Insight Tour Reviews

Insight Vacations
4.5 out of 5
489 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Insight Vacations. Every review has been verified.

     
“Worry Free Tour - Northern Spain ”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

Thank you Hannah at Global Journeys, everything was so well organised for us and hassle free. Insight Tour was fantastic, we had the best tour director in Philippe and a confident and safe driver. Loved all the places we visited, especially meeting the pilgrims in Santiago de Compostela at the end of their trek. Montserrat was very special and we had a brilliant day there. Great group of people on the tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Turkey - Wonderful Destination!”
- WA, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

We recently experienced the ”Wonders of Turkey” tour and loved every minute of it! So many wonderful memories of the people, the food and the sights. Our tour Director, Gonul Gifu was very knowledgeable, most helpful, caring and fun to be with! We will definitely be recommending Insight to all our friends. Thank you for a fantastic holiday!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Italian Escapade”
- WA, Australia Aug 2019

Wonderful trip. Insight add a little touch of luxury. Our tour director was very kind, thoughtful and full of information. Highlights were Tuscany and the Italian Lakes, Venice, Assissi. Would have liked to see more of the old part of Rome. A lot of walking- could offer hop on hop off tours for those who have trouble walking.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Scotland in 8 days, a great experience ”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

For first time visitors to Scotland, as we were, this Insight tour was a great introduction to this wonderful country. It was an emotional trip too, as we visited places that featured in our forebears lives. Tour Director, Mike, was knowledgeable, good fun and attentive. We felt very safe in the hands of George, our driver. With 38 passengers, we got to enjoy the company of several travellers, and mostly the rest were very pleasant people. Thanks Insight.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The Grandeur of Alaska & Denali National Park”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

Our trip with Insight Vacations was as good as expected! From the interaction with the local indigenous communities through activities at the Alaska Native Heritage Centre, our trip through the wilderness on the Alaska railroad dome train, being enthralled by the vista of Denali National Park with its abundant wildlife, our trip will remain embedded in our minds forever more. Our tour director Cole and driver Casey were a 1st Class combination adding to our Alaskan experience and the chosen accommodation was also outstanding!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

We had a great trip with Insight and our booking with Global Journeys was great and all done professionally and they couldn’t do enough for us. This is the second time we have booked through Global Journeys and we would certainly use them again. Insight is great, this was our 4th trip with Insight and the people we toured with were so much fun, also the tour director was very knowledgeable The hotels are always great and Insight always try to make your trip very happy and safe.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Good trip but not value for money”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019

The booking process through Global Journey's was faultless. Our Insight tour director, Karin and our driver Peter were exceptional. The coach was great, spacious and kept immaculately clean. The hotels were good except for Berlin which was very ordinary and in Prague the hotel was way out of town. The problem with Insight was that very little is included, e.g. in Berlin the tour was 90 minutes and finished by 10.30am everything else was optional and you had to pay to participate in the mid morning city tour. Similar in Warsaw, Krakow and Vienna. Some options included dinner, so OK, but not highlights of the city you are staying in for 1 day. We realised the extent of the optional experiences after we booked so never again.

Reply from Insight Vacations:
Thank you for informing us about your Highlights of Europe tour with Insight Vacations. We are happy to hear that our staff went the extra mile to ensure an enjoyable and memorable time on the road. However, we recognise that you would have liked the Optional Experiences to have been included in the itinerary; however, we offer these to allow our guests to explore further or to give those that would prefer to undertake independent sightseeing or leisure time, the opportunity to do so. Nonetheless, we are very happy to have hosted you and we look forward to sharing more amazing experiences with you in the near future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great Britain and Ireland Discovery”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019

This was our second tour with Insight Vacations. We booked both our tours through Global Journeys and would highly recommend them. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole tour, but for us the highlight was definitely the Edinburgh Tattoo, the reason we chose this tour. The accommodation was excellent as were the optional extras.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip around Southern Ireland”
- Australia Aug 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Great trip, Tour Director Katie was excellent. Global Journeys and Tracey bent over backwards to assist us in organising our trip. Thanks to all.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic tour through the Canadian Rockies and Alaska”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019

Just back from our holiday to Canada and Alaska. We were very pleased with our experience booking this holiday with Hannah at Global Journeys - she was prompt in answering our questions and kept us informed of any developments. The trip itself was well organised and allowed us to explore some beautiful countryside. Although we booked with Insight Vacations the ground operator for the coach trip was Destination America and the cruise was through Holland America. All transfers to and from the airport/hotel/port went smoothly, although the first taxi driver insisted on taking two vouchers instead of one (and as we were jet lagged we didn't argue).

The accommodation was generally of a very high standard (a little more rustic in Glacier National Park, but the ambience and scenery more than made up for this). We had a mixed group on the coach - American, Aussie, UK and Kiwi and they were a friendly bunch and considerate travelling companions. There were way too many fantastic experiences to mention them all - some standouts include the Butchart Gardens in Victoria, Banff, Lake Peyto and Lake Louise, river rafting at Jasper and the Chuhily glass gardens near the space Needle in Seattle. The cruise was also excellent, allowing us some time to slow down and enjoy the magnificent scenery in Glacier National Park. Skagway was our favourite for the shore excursions - a real step back in time with boardwalks on the Main Street and lots of history.

The only thing we would do differently would be to organise a stopover on the way home. The boat docked at 7.00am in the morning and our flight to Sydney was not until 11.50pm which made for a very long day. A stopover in Hawaii might have enabled us to fly out of Vancouver at a more traveller friendly hour. Overall a great experience which we would highly recommend.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“A good introduction to Germany”
- New Zealand Aug 2019

Our tour director was excellent and gave us a lot of information about Germany throughout the tour. The welcome dinner was disappointing in quality but the remaining included meals were much better. We had no complaints regarding the comfort or facilities provided by the hotels. The tour had three relaxed starts and just one very early start so wasn't too tiring. Our driver was very good and the coach comfortable with good leg room. Overall we enjoyed the tour and would use Insight and Global Journeys again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Enjoyable trip of Sicily”
- 4074, Australia Jul 2019 1 Helpful Vote

I enjoyed this trip. A combination of busy touristy places and smaller locations. Wonderful guide, who spoke perfect Italian with an English accent. Lovely driver as well. The highlight for me was the Cathedral at Monreale - as the local guide said, you could spend a day talking about this Cathedral with its 24 carat gold edging & mosaic tiles, telling the stories of the times. Also I was there in Palermo at the annual Festival of St Rosalie, and the street lighting was beautiful. The accommodation was great.

Unfortunately there was a heat wave in Europe when I travelled in July, but I did find Sicily cooler than where I had come from (Greece). The included dinners in Sicily were wonderful. I have used Insight quite often in the past, and will use them again next year for one of my trips. Global Journeys always does a great job with booking, and Yvonne is lovely in that she sent me a paper copy of my documents, as I like to hold paper in my hand (I know I am old school).

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A little too long but very interesting”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019 View Photo

We have booked Insight Vacations tours on several previous occasions, so we had a good idea of the standards to expect. This tour was a real mixed bag. The hotels and food in Russia and the Baltic countries were up to the high standard expected of Insight Vacations, however the hotels in the Scandinavian countries did not meet the standard expected of Insight Vacations. The Scandinavian countries are very expensive and this was reflected in the quality of the hotels. It would appear that the Insight Vacations budget would not stretch to the international chain standard of hotels.

The other disappointing aspect of the tour was the balance between included sightseeing and optional tours. There were a lot of the latter. On the positive side, the countries were amazing, especially Russia. The tour was probably a little too long. It would have been enough to have just the Scandinavian countries and Russia. The Baltic countries (especially Belarus and Lithuania) did not add a great deal extra. Booking with Global Journeys was fabulous. The service was of a high standard, personal and efficient. Questions were answered promptly and all relevant information provided. A highly recommended travel company.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great tour of Russia and more”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019

Northern Capitals and Russia tour was a great tour. The tour starts in Berlin and I would suggest if you haven’t been to Berlin before that you arrive at least a day before to get a good look at Berlin. You get a welcome dinner and a city tour the next day with the afternoon free. Insight offer an optional tour to Potsdam which is a little expensive. You can catch the train out to Potsdam. We did this when we were in Berlin in 2014. It was easy on the train and we had a very enjoyable day without time constraints.

The journey to Rostock was scenic and the crossing to Denmark was smooth sailing. In Copenhagen we went to the Tivoli Gardens which was pleasant but not a highlight. It was busy and is basically a theme park with a 1950 feel. On our second night we dined by ourselves along the picturesque canal. The restaurants are a little pricey but the food was of a good standard. Stockholm was interesting and we did the optional dinner which was expensive however we dined at a small restaurant on the edge of a lake. It was very beautiful and the quality of the food was good. We did the optional tour to see the Vasa, which was very interesting. The Baltic Cruise overnight was good, cabins were small but of a reasonable standard. Helsinki was nice. Enjoyed the city tour and the markets near the harbour.

The drive to St Petersburg was scenic and an interesting insight into their road rules. We were fortunate or not to have the front row seats on the coach that day. It is a long day in the coach however Alex our tour guide made sure we had a couple of stops and plenty of treats! The Russian border checks took some time and they were not welcoming. We had some rain in St Petersburg however it didn’t stop us from seeing all the sights and we really enjoyed St Petersburg... perhaps they should allow another day in this beautiful city... so much to see. We did the Neva river cruise, Peter and Paul Fortress and the Russian Folklore optionals which we really enjoyed.

Onto Moscow which was a beautiful surprise. The optionals tours were great however expensive but we probably will not go back to Russia so we were happy to see as much as we could. Russia was not what we expected and was the most enjoyable part of our trip. We then travelled to Minsk in Belarus which we viewed as a stopover on the way to Vilnius. The distance to travel to Vilnius is about 400km however it does take most of the day due to the very long queue to cross the border. This border crossing was the longest and most unfriendly of them all.

We enjoyed our time in Lithuania and did both optionals, the dinner which was nice and the KGB tour which was very interesting and sad. Onto Warsaw which was very heavily bombed in the war so lot of the buildings are not the original however they have done a good job at restoring the Old Town. Did the optional tour to Wilanow Palace however we did not do the Chopin concert but fellow travellers said it was really good. Expect some days to be long days travelling in the coach. We would recommend this tour to people who have seen Europe and want to get a taste of the north. This was our 9th tour with Insight Vacations and whilst some of the hotels were average and rooms small they were centrally located.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Worthwhile in depth trip through Scandinavia”
- New Zealand Jul 2019

This was our first Insight tour and also the first time we have used Global Journeys. Our booking was completed online which was easy, hassle free and efficient as we could view each stage we were at. The 3 Travel Consultants that handled our booking were very professional, knowledgeable, courteous, helpful and their attention to detail was well noted. Top marks to all 3 of them! We will definitely use their expertise again and would recommend them to others.

Some days in Norway we travelled long distances between overnights stays however approximately every 2 hours we had a stop. Our Coach Driver was a true professional: driving plus keeping the coach immaculately clean every day. We were also well entertained by our very experienced Travel Director. We enjoyed the “flourishes” (special treats) that we received along the way. Norway had spectacular scenery whichever way you turned: giant mountains, fjords, waterfalls and their amazing architecture. We couldn’t get over travelling through underground tunnels or tunnels with traffic islands in them. The optional excursions offered were well worthwhile which resulted in many more memorable occasions however we did think that a few could have been included in the basic itinerary.

The tour struck the right balance for us – moderate to fast paced however please note good walking shoes are a must as you walk over a lot of uneven cobblestone streets and footpaths. The hotels were all very good to an excellent standard however we were rather disappointed with the welcome dinner at Copenhagen. We enjoyed the daily seat rotation and the extra leg room on the coach.

Only one disappointing aspect of the tour – we booked on a guaranteed 28-day tour and were advised on the 26th day we had 3 tours rolled into 1. (Scandinavian Heritage, a 20-day Copenhagen to Oslo then a tour commencing in Oslo and ending in Copenhagen). The latter tour continued sightseeing for another 2 days in Copenhagen after our tour ended. Therefore, over a period of 28 days we had 2 Coaches, 2 Coach Drivers and 2 Tour Directors. Our fellow travellers on the 28-day tour were also unaware of this as well until we were all told. All in all it was a very worthwhile in-depth trip through Scandinavia.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A snapshot of the Canadian maritimes.”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019

A wonderful trip, a good pace and lots of interesting places to visit. Our fellow travellers were a very friendly group and we all got on well. Everything ran smoothly thanks to our very knowledgeable and well organised tour director. We had perfect weather and on the whole everything went according to plan. Thank you Georgie for making the trip so stress free by taking care of the planning and booking side of things, it meant we could start the trip in a more relaxed frame of mind.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Bohemian tour with an outstanding tour director”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019 2 Helpful Votes

The Insight tour went especially well. Everything was on schedule, the accommodation was excellent and the tour director was outstanding. The only problem was that Europe was experiencing a heatwave and in Prague the temperature was 36 C and the large crowds in the square made it very uncomfortable. Throughout the tour the temperatures were in the 30s so my recommendation would be not to do this tour in July.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A well -designed Tour spoiled by a poor tour guide”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote

This tour should have been a most enjoyable tour, but spoiled by a tour guide who didn’t really care about the people under his care and guidance. The journey from Madrid to Santiago de Compostela took about 6 to 7 hours. It was absolutely boring! Apart from a short perfunctory remark for about 10 minutes, our so-called “Tour Guide” did absolutely nothing to alleviate the boredom. We were hoping for some dissertation on the history, culture and politics on Spain, or at the very least a video or even some music to kill the boredom. But nothing came! The same thing occurred on the long trip from Pamplona to Barcelona in the return leg! It was boredom personified. The next startling news was that several optional tours offered in the tour were to be cancelled or withdrawn due the small numbers of 12 people in the tour! This was most disappointing because some of us had planned to go on to these optional tours offered in the itinerary.

The worst was to come. Due to the cancelled optional tour at Barcelona, the tour guide unilaterally and without consultation, announced that he wanted to reschedule the farewell dinner from the last day to the 2nd last day and from a dinner to a farewell LUNCH. This was most unconventional as a farewell dinner are normally conducted on the last day! However, before we had a chance to comprehend the purpose and significance of this change, the tour guide made another unilateral announcement : he decided that the farewell dinner was to be rescheduled to the 2nd last night. This means that instead of finishing the tour late on the last light, it will now finish early midday after our morning tour of Barcelona! No doubt, this allows the driver and the tour guide to have the night free on the last day of the tour.

We find this unilateral rescheduling of Insight Vacation ‘s advertised itinerary is tantamount to a breach of contract. Also, all the guiding were given by local guides with the exception the one at Pamplona where Rory took charge. Because of the huge crowd at this Bull run, our tour bus had to be parked a long way from the city centre. We had to fight our way through the huge crowds. For some inexplicable reason, Rory did not used the radios issued. As we returned to our tour bus, Rory failed to check the numbers and he would have left two members of our group if weren’t for the fact that some of us had to inform Rory that he had left these two members behind. This incident had instilled fear and doubt in some of us on his ability as a tour guide.

Reply from Insight Vacations:
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience with Insight Vacations. We are disappointed to learn that though you enjoyed the accommodations and excursions provided, our Travel Director did not live up to the expectations you may have had while joining the tour.

At Insight Vacations, we are fully aware of the important role that our Travel Directors play in the success of any trip. That is why; all of our Travel Directors are carefully selected and have received thorough training to be able to manage our departures with the highest level of professionalism. As such, we sincerely regret to learn about your disappointment with our Tour Director’s efforts during the trip and therefore we would like to extend our sincere apologies for your experience. Additionally, we have presented your feedback to the relevant teams for further assessment to ensure that the necessary steps are taken to avoid any similar disappointment affecting our guests in the future. With that in mind, we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to restore your full faith in our guided holidays in the near future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful tour”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

If you want to capture the spirit and history of Turkey in just under a fortnight, take this trip. From the magnificence of Aya Sophia and Ephesus, to an afternoon tea in a cave house in Cappadocia, this tour covered the history and cultures of Anatolia from the Hittites to Mustafa Kemal Atatürk. There were many highlights. Some were expected (Ephesus being one example), others were not: the House of the Virgin Mary was one, the Calcium Terraces at Pamukkale was another, and the farm-to-table lunch where a local family, who farm organically, served up a delicious meal was yet another.

The accommodation was more than comfortable and even a touch exotic, like the cave hotel in Cappadocia. Most meals were provided, some were set meals, others were buffet meals, but in all cases the food was good and fresh. Although Insight does not include Cappadocia’s famous hot-air balloon rides as part of its itinerary, those interested can book a ride from the hotel. The organisation of the tour, from its beginning in Istanbul to its end in Istanbul, was meticulous, thanks to the tour director, Daghan Erdogdu. He brought his love of his country and its history to the tour.

Like any tour, there will be some who will wish that they had stayed longer at one place and less time at another. This tour struck the right balance. To use a now probably long forgotten Australian expression, ‘I wouldn’t have missed this tour for quids’. As for travelling with Insight again, that I will. And as for using Global Journeys and Jemma again for future tours, that’s a certainty.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Mediterranean legends”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019

I was disappointed that there were 1500 people on the ship. Travelling alone I didn't get to be with the tour group. We had to pay extra to go to Santorini and then due to bad weather, didn't visit.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 489