Insight Tour Reviews

Insight Vacations
4.5 out of 5
467 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Insight Vacations. Every review has been verified.

     
“Bohemian tour with an outstanding tour director”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019

The Insight tour went especially well. Everything was on schedule, the accommodation was excellent and the tour director was outstanding. The only problem was that Europe was experiencing a heatwave and in Prague the temperature was 36 C and the large crowds in the square made it very uncomfortable. Throughout the tour the temperatures were in the 30s so my recommendation would be not to do this tour in July.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A well -designed Tour spoiled by a poor tour guide”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019

This tour should have been a most enjoyable tour, but spoiled by a tour guide who didn’t really care about the people under his care and guidance. The journey from Madrid to Santiago de Compostela took about 6 to 7 hours. It was absolutely boring! Apart from a short perfunctory remark for about 10 minutes, our so-called “Tour Guide” did absolutely nothing to alleviate the boredom. We were hoping for some dissertation on the history, culture and politics on Spain, or at the very least a video or even some music to kill the boredom. But nothing came! The same thing occurred on the long trip from Pamplona to Barcelona in the return leg! It was boredom personified. The next startling news was that several optional tours offered in the tour were to be cancelled or withdrawn due the small numbers of 12 people in the tour! This was most disappointing because some of us had planned to go on to these optional tours offered in the itinerary.

The worst was to come. Due to the cancelled optional tour at Barcelona, the tour guide unilaterally and without consultation, announced that he wanted to reschedule the farewell dinner from the last day to the 2nd last day and from a dinner to a farewell LUNCH. This was most unconventional as a farewell dinner are normally conducted on the last day! However, before we had a chance to comprehend the purpose and significance of this change, the tour guide made another unilateral announcement : he decided that the farewell dinner was to be rescheduled to the 2nd last night. This means that instead of finishing the tour late on the last light, it will now finish early midday after our morning tour of Barcelona! No doubt, this allows the driver and the tour guide to have the night free on the last day of the tour.

We find this unilateral rescheduling of Insight Vacation ‘s advertised itinerary is tantamount to a breach of contract. Also, all the guiding were given by local guides with the exception the one at Pamplona where Rory took charge. Because of the huge crowd at this Bull run, our tour bus had to be parked a long way from the city centre. We had to fight our way through the huge crowds. For some inexplicable reason, Rory did not used the radios issued. As we returned to our tour bus, Rory failed to check the numbers and he would have left two members of our group if weren’t for the fact that some of us had to inform Rory that he had left these two members behind. This incident had instilled fear and doubt in some of us on his ability as a tour guide.

Reply from Insight Vacations:
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience with Insight Vacations. We are disappointed to learn that though you enjoyed the accommodations and excursions provided, our Travel Director did not live up to the expectations you may have had while joining the tour.

At Insight Vacations, we are fully aware of the important role that our Travel Directors play in the success of any trip. That is why; all of our Travel Directors are carefully selected and have received thorough training to be able to manage our departures with the highest level of professionalism. As such, we sincerely regret to learn about your disappointment with our Tour Director’s efforts during the trip and therefore we would like to extend our sincere apologies for your experience. Additionally, we have presented your feedback to the relevant teams for further assessment to ensure that the necessary steps are taken to avoid any similar disappointment affecting our guests in the future. With that in mind, we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to restore your full faith in our guided holidays in the near future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful tour”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

If you want to capture the spirit and history of Turkey in just under a fortnight, take this trip. From the magnificence of Aya Sophia and Ephesus, to an afternoon tea in a cave house in Cappadocia, this tour covered the history and cultures of Anatolia from the Hittites to Mustafa Kemal Atatürk. There were many highlights. Some were expected (Ephesus being one example), others were not: the House of the Virgin Mary was one, the Calcium Terraces at Pamukkale was another, and the farm-to-table lunch where a local family, who farm organically, served up a delicious meal was yet another.

The accommodation was more than comfortable and even a touch exotic, like the cave hotel in Cappadocia. Most meals were provided, some were set meals, others were buffet meals, but in all cases the food was good and fresh. Although Insight does not include Cappadocia’s famous hot-air balloon rides as part of its itinerary, those interested can book a ride from the hotel. The organisation of the tour, from its beginning in Istanbul to its end in Istanbul, was meticulous, thanks to the tour director, Daghan Erdogdu. He brought his love of his country and its history to the tour.

Like any tour, there will be some who will wish that they had stayed longer at one place and less time at another. This tour struck the right balance. To use a now probably long forgotten Australian expression, ‘I wouldn’t have missed this tour for quids’. As for travelling with Insight again, that I will. And as for using Global Journeys and Jemma again for future tours, that’s a certainty.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Mediterranean legends”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019

I was disappointed that there were 1500 people on the ship. Travelling alone I didn't get to be with the tour group. We had to pay extra to go to Santorini and then due to bad weather, didn't visit.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Stunning Southern Italy”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

A week in southern Italy in summer - what could be better! Spending more than the usual amount of time in 2 locations; Puglia and Sorrento (3 days in each) allowed a more relaxed vacation and the opportunity to explore these areas in more depth.

Great included activities and even better optionals resulted in some very memorable occasions, especially those that involved the divine Italian cuisine! And won't forget the shots of Limoncello!

This is now the 4th Insight trip we had booked through Global Journeys and all handled by the wonderful Hannah. Now planning the next trip...

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The grand tour of Great Britain”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019

Out interesting journey began with booking out trip through Global Journeys last year. It was all very easy and efficient arranging this trip online. Emails were answered promptly and requests for different flight times easily accommodated. It was lovely having a trip booked early just for the anticipation.

We were very fortunate in our trip's tour director and driver and weather. Ben Scott is only about 32 but appears to love his job and he was very good at it. He attended to all our needs and kept us every well organised. He went down the coach and spoke to every passenger individually to see if we had any concerns or complaints everyday. Marcel the driver was an excellent driver and had a happy and humorous personality.

The trip itself was as anticipated. We had the opportunity to see a great many towns and cities in Great Britain. I especially enjoyed Ireland. Ben entertained us with the history of the places we visited. The included tours of distilleries, crystal factories, castles, famous houses and interesting towns and cities were all wonderful as was the scenery.

The hotels were all of good to excellent quality. We always had a full hot breakfast and the starting times for each day were all reasonable. The included evening meals were also good. There were a few negatives. We found the optional dinners were far too expensive for what you got. We cancelled all dinners after the first one and arranged our own dinner for a quarter of the price. Those who went on these dinners also said they were not good value for money.

I would have liked a few optional extras that included dancing at local venues in Ireland. We were left too long in some towns. Everyone just wanted to get to our hotel room at a good hour before we were picked up. This really happened only on the first and last day when we were all tired.

Other than those few complaints, the trip was a wonderful experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend both Global Journeys and Insight Vacations to my family and friends.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Glorious Switzerland in 8 days”
- WA, Australia Jun 2019

We enjoyed very much the Glorious Switzerland 8 day tour recently. It was great. Well organised. Martin was a very experienced and knowledgeable tour guide and was very organised. Our group of 35 was great and joyful, came from Canada, US, Australia, NZ and Singapore. Seat rotation was a great idea. Georgie from Global Journeys was very helpful. Will recommend this tour and Global Journeys to friends.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Polish Delight”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019

We enjoyed our Highlights of Poland tour with Insight Vacations. Loved all the cities and saw some very interesting places. Our Tour Director was full of the history of Poland with sometimes going a bit overboard. We visited Poland in mid June and the weather was perfect, plus hotels were great and in good locations. Our booking with Yvonne at Global Journeys was great and I thoroughly recommend them.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A great, hassle free way to see Italy.”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019

This was our first Coach Tour we have done, it was a great, hassle free way to see the country. Just sit back and relax. The Insight Vacations' coach was superb, free wifi, extra legroom and the driver was excellent. We did seat rotation each day, and stopped every few hours for breaks.

Our tour guide was excellent, funny and helpful. The weather was very hot, 30+ each day and each place we visited was quite crowded, although our tour guide told us it was quiet, peak season being July/August. There were long queues for attractions especially the Vatican, but with the pre booked groups you get to skip the line, no waiting at all for any of them during the trip.

The food was good, best to stick to where the locals eat, the dinners included with the trip were OK, the breakfasts were usually quite chaotic as all the other coach tours use the same hotels, maybe up to 2-3 each morning.

Overall it is an easy way to visit Italy, although there is not much time to relax, we saw so much of the country we would not have seen if we did it by ourselves. Also there were a lot of optional excursions which could have been included in the itinerary, and due to time commitments, we had quite a few lunch stops at motorway service stops.

I would recommend doing this coach tour, but would suggest to go early/late in the season to avoid the crowds and the heat. This was our third trip we have booked through Global Journeys, we booked last minute and within 48 hours we had all our documents ready to go. They always have the best prices, with easy direct contact with your personal agent.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“You'll experience the best of the UK and Ireland”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019

Make sure you're well rested before you commence this tour as it's pretty full on. Twenty-two days of sightseeing, often with 3 sensational events per day. The tour was well organised and I loved the seat rotation on the coach, as this meant we shared the best seats at the front of the bus.

The history and scenery of this region was extremely moving including the tragedy at Culloden Moor, the 5000 yr old Skara Brae village and standing stones at Ring of Brodgar will leave you speechless. The unique Gaelic culture of music, dancing and storytelling was the highlight of my trip and you won't need your warm pj's as all the hotel rooms are well heated all year round.

As I used my Travel Money Card 90% of the time, I didn't need to withdraw local cash in Ireland or Scotland. Just make sure your card has the pay wave, Wi Fi symbol on it and you can touch on and off for London trains and purchases etc.. (However, you may need a little cash for tips.)

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent tour”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

Croatia well exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed every stay, great sights and excellent food. Our tour guide Greg Redfern was full of knowledge and had a true passion for the country. I would highly recommend Insight Vacations and Global Journeys for bookings.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Scenic Ireland”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019

The short tour was very well organised. The hotels on the whole were good. The Clayton Hotel Burligton Rd, Dublin was far from the centre of city. We enjoyed particularly the time in Galway, we had enough time to do our own exploring. We also enjoyed the optional tour in Killarney on Irish dancing and songs. Wished to have an extra hour in Blarney Castle, the Queenstown Story Exhibition, and Waterford.

Most of all the Killarney National Park and the Ring of Kerry were the highlight of the trip. Southwest Ireland is stunning. We only went on 2 optional excursions, the one mentioned above and the walking tour of Galway.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Scandinavia”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Thank you Jemma and Global Journeys for arranging the tour of Scandinavia for me with Insight. Global advertised the tour dates before they were available on the other web sites so I was able to get in early and secure my spot. Insight are a very good operator and took it from there. Accommodation and optional tours were all brilliant and Scandinavia put on the best show. It was a full coach of people from Australia, NZ, USA, Canada and a family from Indonesia. Everyone was made to feel welcome by Joey, our tour director. An excellent adventure!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous, efficient tour of the best Sicily has to offer”
- NSW , Australia May 2019 2 Helpful Votes

This tour cherry picked the main highlights of Sicily and visited them all in 8 days - a very efficient way to see the best that Sicily has to offer. Our guide Mark was tremendously knowledgeable about Sicily and each place we visited. He had wonderful enthusiasm and was a gifted storyteller, describing Sicily's sites, sounds, history and flavours like a poet. Our driver was also fantastic. He managed hair pin bends up mountains very carefully.

Sicily as a whole is an island full of gems; great food, churches, ancient Greek ruins and cities, and quaint villages atop mountains. I highly recommend this tour if you are looking for a hassle free and efficient way of seeing Sicily in a relatively short amount of time as this is not an island that can easily be experienced without a car.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Awesome Britain and Ireland Discovery”
- QLD, Australia May 2019

What an awesome trip. The trip was all we hoped for and it exceeded our expectations. Booking through Global Journeys with Georgie was very smooth and friendly. While the tour was fairly long at 22 days, there was plenty of free time and we can't speak highly enough of our tour guide Matt and coach drivers Mark and Sean.

To appeal to a broad interest group, there will always be some things that don't rate highly with individuals but for us, those less interesting things were still worth seeing, so no complaints overall. The group size was good at 32 and all got on well. Highlights included Orkney Islands, Ring of Kerry, Portsmouth harbour cruise and many more. Probably allowing more time in Wales and Cornwall would be our only suggestion.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Country Roads of Switzerland ”
- NSW, Australia May 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Great bunch of Aussies, Americans and Malaysians. Our Insight tour director was amazing with a great cultural and knowledge base. Scenery was stunning and we were blessed with great weather. Be prepared for high cost of everything in Switzerland. Wonderful tour and all our trip was wonderful, organised by Hannah from Global journeys.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing Greece Holiday”
- QLD, Australia May 2019 View Photo

Yvonne Brooks of Global Journeys was very helpful in assisting our booking with Insight Vacations for the holiday to Greece (Grecian Dreams). I would certainly come back to her when booking for my next trip (4th booking with her).

The inland tour (6 days) was amazing because we had a such great tour guide who could explain the history of Greece in a such way that made it easy for us to understand. We were lucky with the weather when cruising on Aegean seas. The entertainment provided on the Celestyal Cruises was very good but food was average. Our tour guide on the cruise was good for nothing (we got told that she was replacing the other tour guide because she/he was sick).

Overall our holiday was a pleasant one and hope that we can visit Greece again in the future.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Holiday met our expectations”
- WA, Australia May 2019

We recently returned from our Britain and Ireland Discovery tour. It is the ideal trip if you are looking to get an introduction to touring Britain and Ireland with a view to return at a later date for more in-depth investigation. Booking the holiday with Global Journeys was stress free and we would definitely use their services again.

Our tour director and main bus driver were good and we would certainly consider booking another trip with Insight tours. The highlight of our trip was visiting the Orkney Islands and we were very lucky with the weather conditions on this particular day - the sun shone most of the day? In relation to the pace of the trip it can be broken into 2 parts - the first half of the trip is very busy but once you reach Ireland the pace does calm down but overall the pace of the trip is manageable given the amount of places you get to visit. One further comment is that we would prefer that any gratuities are included in the overall cost of the trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Grand Journey of Americas West”
- NSW, Australia May 2019 View Photo

This journey covers long distances. There are places we could miss and places that we could stay longer e.g. we got into Yosemite late afternoon and left early next morning. There was hardly time to explore. This tour caters to big age range and fitness level range so there is some limitations to activities. On the whole, the tour covers all the places I want to go to.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Eastern Discovery”
- New Zealand May 2019

Travelled on the Eastern Discovery tour with Insight and can recommend it, as a introduction to eastern Europe. Coach and hotels lived up to expectations, except an older hotel in Corfu, however the location of this hotel more than addressed its short comings. Highlights would be the Walled city of Dubrovnik, and the Greek Islands. Would recommend including the optional post tour cruise.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 467