Insight Vacations Reviews

411 verified Insight Vacations tour reviews from past clients of Global Journeys.

WA, Australia
Sep 2018
2 Trips
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
As a solo traveller I am Just back from 16 day Eastern Canada and USA tour with tour director Todd and driver Joe. I highly recommend this tour and we even had one lady who was doing it for the second time! Nothing was too much trouble for Todd and Joe who were both extremely professional. We had the added bonus of driver Joe's hometown knowledge of Boston.

Todd was a walking encyclopedia throughout the entire trip. I'm sure we were very lucky to have a really friendly group of people and I must commend Todd for very efficiently dealing with a medical emergency with one of our ladies whilst in Washington.

A useful point to note was the use of a free laundry at our hotel in Bar Harbour. The main purpose of the trip for me was to see the autumn colours but I think a later trip may have had a better show. There was plenty of colour but I did expect more (can't predict the weather) and a couple of our travel days were wet which didn't impact too much.

Although this was a quite long tour I would have liked more time in Quebec and with hindsight should have spent an extra couple of days in New York. I chose to return to Washington and spent 4 days trying to cover the Smithsonian Museums but barely scratched the surface. The tour did cover visits to most of the monuments.
WA, Australia
Sep 2018
2 Trips
“Great tour of southern France”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
We really enjoyed our Insight Country roads of France tour. Plenty of time to relax and plenty of free time to explore. Would recommend this tour in late September. The temperatures were ideal and very little rain. We do feel some of the Optional Excursions should have been included in the tour. We would highly recommend the optional dinner at a winery about 30 minutes from Dijon. Phillips and his family were very welcoming and the food was excellent. Making our booking with Georgie from Global Journeys was easy and efficient.
QLD, Australia
Sep 2018
“Go see the treasures of Italy ”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
September was far too hot in Italy this year. Most beautiful sights imaginable, the best places were Bellagio, Sirmione, Isle of Capri, Positano, Stresa, Milan Duomo, Venice staying at The Hilton. Best hotels were Splendido, Baveno, Hilton Molino Stucky Venice & Regina Elena Santa Margarita.
NSW, Australia
Sep 2018
1 Trip
“Highlights of Europe”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
The experience starting with Global Journeys right through to the departure from the group back in London was outstanding. Our guide Philip Orna was one of our best experiences. His knowledge was first rate and he knew how to avoid the crowds particularly in Venice. The Insight coach and driver made for a comfortable trip, the extra room being appreciated by all. We rated the hotels out of 10 all above 7.5 with the hotel in Baveno to die for. 10 plus. The pace was a little faster than we thought it would be but once we got into a routine not a problem. When we handed over the bags at the start of the tour we virtually did not have to touch them again until it was over. Most cities have wonderful features, Venice itself was the feature and Insight knew how to give us the best time in what is a very crowded place.

This was our first coach trip and to be honest we were a little sceptical as to how good it would be. We are now converts and would not consider touring any other way. There are so many things that are taken care of that when you book you don't appreciate, everything from road tolls to parking fees and for that matter finding a place to park, to important information that allows you to maximise the value of your trip.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the whole experience we went through to everyone.
NSW, Australia
Sep 2018
1 Trip
“No Regrets, Highlights of Europe!”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
I would recommend & book with Global Journeys again, Yvonne was quick to reply to any queries & to forward anything relevant to our booking as soon as feasible. I would recommend & travel with Insight Vacations again as they also provided excellent customer service. The tour was very busy but in saying that I did take all the optional activities, experiences & tours. I now have no regrets, knowing I made the most of my time, and possibly money, in doing all I could whilst being at each destination.

Our tour director was very experienced & informative. He ensured that all on this tour were included & catered for as best as was feasible. He made the most of our itinerary, timing each day for maximum use of time, trying to time our daily tours/activities to avoid peak crowd times, when possible. As we travelled each day he spoke of the history & gave interesting information about areas we were travelling through, as he did on any included tour. Our coach driver was very competent, kept the coach fresh & clean each day, adding to my enjoyment & relaxation whilst travelling.

There were many aspects to this tour that made it an "all around experience", the general sightseeing, cultural experiences, included & optional meals, entertainment, and enjoyable surprise inclusions. It is a busy tour, made more busy by the number of optional tours/activities l chose to take - but no regrets! Relaxed starts are not really feasible but our tour director did his best to include these where possible & to give us some "down time" when possible. I would recommend an ability to walk a few kilometres & climb steps with reasonable ease for anyone wishing to take/enjoy and make the most of this tour.
QLD, Australia
Sep 2018
1 Trip
“Fantastic tour and you see so much in the 16 days”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
The tour was fantastic you see so much in the 16 days, the group we had on the coach were great we all got on very well, the tour director was very good and he pushed us very hard. But as he said we paid a lot for the tour so we should see as much as we can, which we did. The coach driver was excellent he got us out of some very tight corners. The weather was perfect.

The only other thing I would say about the tour is, people in their late seventy's early eighties (depending on their fitness) should be aware of how much walking is involved how many hills to climb, and how many steps to climb, I must admit I found it very hard (being in my early eighties) I was exhausted, and had to have a day off to recuperate. There was only one hotel that was not suitable for people or the coach was in Tuscany, the rest were great.

I think some of the Optional Extras could have been included in the price.Those useless badges with the clip they had on them, nobody wore them, they should have had a pin or a magnet, then they could be worn.
New Zealand
Sep 2018
“Ancient Greece”
Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Guide
Pace
Booking With Global Journeys
It was really good having a guide who could be our local expert. Nina was excellent. Anna, our cruise director was also very good at getting us to the front of the line!
NSW, Australia
Sep 2018
1 Helpful Vote
1 Trip
“Not for independent travelers”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
We traveled with Insight on a 9 day tour of Europe. We chose them as I had traveled with them before, albeit a long time ago. I had thought the hotels would be central, as claimed, but found they weren't as close to the city centres as expected. Quality of hotel dipped in a couple places, but that may have been the best option at that location.

Insight don't seem to make any use of technology, and continue to post paper notices of activity on hotel notice boards instead of using an app - or at least a daily email - to set out the plans. This results in the tour director having to shout out directions at times, and leads to some confusion. This is the 21st century and the technology is there to make group travelling a lot smoother. For those who may not be very fit or mobile, I would not recommend this tour, as the pace was very fast and can be exhausting if you try to do all of the options. I was surprised how many things I would consider should be included were optional, eg visit to Schonbrunn Palace in Vienna. Next time we will travel independently!
VIC, Australia
Sep 2018
2 Trips
“Wonderful Pacific Coast and the Rockies tour”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Booking With Global Journeys
This Insight Vacations' tour was better than expected. The tour director was most efficient. The other 38 passengers were friendly. Though there were 40 in the coach, it was not crammed at all. It was a 56 seater. We stayed at some historic hotels, the standout was the Davenport Hotel in Spokane, it was elegant and full of character. The included meals were excellent. There was early snow when we arrived in Jasper, and we were too early to check into the hotel. The tour director arranged a museum visit as well as a talk from a naturalist on the native animals. The highlight for me was the ride on the Red Jammer to go up to Logan Pass in the Glacier National Park. The scenery was stunning. The only thing I wasn't keen on on this trip was the very crammed sleeping arrangement on the train from Vancouver to Jasper.
QLD, Australia
Sep 2018
“Beautiful trip”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Really beautiful trip, especially the Dolomites, the Grand Dino Hotel, Milan, the Dine-Around evening, and Burano. People were all nice on tour. Plenty of time in most places and mostly relaxing.
NSW, Australia
Aug 2018
1 Helpful Vote
“Country Roads of Croatia”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
This tour certainly lived up to its name. We travelled through a great deal of Croatia and experienced much of the culture from the great local foods, excellent wines and demonstrations of local traditions. The beautiful Adriatic Sea was ever present and inviting and the weather was perfect. Our accommodation was of very good quality and the knowledge and efficiency of our guide, Greg was invaluable. Only complaint was the hotel in Zagreb (the Sheraton) where everyone on tour felt the welcome dinner and service was a bit sub standard. Optional excursions were great and the included experiences were of a high standard. Would highly recommend this tour as a great way to get to know Croatia.
NSW, Australia
Aug 2018
2 Trips
“Wonderful tour of Russia and the Baltic States”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
The Insight tour was excellent, led by a very knowledgeable Russian tour guide Gennady. The booking process with Madeline at Global Journeys was very smooth and easy.
QLD, Australia
Aug 2018
2 Trips
“Gloroious Switzerland”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Really enjoyed our Switzerland tour - Insight has never disappointed. Hotels were central, scenery fantastic, coaches have extra leg room and had a professional and knowledgeable tour director in Sara (she went that extra mile to keep everyone happy). Great group of people who mixed well. Well thought out itinerary, as did not spend all day on the bus, which is a plus. Will definitely book through Global Journeys again, as online booking so easy.
NSW, Australia
Aug 2018
1 Helpful Vote
1 Trip
“Grand Scandinavian Insight”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Far too little time in Copenhagen, Stockholm and Helsinki. 2 and 1/2 days of wasted time driving with little stops coming south along western Norway coast. Best experiences above Arctic Circle. Too many optional excursions when some of these should have been included in the tour price.
Victoria, Australia
Aug 2018
1 Helpful Vote
1 Trip
“Dalmatian Elegance cruise via Insight”
Value
Cruise
Accomodation
Guide
Pace
Booking With Global Journeys
This small ship cruise is a must for all. The very best way to cruise, if you don't like those big ships with thousands of people.
Vic, Australia
Aug 2018
“Grand Scandinavia”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
We had a great time on the Grand Scandinavia trip with Insight Vacations. The highlight was Geiranger, Norway. Possibly the most beautiful place on earth with its spectacular fjords and waterfalls. We had first class hotels all the way and were touring with a fun group of like- minded travellers from Australia, USA, Canada, and the Philippines. This was our third trip with Insight vacations and we will definitely be looking at Insight for our next trip. Thanks Yvonne at Global Journeys for organising our booking once again and for your patience in responding to our never ending questions! We'll be in touch again when planning our next adventure.
NSW, Australia
Aug 2018
1 Helpful Vote
“Enjoyable tour of the Balkans”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
My wife and I enjoyed this tour. The highlights were the Peles Castle in Romania, the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral in Bulgaria, the place where Mother Teresa was born in Skopje, the coffee in Bosnia-Herzegovina, the beautiful sunset in Dubrovnik, the old town of Kotor in Montenegro, the Danube in Budapest, the dinner in the famous Gundel Restaurant including the New York Cafe in Budapest. The tour director 'Karl' was very helpful and efficient. All the hotel accommodation was excellent. The pace was enjoyable. We highly recommend this tour to anyone!
NSW, Australia
Aug 2018
2 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Insight Tour of Southern Ireland”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
This was my first time on a bus tour, or any large tour. There were 40 and we all got on reasonably well. The tour leader Aine was full of interesting news information. The accommodation was very good. The tour included some evening meals which were of all good quality. The area we covered wasn’t too rushed and we saw wonderful scenery as well as interesting side tours. There were a few optional tours but they weren’t too expensive. I would recommend Insight and booking through Global Journeys.
VIC, Australia
Aug 2018
4 Trips
“WOW!!! Another great Insight! ”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
There were many highlights of this well-structured Insight tour. Our tour guide (Howie Geib) both inspired and amazed us with his knowledge of the history and geography of our track around North America. His boundless energy was infectious, and his eagerness to go the extra mile to keep us safe and incident free was amazing. We are happy to highly recommend this tour of Eastern Canada and the USA (and Howie).
New Zealand
Aug 2018
3 Trips
“Well organised and varied”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
It was relaxing and enjoyable knowing that we were being capably managed and all arrangements had been made. The accommodation was superb - quality and centrally located. The coach was comfortable and the wifi worked well (an improvement from our last trip). The driver was experienced and we had every confidence in his ability to navigate the more difficult roads encountered.

All cities chosen for stop-overs were good and provided variety. However, I would have preferred less time on the Costa del Sol and more time in Valencia. Some of the optional tours were disappointing and those that provided meals, these were disappointing. The travel directors are very knowledgeable as are the city guides. However, it would be helpful to receive written summaries of the background information, such as key historical dates. Overall this was a worthwhile tour and I would recommend it to others.

Results 1-20 of 411  

Back to top