Insight Vacations Reviews

430 verified Insight Vacations tour reviews from past clients of Global Journeys.

ACT , Australia
Feb 2019
1 Trip
“Great tour or Spain Portugal and Morocco”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
This tour was a terrific way to experience these three diverse countries in one go, an almost essential criteria after having to travel so far. The booking process and the management of the booking by Global Journeys was smooth and seamless from start to finish and we rate them very highly. As for the tour itself, the experience provided by Insight Vacations was exceptional.

The motor coach, driver and the Tour Director were of the highest standard, however the quality of the accommodation varied considerably across the tour. Overall the accommodation was very good but in a couple of locations it was not really up to expectations. The group was quite varied and overall got along very well, which makes a trip like this very interesting as travel stories are shared and enjoyed.

If there was any complaint, the number of optional experiences was excessive and overpriced. Compared to past tours we have experienced we would have expected many of what were presented as extra cost options would have been included in a tour of this quality and cost, however, overall the tour was a very high quality offering and a great way to experience such diverse countries
QLD, Australia
Feb 2019
1 Helpful Vote
4 Trips
“Great Itinerary ”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
This was a great way to see the highlights of Spain & Portugal. We were so incredibly fortunate to have Brad as our truly exceptional Tour Director. His knowledge of every aspect of both countries added an extra dimension to the trip. The quality of accommodation was very good & the optional tours were worthwhile with excellent guides. February proved to be a perfect time to travel as the crowds were smaller than at other times & the weather was sunny & mild. I would be happy to travel with Insight again.
Australia
Dec 2018
“Excellent first discovery experience of Europe with Insight!”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Excellent all round. Global Journeys kept me confident & well informed, whilst the Insight Road To Rome Tour was a trip we'll never forget. Truly had nothing to worry about, great pace & accomodating/considerate towards my pregnant wife. Knowledgeable & professional staff, head & shoulders above the rest.
QLD, Australia
Dec 2018
“Insight Tours Road to Rome (Winter)”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Overall a good trip. Saw a lot which could not do on your own. Busy schedule but not stressed as everything taken care of.

Accommodation in Florence & Rome could be better. Really need to do the Optional tours to benefit from it so budget for these. So you could say the optional tours are not really optional.

Allow a few days at the end to relax & do shopping if you want as you don’t really get enough time for this on the tour despite what they say. The guide Gary was excellent & professional. As this was our first time to Italy & the europena continent it was a good way to do it with this tour.
QLD, Australia
Dec 2018
6 Trips
“Christmas in the snow ”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Christmas Day in Zermatt with the snow around us was a memory to last forever. Excellent tour with a great Tour Director. Georgie from Global Journeys was great to deal with and made our bookings easy.
QLD, Australia
Dec 2018
6 Trips
“Christmas Markets and Snow ”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Great accommodation and an excellent Tour Director. We will recommend Insight Vacations to our friends. Georgie at Global Journeys was very helpful.
VIC, Australia
Dec 2018
1 Trip
“Festive Christmas Markets Tour”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
I would definitely book through Global Journeys again - everything was handled extremely well and all my flights were thoughtfully chosen. Juliet contacted me when one of my flights was changed about 3 months before the tour started. Michelle (Tour Director) and Zoltan (Driver) were marvellous: there was one very difficult passenger and Michelle handled the situation with courtesy, tact and a minimum of fuss. The market venues were wonderful and we were given plenty of time to browse the areas surrounding the markets.
VIC, Australia
Nov 2018
1 Helpful Vote
2 Trips
“Alpine Christmas markets”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Very good tour most enjoyable. The accommodation was excellent, the food very good and the markets excellent. The tour director Sue Mason was excellent and the flourishes much appreciated.
NSW, Australia
Nov 2018
2 Helpful Votes
“A fun tour of the Wonders of Turkey”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
We were so lucky on our tour - we had so much fun we have come home for a rest! Our tour leader Daghan and driver Murat were both professional but with warm and ready smiles and inexhaustible good humour that went far beyond their duty to mould us 26 coachmates into a new set of Turkish 'cousins'! Turkey is a wonderful culturally rich country and our hosts warmly welcomed us everywhere we went. Food, hotels, transport and itinerary were all of a high standard. We would definitely be interested in touring southern Turkey when it becomes available. Thanks Insight and Global Journeys!
NSW, Australia
Nov 2018
5 Trips
“Spain and Portugal”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Great sights, scenery, tapas and Sangria everywhere. Would love to go back to Salamanca and Seville. Porto quite run down and still undergoing renovations. Lisbon was very nice and stylish.
NSW, Australia
Oct 2018
4 Helpful Votes
2 Trips
“Country Roads of Croatia”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience of the 14 days Country Roads of Croatia. Definitely happy that we did not go in the peak summer season, as the crowds were still packed. Out Tour Director Irina was amazing and very attentive to all of our needs. Even though we have travelled quite a bit, we were still amazed to see and hear about the lakes and waterfalls and the beautiful caves in Slovenia, that we were previously unaware of. Thank you for organising our booking.
VIC, Australia
Oct 2018
6 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Country Roads of Southern Italy”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
The itinerary of this tour gave a comprehensive coverage of Southern Italy and Sicily that could be achieved comfortably in 14 days. In Rome we particularly enjoyed visiting the Pantheon and then the Sistine Chapel with a taste of other areas of the Vatican Museum. Then south to Puglia via other well-known towns and sites to the area around Alberobello with their unique, conicle-roofed houses. The agricultural emphasis in Puglia was an interesting variation to many other areas of Italy. And the history of previous civilisations was showcased throughout our tour and was different as we journeyed along.

From Puglia it was on to Sicily with its evidence of the early habitation by the Moors and Greeks. We appreciated the sightseeing at Taormina, Syracusa and Agrigento as examples. As Sicily had experienced heavy rain, our tour director, Margaret, changed the itinerary enabling us to safely see all our planned sights. Personally, we would have liked to reach the top of Mt Etna; but maybe another day. Margaret also ensured we all enjoyed our tour. The coach was very comfortable and always spotless. Our driver, Massimo with his excellent driving skills, made us feel safe and was always there to provide assistance off the coach as required. Thankyou Margaret and Massimo! This tour was filled with great variety, excellent direction and comes highly recommended.
SA, Australia
Sep 2018
1 Helpful Vote
2 Trips
“Southern Italy and Sicily”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Enjoyed the tour and saw some amazing places and met some great people. Had a few hiccups due to weather and a landslide on the Amalfi Coast and earth tremor in Sicily. Tour director was OK but not as good as ones I have had on other trips.
WA, Australia
Sep 2018
5 Helpful Votes
2 Trips
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
As a solo traveller I am Just back from 16 day Eastern Canada and USA tour with tour director Todd and driver Joe. I highly recommend this tour and we even had one lady who was doing it for the second time! Nothing was too much trouble for Todd and Joe who were both extremely professional. We had the added bonus of driver Joe's hometown knowledge of Boston.

Todd was a walking encyclopedia throughout the entire trip. I'm sure we were very lucky to have a really friendly group of people and I must commend Todd for very efficiently dealing with a medical emergency with one of our ladies whilst in Washington.

A useful point to note was the use of a free laundry at our hotel in Bar Harbour. The main purpose of the trip for me was to see the autumn colours but I think a later trip may have had a better show. There was plenty of colour but I did expect more (can't predict the weather) and a couple of our travel days were wet which didn't impact too much.

Although this was a quite long tour I would have liked more time in Quebec and with hindsight should have spent an extra couple of days in New York. I chose to return to Washington and spent 4 days trying to cover the Smithsonian Museums but barely scratched the surface. The tour did cover visits to most of the monuments.
WA, Australia
Sep 2018
4 Helpful Votes
2 Trips
“Great tour of southern France”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
We really enjoyed our Insight Country roads of France tour. Plenty of time to relax and plenty of free time to explore. Would recommend this tour in late September. The temperatures were ideal and very little rain. We do feel some of the Optional Excursions should have been included in the tour. We would highly recommend the optional dinner at a winery about 30 minutes from Dijon. Phillips and his family were very welcoming and the food was excellent. Making our booking with Georgie from Global Journeys was easy and efficient.
QLD, Australia
Sep 2018
1 Helpful Vote
“Go see the treasures of Italy ”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
September was far too hot in Italy this year. Most beautiful sights imaginable, the best places were Bellagio, Sirmione, Isle of Capri, Positano, Stresa, Milan Duomo, Venice staying at The Hilton. Best hotels were Splendido, Baveno, Hilton Molino Stucky Venice & Regina Elena Santa Margarita.
NSW, Australia
Sep 2018
1 Helpful Vote
1 Trip
“Highlights of Europe”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
The experience starting with Global Journeys right through to the departure from the group back in London was outstanding. Our guide Philip Orna was one of our best experiences. His knowledge was first rate and he knew how to avoid the crowds particularly in Venice. The Insight coach and driver made for a comfortable trip, the extra room being appreciated by all. We rated the hotels out of 10 all above 7.5 with the hotel in Baveno to die for. 10 plus. The pace was a little faster than we thought it would be but once we got into a routine not a problem. When we handed over the bags at the start of the tour we virtually did not have to touch them again until it was over. Most cities have wonderful features, Venice itself was the feature and Insight knew how to give us the best time in what is a very crowded place.

This was our first coach trip and to be honest we were a little sceptical as to how good it would be. We are now converts and would not consider touring any other way. There are so many things that are taken care of that when you book you don't appreciate, everything from road tolls to parking fees and for that matter finding a place to park, to important information that allows you to maximise the value of your trip.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the whole experience we went through to everyone.
NSW, Australia
Sep 2018
1 Trip
“No Regrets, Highlights of Europe!”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
I would recommend & book with Global Journeys again, Yvonne was quick to reply to any queries & to forward anything relevant to our booking as soon as feasible. I would recommend & travel with Insight Vacations again as they also provided excellent customer service. The tour was very busy but in saying that I did take all the optional activities, experiences & tours. I now have no regrets, knowing I made the most of my time, and possibly money, in doing all I could whilst being at each destination.

Our tour director was very experienced & informative. He ensured that all on this tour were included & catered for as best as was feasible. He made the most of our itinerary, timing each day for maximum use of time, trying to time our daily tours/activities to avoid peak crowd times, when possible. As we travelled each day he spoke of the history & gave interesting information about areas we were travelling through, as he did on any included tour. Our coach driver was very competent, kept the coach fresh & clean each day, adding to my enjoyment & relaxation whilst travelling.

There were many aspects to this tour that made it an "all around experience", the general sightseeing, cultural experiences, included & optional meals, entertainment, and enjoyable surprise inclusions. It is a busy tour, made more busy by the number of optional tours/activities l chose to take - but no regrets! Relaxed starts are not really feasible but our tour director did his best to include these where possible & to give us some "down time" when possible. I would recommend an ability to walk a few kilometres & climb steps with reasonable ease for anyone wishing to take/enjoy and make the most of this tour.
QLD, Australia
Sep 2018
1 Helpful Vote
3 Trips
“Interesting World War One Tour”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Booking With Global Journeys
The tour was very interesting and also confronting, well worth taking this tour. Guides were very informative and certainly had in depth knowledge and were very helpful. The first day of the tour was too long. The issues were that the coach was a little crammed and not as spacious as other coaches we have travelled on. Wifi was a bit intermittent. It would have been nice to have one organised dinner.
QLD, Australia
Sep 2018
1 Trip
“Fantastic tour and you see so much in the 16 days”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
The tour was fantastic you see so much in the 16 days, the group we had on the coach were great we all got on very well, the tour director was very good and he pushed us very hard. But as he said we paid a lot for the tour so we should see as much as we can, which we did. The coach driver was excellent he got us out of some very tight corners. The weather was perfect.

The only other thing I would say about the tour is, people in their late seventy's early eighties (depending on their fitness) should be aware of how much walking is involved how many hills to climb, and how many steps to climb, I must admit I found it very hard (being in my early eighties) I was exhausted, and had to have a day off to recuperate. There was only one hotel that was not suitable for people or the coach was in Tuscany, the rest were great.

I think some of the Optional Extras could have been included in the price.Those useless badges with the clip they had on them, nobody wore them, they should have had a pin or a magnet, then they could be worn.

Results 1-20 of 430  

Back to top