Globus Tour Reviews

Globus
4.5 out of 5
658 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Globus. Every review has been verified.

     
“Ireland and the Legacy of St. Patrick”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

Trip was great...all as promised. Our tour took us away from the freeways to sites significant to the history of St. Patrick. Downpatrick and the first Christian Church nearby were such places. Unexpectedly we happened upon an archeological 'dig' in the grounds of the cathedral and were given an impromptu lecture of the grounds and some startling finds. Tour leader Angela was fabulous, great knowledge and endless humour. Accommodation was excellent as were provided meals. The optional excursions were all well-received.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great tour of Croatia”
- WA, Australia Aug 2019

We enjoyed our tour with Globus. The tour was well paced with plenty of free time. We travelled in the last week of August. I would recommend doing this tour in mid to late September as it was very hot on most days. Georgie from Global Journeys was extremely helpful during the booking process. And I really appreciated her prompt responses to any questions I had before we travelled. Thank you.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Canadian Rockies ”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019

West Coast of Canada is quite impressive. The beautiful views never seem to end. The tour guide and the driver were excellent. We were disappointed with some of the hotels and some of the breakfast. There seemed to be a lot of add-on excursions which could end up being very expensive. The fellow travellers were lovely and seem to get along well with each other and were considerate of each other.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“California Classics. ”
- ACT, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

An enjoyable 10 day holiday, some highlights were Yosemite National Park, Canary Row, Aquarium, Alcatraz and San Francisco. Friendly relaxed fellow passengers, excellent tour guide and driver. Professionally run and accommodation was generally very good.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Globus Munich to Vienna trip”
- WA, Australia Aug 2019

Really enjoyed our trip - Austria was lovely. Appreciated efforts of Global Journeys to get us booked onto the trip. Highlights were the concert in Vienna, Sound of Music Church and trip on Danube. Not impressed with our tour director - sat at the front of the coach and offered very little information about places we were passing through.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Canadian Rockies ”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

This tour delivered what its brochure promised it would do. From the extraordinary Butchart Gardens in Victoria to scrambling over the Columbia Icefield and a breakfast on top of a mountain at Banff, it mixed sightseeing, optional excursions and spectacular scenery into a trip that I'll remember for some time. And, yes, there were bears (sometimes with cubs), elk and deer to be seen. Highlights are difficult to prioritise, but Maligne Lake is certainly one. The optionals offered were diverse and well organised. Accommodation was comfortable and the dinners provided were good. With the exception of Lake Louise, disappointments were few.

The tour director, Brad Noyes, was exceptional. His commentaries on Canada's history, the country's current issues and his love of the Rockies kept the group informed, but he added an extra that was also welcome. As we came into a town where we were to spend a night or two, he took the coach around the town, pointing out likely places of interest, eating places and even the ubiquitous Irish Pub. Those travelling from Australia in Canada's 'summer' should acquaint themselves with what the Canadians call 'layers'. The mornings in the Rockies can drop to close to 0C, the days to a top of 15C: 28C is described as 'hot'. Pack a jumper and other warm clothing before you go, especially for Maligne Lake. As for Global Journeys, and Jemma who organised the trip, thank you for the professional way you handled it all.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Passage through New England and Eastern Canada”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2019

Booking process was easy with Jemma responding to queries promptly. The coach travel portion was as expected, early starts but getting into destinations early. Some glitches with information not passed on at first hotel in Boston. Accommodation was of good quality, included evening meals of a fair standard. Shelburne museum a great place with plenty to see. The Tour Director, Hilary, was very knowledgeable and helpful. The ship embarkation and disembarkation was a streamlined process. Ocean view cabins were situated on lower promenade deck and staff helpful. A great variety of food and restaurants to choose, at a price, if didn't feel like eating at the included areas. There were a variety of excursions to choose from if you wanted to see more of the ports. All types of entertainment to cater for most preferences.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“A Glorious Globus Journey through British Columbia and the Canadian Rockies”
- SA, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

This 11-day tour of British Columbia and the Canadian Rockies was superb. Despite several early morning starts and the coach being full all went very smoothly. Our brilliant tour director, Vedrana Ascroft, was impressed with our punctuality and camaraderie. Everyone mixed well. This was in no small way due to Vedrana, who made our tour fun and informative, resolved minor issues quickly and without fuss and drew us together with her warm and pleasant personality.

Highlights? It was all pretty good, from the Butchart Gardens, Victoria’s atmospheric port, wonderful Whistler, Mount Robson, the Icefields Parkway and the Ice Explorer trip on Athabasca Glacier to beautiful Banff. The highly regarded Lake Louise was an anticlimax for us, it being swamped with selfie-stick-wielding tourists hell-bent on recording their presence at the lake and the Fairmont Chateau. We escaped to the Chateau Deli for coffee and left them to it.

We booked this Globus tour online through Global Journeys and recommend them both without hesitation or qualification. The booking process was smooth and Georgie Walpole and her team were ever helpful and responsive. They are on top of their game. The accommodation on tour was very good, the pace too — we had two free days — and the coach and driver were both excellent. We travelled in early August and the weather served us well, it being warm with just the odd sprinkle of rain. Our group was comprised mostly of people from the United States of America and Australia. There was a couple from New Zealand.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic UK and Ireland Tour”
- VIC, Australia Jul 2019 1 Helpful Vote

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Britain and Ireland. A lot was packed into the tour, but that was what we expected from studying the tour itinerary and information provided on the website. All expectations were met, except the trip to Isle of Skye due to a time glitch. The Tour Director was very knowledgeable and presented lots of history and local facts in an interesting manner. Our coach driver was excellent and at no time caused any anxiety. The optional excursions were excellent and a must to get the full value from the tour. The tour highlight was the Military Tattoo in Edinburgh - it's not to be missed! Only post tour problem is sorting through all the photos!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Stress free holiday through the Rockies ”
- VIC, Australia Jul 2019 View Photo

What a wonderful experience travelling through the Rocky Mountains. Firstly with the Rocky Mountaineer, then a fabulous guided tour through the Rockies meeting some wonderful people and finished off with a beautiful cruise into Alaska.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Canadian and Alaska tour”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019

Loved our Canadian/Alaska holiday, we were very lucky to only have a small group on tour, everyone got along well. A little disappointed with our cruise as our boat was a little old, not enough hand sanitizers on entry to dining rooms. Our Guide was very knowledgeable, my only complaint was we booked 2 excursions & because of the times we couldn't spend as much time as we would of liked.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Highly recommended”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019 View Photo

We have just returned from a 16 day tour of Norway and Iceland with Globus and all we can say is wow! We had perfect warm weather, no rain, wonderful guides and great accommodation. The tour went very smoothly from our booking through Global Journeys to the tour organisation, superb meals and optional excursions. Our Norway group had 24 people with ourselves the only Australians, a NZ lady and the rest Americans with the majority of people in their 60s. 6 of us then joined another group of 12 to do the Iceland extension for 5 days. We had a large coach so could move around and the guide was exceptional in creating a very happy united group of travellers.

Highlights were too many to mention as the scenery just got better each day and the mix of trains, ferries and bus transport meant we saw all that there was to offer. The Flam railway was spectacular, the fjords magnificent and a 2 night stay in a fabulous hotel in Loen gave us a nice downtime at the right time in the Norway trip. Iceland was stunning and very unique, like nowhere else we have seen and we have travelled to a lot of Europe! The optional excursion to Blue Lagoon was a great experience and the early visit meant we missed the crowds, a great move by Globus, also the boat cruise on the Glacial Lagoon was fabulous helped by a stunning sunny day.

Another advantage of the tour was that all breakfasts, which were spectacular Scandinavian style, and dinners, which included a wine or beer, were included so our costs were a lot less than we had anticipated. We stayed on for an additional day in Reykjavik and did a day trip to the western Snaefellsnes Peninsular as the tour did not go to this part of Iceland and we found that a great day with different spectacular coastal scenery. Both Globus guides in Norway and Iceland, Corina and Sophia, were great, very experienced with a great depth of local knowledge, language and very well organised. Both of these countries have so much to see and offer so they deserve extended tours rather than a quick stopover. We would highly recommend this tour and will look to travel with Globus again in the future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Alaska a trip into the wilderness”
- QLD, Australia Jul 2019

What a tremendous tour of Alaska, Globus certainly knows how to conduct an adventure, the highlight feature was a full day to the Denali national park with sightings of Moose, Elk, Caribou, and Grizzly Bear in their natural surroundings. As a land tour and Inside Passage cruise package it cannot be faulted. We have no hesitation in recommending this tour for all ages. This holiday was booked through Georgie Walpole at Global Journeys a very professional travel agency and will use them for our next holiday.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Historic cities of Eastern Canada”
- SA, Australia Jul 2019

Really enjoyed the trip, well planned with adequate time in each city. Unfortunately we did not see enough of Montreal as it was the end of the tour. It was a long way from the hotel to visit sites of interest and only a short time there. The winery visit was a disappointment as there were too many stairs to see the vats and the tasting was not in a nice environment with no chairs after climbing multiple stairs. Loved all the other places.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent tour of the Canadian Rockies with Globus ”
- VIC, Australia Jul 2019

Everything on this tour either met or exceeded expectations. The tour guide had the balance right between talking too much and keeping us interested with his commentary. He did a great job and made it look effortless. The scenery was magnificent and with no forest fires during July, and kind weather, we were able to do and see everything that was on the itinerary. Too many magnificent lakes and mountains to single one out - all of the scenery was grand. I chose to do most of the additional tours and am pleased that I did as they were all worthwhile and complemented the tour. Really easy to get along with group of people comprising several nationalities and a wide age group. One of the best tours I have done.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Delightful tour”
- New Zealand Jul 2019 View Photo

We had always wanted to experience Scandinavia and this tour fitted the bill perfectly. Given the number of destinations, it did feel a bit “once over lightly” but excellent guiding meant that key aspects of each stop were explored as fully as possible. The transport and accommodation was excellent and we much enjoyed the company. Guides were fun and knowledgeable. Unforgettable holiday!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Bonnie Scotland with London extension”
- WA, Australia Jul 2019

Well planned tour with a good pace throughout. Did not feel rushed with adequate time to view excursions and time for socialising with friends found on the trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Brilliant Britain and Ireland In Depth”
- VIC, Australia Jul 2019 3 Helpful Votes View Photo

What an amazing experience. We went not really knowing what to expect, and to expect the unexpected. What we received exceeded our expectations. Booking this tour online was hassle free. Everyone was so helpful and prompt with all my questions and gave me the best of service... would recommend this to anyone. Our tour leader was a welsh girl, Nicci. She was just amazing with her knowledge base and her interpersonal skills. Nothing was too much trouble and she would go over and beyond what we would expect. Our driver, John, was so helpful and an expert with his driving skills... we felt so safe how he negotiated those narrow Irish roads with precision.

The tour was such an experience, we loved it, the scenery was to die for and we would definitely travel with Globus again. My only negative comment is in regard to a hotel in Glasgow. I thought it was sub standard with no air flow and the carpet was loose on the floor and not very clean.. A hotel that I think probably should not be in the group, though in saying that the meal provided by this hotel was very nice with good service. Maybe the tour pace a little rushed with the optional excursions and included meals. Our overall comment is great fun had by all with a very sociable group who all interacted well together and cared for others. If I could do this again I would want the very same group and tour leader so thank you Globus it's a credit to your team.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Enjoyable Introduction to Iceland”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019

Very enjoyable short introduction to Iceland. Easy booking and details well managed both in advance and on the ground. Global Journeys very easy to deal with from initial contact to questions and follow up. Only issue were flights which we booked with RyanAir and IcelandAir via Oslo - arriving at Reykjavik was a poor experience with very extended delay in retrieving luggage meant that we were late for dinner/briefing.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The Croatian Tour, Lovely Country”
- WA, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

Travelled with 43 fellow passengers on this tour, from Australia, NZ, UK and USA. Coach was excellent but no spare seating. Highlights of the tour would be Postojna Caves, Pula, Zadar and Split and the Diocletian's Palace and the water front. On the downside the Tour Director was terrible. We also had a change of hotel in Opatija (lower Grade ) without notice. The drinks served with meals were ONE only very, very small glass of wine, small beer or small soft drink!!! Overall we loved the countryside and historic towns and villages, and the pace of the tour. Will not forget our late night swim in the Adriatic sea at Zadar. Enjoyed the optional excursions, sunset cruise and dinner, Konavie valley, Alpine Bled. Thanks Jemma at Global Journeys for answering all our queries.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 658