excellent, funny and helpful. The weather was very hot, 30+ each day and each place we visited was quite crowded, although our tour guide told us it was quiet, peak season being July/August. There were long queues for attractions especially the Vatican, but with the pre booked groups you get to skip the line, no waiting at all for any of them during the trip.

The food was good, best to stick to where the locals eat, the dinners included with the trip were OK, the breakfasts were usually quite chaotic as all the other coach tours use the same hotels, maybe up to 2-3 each morning.

Overall it is an easy way to visit Italy, although there is not much time to relax, we saw so much of the country we would not have seen if we did it by ourselves. Also there were a lot of optional excursions which could have been included in the itinerary, and due to time commitments, we had quite a few lunch stops at motorway service stops.

I would recommend doing this coach tour, but would suggest to go early/late in the season to avoid the crowds and the heat. This was our third trip we have booked through Global Journeys, we booked last minute and within 48 hours we had all our documents ready to go. They always have the best prices, with easy direct contact with your personal agent.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“You'll experience the best of the UK and Ireland”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019

Make sure you're well rested before you commence this tour as it's pretty full on. Twenty-two days of sightseeing, often with 3 sensational events per day. The tour was well organised and I loved the seat rotation on the coach, as this meant we shared the best seats at the front of the bus.

The history and scenery of this region was extremely moving including the tragedy at Culloden Moor, the 5000 yr old Skara Brae village and standing stones at Ring of Brodgar will leave you speechless. The unique Gaelic culture of music, dancing and storytelling was the highlight of my trip and you won't need your warm pj's as all the hotel rooms are well heated all year round.

As I used my Travel Money Card 90% of the time, I didn't need to withdraw local cash in Ireland or Scotland. Just make sure your card has the pay wave, Wi Fi symbol on it and you can touch on and off for London trains and purchases etc.. (However, you may need a little cash for tips.)

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Scenic Ireland”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019

The short tour was very well organised. The hotels on the whole were good. The Clayton Hotel Burligton Rd, Dublin was far from the centre of city. We enjoyed particularly the time in Galway, we had enough time to do our own exploring. We also enjoyed the optional tour in Killarney on Irish dancing and songs. Wished to have an extra hour in Blarney Castle, the Queenstown Story Exhibition, and Waterford.

Most of all the Killarney National Park and the Ring of Kerry were the highlight of the trip. Southwest Ireland is stunning. We only went on 2 optional excursions, the one mentioned above and the walking tour of Galway.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Country Roads of Switzerland ”
- NSW, Australia May 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Great bunch of Aussies, Americans and Malaysians. Our Insight tour director was amazing with a great cultural and knowledge base. Scenery was stunning and we were blessed with great weather. Be prepared for high cost of everything in Switzerland. Wonderful tour and all our trip was wonderful, organised by Hannah from Global journeys.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing Greece Holiday”
- QLD, Australia May 2019 View Photo

Yvonne Brooks of Global Journeys was very helpful in assisting our booking with Insight Vacations for the holiday to Greece (Grecian Dreams). I would certainly come back to her when booking for my next trip (4th booking with her).

The inland tour (6 days) was amazing because we had a such great tour guide who could explain the history of Greece in a such way that made it easy for us to understand. We were lucky with the weather when cruising on Aegean seas. The entertainment provided on the Celestyal Cruises was very good but food was average. Our tour guide on the cruise was good for nothing (we got told that she was replacing the other tour guide because she/he was sick).

Overall our holiday was a pleasant one and hope that we can visit Greece again in the future.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Holiday met our expectations”
- WA, Australia May 2019

We recently returned from our Britain and Ireland Discovery tour. It is the ideal trip if you are looking to get an introduction to touring Britain and Ireland with a view to return at a later date for more in-depth investigation. Booking the holiday with Global Journeys was stress free and we would definitely use their services again.

Our tour director and main bus driver were good and we would certainly consider booking another trip with Insight tours. The highlight of our trip was visiting the Orkney Islands and we were very lucky with the weather conditions on this particular day - the sun shone most of the day? In relation to the pace of the trip it can be broken into 2 parts - the first half of the trip is very busy but once you reach Ireland the pace does calm down but overall the pace of the trip is manageable given the amount of places you get to visit. One further comment is that we would prefer that any gratuities are included in the overall cost of the trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Grand Journey of Americas West”
- NSW, Australia May 2019 View Photo

This journey covers long distances. There are places we could miss and places that we could stay longer e.g. we got into Yosemite late afternoon and left early next morning. There was hardly time to explore. This tour caters to big age range and fitness level range so there is some limitations to activities. On the whole, the tour covers all the places I want to go to.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Eastern Discovery”
- New Zealand May 2019

Travelled on the Eastern Discovery tour with Insight and can recommend it, as a introduction to eastern Europe. Coach and hotels lived up to expectations, except an older hotel in Corfu, however the location of this hotel more than addressed its short comings. Highlights would be the Walled city of Dubrovnik, and the Greek Islands. Would recommend including the optional post tour cruise.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Spectacular Switzerland”
- SA, Australia May 2019

This was a very good tour of Switzerland. The pace was good, not too rushed and the tour guide Helen was excellent. The hotels were all very good and well positioned. All the places we stayed were interesting and the scenery was spectacular. One point to note though, Switzerland is quite expensive. Be prepared to pay about 50% more for food and drink than you would pay in Australia.

My only criticism of this tour would be the coach. There were a few seats which did not have the Insight Vacations signature Business Class legroom. I would suggest these few seats were barely Premium Economy so at 6 foot 2 inches I had a couple of slightly cramped days on the coach. I suspect they use a smaller coach on this tour due to the narrow and winding roads taken on the tour.

Otherwise Switzerland is a beautiful, safe and clean country, albeit a bit expensive.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Country Roads of France”
- NSW, Australia May 2019 View Photo

Hannah as usual made our booking process very easy. She promptly answered our questions and queries. We loved the trip. It had a great variety of food and wine experiences combined with a variety of beautiful scenery and historical villages. Elizabeth our tour director took care of all our needs in a professional but caring manner.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Highlights of Spain”
- NSW, Australia May 2019 View Photo

Accommodation was not as good as expected for a 5 star operator. Extra legroom on coach was appreciated. Included restaurants were a treat. Rest stops were better then expected. Travel director Maria was well organised, approachable and very likeable.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Canals, Windmills and Tulips in Benelux”
- VIC, Australia Apr 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

What a wonderful tour! April-May is the time to go, as the weather is improving (we had many days in the mid-20s Celsius after a cool beginning), and the Keukenhof Gardens are open and, in our case, were included in the tour. Our wonderful tour director, Philip Orna, went out of his way to ensure we had the best tour possible, and our driver, Ludwig, was also excellent.

There were a few downsides. The accommodation in Bruges is a brand new Radisson, which is still teething, is understaffed and is not well located (next to the rail yards). Apparently chosen by Insight because they received a lot of bad feedback regarding the previous hotel.

The NH hotel in Amsterdam is also new to Insight, and is very tired. It is apparently due to be renovated this year (2019), so should be in good shape by 2020, but may not be so good this year.

The Chateau D'Urspelt is lovely, but it is a true country stay. It is a long drive from Luxembourg, so those who choose not to take the optional excursion to Trier will have to remain in Luxembourg until the excursion returns. Trier is certainly worthwhile, so we would recommend taking this excursion.

We went on the majority of the optional excursions and recommend doing the same. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and made many friends among our travelling companions.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Best of Spain and Portugal”
- WA, Australia Mar 2019 View Photo

I would travel with Insight Vacations again. Nice group of people. Tour Director was great and coach driver amazing. Some of the meals on the optional excursions were below my expectations.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great tour or Spain Portugal and Morocco”
- ACT , Australia Feb 2019 1 Helpful Vote

This tour was a terrific way to experience these three diverse countries in one go, an almost essential criteria after having to travel so far. The booking process and the management of the booking by Global Journeys was smooth and seamless from start to finish and we rate them very highly. As for the tour itself, the experience provided by Insight Vacations was exceptional.

The motor coach, driver and the Tour Director were of the highest standard, however the quality of the accommodation varied considerably across the tour. Overall the accommodation was very good but in a couple of locations it was not really up to expectations. The group was quite varied and overall got along very well, which makes a trip like this very interesting as travel stories are shared and enjoyed.

If there was any complaint, the number of optional experiences was excessive and overpriced. Compared to past tours we have experienced we would have expected many of what were presented as extra cost options would have been included in a tour of this quality and cost, however, overall the tour was a very high quality offering and a great way to experience such diverse countries

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great Itinerary ”
- QLD, Australia Feb 2019 2 Helpful Votes

This was a great way to see the highlights of Spain & Portugal. We were so incredibly fortunate to have Brad as our truly exceptional Tour Director. His knowledge of every aspect of both countries added an extra dimension to the trip. The quality of accommodation was very good & the optional tours were worthwhile with excellent guides. February proved to be a perfect time to travel as the crowds were smaller than at other times & the weather was sunny & mild. I would be happy to travel with Insight again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Insight Tours Road to Rome (Winter)”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018 View Photo

Overall a good trip. Saw a lot which could not do on your own. Busy schedule but not stressed as everything taken care of.

Accommodation in Florence & Rome could be better. Really need to do the Optional tours to benefit from it so budget for these. So you could say the optional tours are not really optional.

Allow a few days at the end to relax & do shopping if you want as you don’t really get enough time for this on the tour despite what they say. The guide Gary was excellent & professional. As this was our first time to Italy & the europena continent it was a good way to do it with this tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Spain and Portugal”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2018

Great sights, scenery, tapas and Sangria everywhere. Would love to go back to Salamanca and Seville. Porto quite run down and still undergoing renovations. Lisbon was very nice and stylish.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Southern Italy and Sicily”
- SA, Australia Sep 2018 3 Helpful Votes

Enjoyed the tour and saw some amazing places and met some great people. Had a few hiccups due to weather and a landslide on the Amalfi Coast and earth tremor in Sicily. Tour director was OK but not as good as ones I have had on other trips.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 467