Insight Tour Reviews

Insight Vacations
4.5 out of 5
438 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Insight Vacations. Every review has been verified.

     
“Canals, Windmills and Tulips in Benelux”
- VIC, Australia Apr 2019 View Photo

What a wonderful tour! April-May is the time to go, as the weather is improving (we had many days in the mid-20s Celsius after a cool beginning), and the Keukenhof Gardens are open and, in our case, were included in the tour. Our wonderful tour director, Philip Orna, went out of his way to ensure we had the best tour possible, and our driver, Ludwig, was also excellent.

There were a few downsides. The accommodation in Bruges is a brand new Radisson, which is still teething, is understaffed and is not well located (next to the rail yards). Apparently chosen by Insight because they received a lot of bad feedback regarding the previous hotel.

The NH hotel in Amsterdam is also new to Insight, and is very tired. It is apparently due to be renovated this year (2019), so should be in good shape by 2020, but may not be so good this year.

The Chateau D'Urspelt is lovely, but it is a true country stay. It is a long drive from Luxembourg, so those who choose not to take the optional excursion to Trier will have to remain in Luxembourg until the excursion returns. Trier is certainly worthwhile, so we would recommend taking this excursion.

We went on the majority of the optional excursions and recommend doing the same. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and made many friends among our travelling companions.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Best of Spain and Portugal”
- WA, Australia Mar 2019 View Photo

I would travel with Insight Vacations again. Nice group of people. Tour Director was great and coach driver amazing. Some of the meals on the optional excursions were below my expectations.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great tour or Spain Portugal and Morocco”
- ACT , Australia Feb 2019 1 Helpful Vote

This tour was a terrific way to experience these three diverse countries in one go, an almost essential criteria after having to travel so far. The booking process and the management of the booking by Global Journeys was smooth and seamless from start to finish and we rate them very highly. As for the tour itself, the experience provided by Insight Vacations was exceptional.

The motor coach, driver and the Tour Director were of the highest standard, however the quality of the accommodation varied considerably across the tour. Overall the accommodation was very good but in a couple of locations it was not really up to expectations. The group was quite varied and overall got along very well, which makes a trip like this very interesting as travel stories are shared and enjoyed.

If there was any complaint, the number of optional experiences was excessive and overpriced. Compared to past tours we have experienced we would have expected many of what were presented as extra cost options would have been included in a tour of this quality and cost, however, overall the tour was a very high quality offering and a great way to experience such diverse countries

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great Itinerary ”
- QLD, Australia Feb 2019 2 Helpful Votes

This was a great way to see the highlights of Spain & Portugal. We were so incredibly fortunate to have Brad as our truly exceptional Tour Director. His knowledge of every aspect of both countries added an extra dimension to the trip. The quality of accommodation was very good & the optional tours were worthwhile with excellent guides. February proved to be a perfect time to travel as the crowds were smaller than at other times & the weather was sunny & mild. I would be happy to travel with Insight again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Insight Tours Road to Rome (Winter)”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018 View Photo

Overall a good trip. Saw a lot which could not do on your own. Busy schedule but not stressed as everything taken care of.

Accommodation in Florence & Rome could be better. Really need to do the Optional tours to benefit from it so budget for these. So you could say the optional tours are not really optional.

Allow a few days at the end to relax & do shopping if you want as you don’t really get enough time for this on the tour despite what they say. The guide Gary was excellent & professional. As this was our first time to Italy & the europena continent it was a good way to do it with this tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Spain and Portugal”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2018

Great sights, scenery, tapas and Sangria everywhere. Would love to go back to Salamanca and Seville. Porto quite run down and still undergoing renovations. Lisbon was very nice and stylish.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Southern Italy and Sicily”
- SA, Australia Sep 2018 3 Helpful Votes

Enjoyed the tour and saw some amazing places and met some great people. Had a few hiccups due to weather and a landslide on the Amalfi Coast and earth tremor in Sicily. Tour director was OK but not as good as ones I have had on other trips.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great tour of southern France”
- WA, Australia Sep 2018 5 Helpful Votes

We really enjoyed our Insight Country roads of France tour. Plenty of time to relax and plenty of free time to explore. Would recommend this tour in late September. The temperatures were ideal and very little rain. We do feel some of the Optional Excursions should have been included in the tour. We would highly recommend the optional dinner at a winery about 30 minutes from Dijon. Phillips and his family were very welcoming and the food was excellent. Making our booking with Georgie from Global Journeys was easy and efficient.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Go see the treasures of Italy ”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

September was far too hot in Italy this year. Most beautiful sights imaginable, the best places were Bellagio, Sirmione, Isle of Capri, Positano, Stresa, Milan Duomo, Venice staying at The Hilton. Best hotels were Splendido, Baveno, Hilton Molino Stucky Venice & Regina Elena Santa Margarita.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Interesting World War One Tour”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2018 1 Helpful Vote

The tour was very interesting and also confronting, well worth taking this tour. Guides were very informative and certainly had in depth knowledge and were very helpful. The first day of the tour was too long. The issues were that the coach was a little crammed and not as spacious as other coaches we have travelled on. Wifi was a bit intermittent. It would have been nice to have one organised dinner.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Ancient Greece”
- New Zealand Sep 2018 View Photo

It was really good having a guide who could be our local expert. Nina was excellent. Anna, our cruise director was also very good at getting us to the front of the line!

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Beautiful trip”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2018 View Photo

Really beautiful trip, especially the Dolomites, the Grand Dino Hotel, Milan, the Dine-Around evening, and Burano. People were all nice on tour. Plenty of time in most places and mostly relaxing.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Gloroious Switzerland”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2018

Really enjoyed our Switzerland tour - Insight has never disappointed. Hotels were central, scenery fantastic, coaches have extra leg room and had a professional and knowledgeable tour director in Sara (she went that extra mile to keep everyone happy). Great group of people who mixed well. Well thought out itinerary, as did not spend all day on the bus, which is a plus. Will definitely book through Global Journeys again, as online booking so easy.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Insight Tour of Southern Ireland”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2018 2 Helpful Votes

This was my first time on a bus tour, or any large tour. There were 40 and we all got on reasonably well. The tour leader Aine was full of interesting news information. The accommodation was very good. The tour included some evening meals which were of all good quality. The area we covered wasn’t too rushed and we saw wonderful scenery as well as interesting side tours. There were a few optional tours but they weren’t too expensive. I would recommend Insight and booking through Global Journeys.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Well organised and varied”
- New Zealand Aug 2018 5 Helpful Votes

It was relaxing and enjoyable knowing that we were being capably managed and all arrangements had been made. The accommodation was superb - quality and centrally located. The coach was comfortable and the wifi worked well (an improvement from our last trip). The driver was experienced and we had every confidence in his ability to navigate the more difficult roads encountered.

All cities chosen for stop-overs were good and provided variety. However, I would have preferred less time on the Costa del Sol and more time in Valencia. Some of the optional tours were disappointing and those that provided meals, these were disappointing. The travel directors are very knowledgeable as are the city guides. However, it would be helpful to receive written summaries of the background information, such as key historical dates. Overall this was a worthwhile tour and I would recommend it to others.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Romantic Britain”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2018 3 Helpful Votes

I have booked this trip at the very last minute and I am glad I did. Booking was a breeze. Great tour - visiting almost every corner of Britain and Ireland. Operator provides very comfortable coach with extra leg room, which makes the long journey much nicer. Accommodation was variable. I would say about 50% was great and remainder average. Always very clean - but some very old hotels.

Tour director was looking after us on daily basis. Everything well organised from wake up calls in the morning till after dinner. Some of the places I would love to stay a bit longer, but have to say the next day it was another wonder to admire. Great companions. We would stay friends forever.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A Closer Look at Normandy, Brittany & the Loire Valley”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2018 1 Helpful Vote

The highlight of this one week tour was a better understanding of the D Day landings, the tactics involved and the unique advantage provided by the mulberry harbours. "Conquering" Mont St. Michel and relaxing in St. Malo were additional features we enjoyed. The trip was well conducted by Insight with Tour Director Shona providing high quality professional service and much comedy - all good fun. This was the seventh trip arranged by Global Journeys for us. Georgie Walpole has always provided excellent service and advice allowing us to proceed with confidence on our travels.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great introduction to Greece”
- New Zealand Jul 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

This was a great introduction to Greece, although it was between 30 and 40 C most days during the tour in July it was not too discomforting due to the low humidity, except for the last day when it was 42 C. Having two nights at each hotel, other than the first and last nights of the tour, made the trip more relaxing. Given the circumstances again, an extra night or two in Athens pre or post tour would have been worthwhile. Hotels were about 3 star and quite acceptable. All hotels had swimming pools, the one at Olympia was very nice. There was one optional experience - a meal out, this was expensive and very poor value - included a Greek salad padded with bread and poor quality wine out of cardboard casks.

A good pair of walking shoes is a must for this tour, given the many unpaved surfaces. Greece is very popular with tourists at present, but apart from some of the sites in Athens it did not feel overcrowded. Overall a great experience delving into the history of the Greek civilisation and adding modern Greece. Took a great photo from the top floor (pool floor) of the Athens hotel.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great, stress free experience”
- New Zealand Jul 2018

Global Journeys booked my Gems of Britain 5 day tour with Insight Vacations and provided me with excellent personal service.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Some interesting experiences”
- WA, Australia Jul 2018 6 Helpful Votes

Hannah Campbell managed our booking at short notice, it is our 4th tour booked with Hannah & Global Journeys. Well done yet again. It was a busy tour, travelling over 5800klm, long days of driving, early starts, and one night stop overs, some places with little to do or see there. For example there wasn’t a lot of choice when we had to find our own dinner in Narvik, there were only two restaurants an Asian and an Italian Pizza Parlour!

Our wonderful friendly driver Joseph kept us safe, especially on some scary fjord roads. Lena our Tour Director was knowledgeable of all the 4 countries we visited, and kept the tour on time. The Baltic Cruise from Stockholm to Helsinki through the archipelago was spectacular, but do question the brochures description of “High class sea-view cabin”. It was in fact a small cabin with bunks; it was a commercial ferry so extremely busy. The larger city hotels were adequate, linen and beds were of a good standard and some rooms offered robes and slippers. Although the quality of the bath towels in some of the hotels was most disappointing. I questioned one city hotel at the lack of soap; to be informed they had run out!!! As we travelled north the hotels became pretty basic, some double rooms plus luggage left little room to move around. Others lacked a safe, or tea/coffee facilities, which would have been welcomed after a long day of travelling. Another problem was the concept of a shower over the bath, difficult for older people.

Hotel breakfasts and dinners were varied, with something for everyone. When three or more coach tours were booked in at the same hotel, meal times often became a ‘bun fight’. I did not pay Insight prices to stand in a queue with an empty plate, only to then have to search for a vacant table. Alcoholic drinks i.e. beer in the hotel bars were very expensive. Believe discrimination was shown to coach tour guests, over regular guests. Especially in The Union Hotel at Geiranger, where guests were told they could not drink a cup of tea on the terrace, as it was for hotel guest only!!

The Geiranger Fjord is magnificent, with the Union Hotel built above the lake. Be prepared if you need to go down to the harbour to catch a cruise boat or do some shopping, you can walk down the roadway which extremely narrow and busy, or attempt the steel stairway. The Danish and Swedish optional dinners were acceptable but nothing out of the ordinary, the Russian dinner was very good. We had to leave the venues soon after dinner, leaving little time for a chat or to get to know other guests. The visit to the North Cape to view the midnight sun was totally disappointing, owing to the inclement weather which set in earlier in the day, and therefore should have been cancelled.

Favourite Included Experiences: Puijo Tower, Alaskan Husky farm with dinner, Viking Ship Museum, Geiranger Fjord, and Santa Claus Village. Favourite Optional Experiences: The Arctic Experience – Arctic Cruise, Fjord St Dalsnibba, Wilderness River Adventure, Vasa Galleon, Traditional Lapland Dinner and Reindeer Farm. Took 10 of 15 Optional Experiences, this cost Euro 1186 which exchanged to approx $3000!! So be prepared for this on top of the tour price. Scandinavia was an incredible tour, but also worked out very expensive.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 438