G Adventures Reviews

G Adventures
4.8 out of 5
38 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with G Adventures. Every review has been verified.

     

Ratings

5 Star
84%
4 Star
16%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%

Most Popular Reviews

  10 Votes   Angela
  3 Votes   Wendy
  2 Votes   Sandra Abel
“Fantastic Ultimate Italy”
- New Zealand Jun 2019

Fantastic trip. The perfect itinerary for seeing Italy. Lots of free time to make sure that I could schedule in the things I wanted to see the most. I paired this tour with G Adventures' Local Living Sorrento to get a good overview of Italy. The only thing to suggest is to pack lightly, G Adventures uses local transport so you will be carrying your own luggage up stairs.

Pick this style of trip if you like to have free time to do what you want to do as well as spend time with a group when you want. Don't pick this trip if you like your luggage picked up at the front of your hotel door and having everything arranged and scheduled for you. I loved every moment of this trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A great small group tour!”
- TAS, Australia May 2019 View Photo

We really enjoyed this tour (our second with G Adventures). Our tour leader (Summer) - called a CEO, short for Chief Experience Officer by G Adventures was fantastic and put in the extra leg work to find those special experiences throughout the tour. This one was a National Geographic Tour which provides a better class of accommodation together with longer in each location which gave us the ability to actually look around at our leisure without being herded from spot to spot.

We allowed additional time in Zagreb before the tour commenced which gave us time to look around this area and also take a day trip into Slovenia. This tour included a visit to Plitvice Lakes National Park but unfortunately due to exceptionally heavy rainfall we were unable to experience the boardwalks but the waterfalls were really roaring. The history of this area was amazing with the last war a very recent memory to many with numerous signs of damage still evident. We ended the tour in Dubrovnik where we added two additional days staying in the old town which we enjoyed. Accommodation would have been rated as excellent except the starting and finishing hotels were a little tired and appear to have been changed at the last minute.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A most outstanding adventure - most highly recommended ”
- QLD, Australia May 2019

Doing cruises can be a scary idea if the idea of hordes of travellers focused on eating and drinking and being oblivious to their surroundings does not appeal. But the G Expeditions trips which focus on the Arctic and Antarctic are really very different.

The boat takes a limited number of passengers, the expedition team are focused on providing technical insights to the fascinating culture, history and environment, and everyone gets to experience places that are far outside of the territory large boats can travel. There are ample opportunities to engage in active treks along the way, and to explore on one's own some of the fascinating ports.

We really enjoyed the trip, enjoyed the insights from the daily technical talks and from the on-location local guides at the various stops. The trip is good value for a 14 day voyage, accommodation is perfectly adequate, and catering excellent. The G Adventures team on board and the ship's crew are very professional and competent. We recommend the tour very highly.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic tour of Egypt”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2019 View Photo

I have nothing but positive feedback for both Global Journeys and G Adventures. From the time I booked to the time we finished the tour it was an awesome experience which allowed us to concentrate on having a great time. And we DID.

So well run and all the finer details were such a bonus. The Pyramids, the Nile boat trip and having a swim in the river, Valley of Kings, overnight train trip, fellow tour group people. WOW so fantastic. If you're thinking about this trip? Just DO IT.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Sensational Sabah”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

This tour packed so much into 8 days- mountains, islands, jungle and abundant wildlife. A highlight was our stay at the Kinabatangan River which we cruised in the early morning and late afternoons spotting monkeys, birds and crocodiles on the riverbanks. We will have lifelong memories of cruising down the river at sunset, watching the silhouettes of Proboscis Monkeys swinging high in the trees. We didn't spot any of the shy pygmy elephants but did come across their tracks on one of the jungle hikes which was really cool! We would have liked a little longer at the Orangutan sanctuary but operating hours are fairly limited, and the time we did have was fantastic.

The days on tour were busy, but we had a good amount of downtime during the heat of the day to have a siesta in a hammock or in the comfort of air con.

We had a great group of easygoing tour buddies and everyone got along well - a range of ages, including friends travelling together, couples and solos. Our G Adventures CEO was fantastic, sweet and friendly. He is from a local village and has spent several years working in Sabah national parks so has plenty of knowledge about the wildlife.

There was a variety of accommodation which added to the experience, all clean and comfortable with good facilities. We stayed an extra night at the end of the tour and visited the islands off Kota Kinabalu which was worth doing because it was different again to the island we visited on the tour, but if you're going to stay on I would spend a little extra on a hotel with a pool.

Global Journeys provided excellent service at the best price and our travel advisor was professional, intelligent, patient and beautiful.

Borneo is close(ish), safe, and a great destination if you want to see wildlife and go somewhere really different but are short on time. We will travel with G Adventures again and when we do we will book through Global Journeys.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“ Best of Flores & Komodo”
- ACT, Australia Apr 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Excellent tour. Tour leader was friendly and helpful. . Accommodation was good. Some suggestions:

1. Eat more frequently in local Indonesian restaurants (e.g. Padang restaurants) and less in westernised coffee shops. The choice of authentic Indonesian cuisine in these coffee shops is limited. I can appreciate that some or many of my co-tourists may disagree with me on this issue.

2. Perhaps have an over55's tour group? There are many of us over this age who are fit and healthy but do not walk at a similar pace to those in their 20's or 30's. I did tend to lag behind some of the younger individuals in the group and perhaps slowed things down a bit.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Nice introduction to Morocco”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2019

Really enjoyed the variety of each country. Especially loved the tapas in Spain and the Tagine meals in Morocco. Plus the freshly squeezed orange juice everyday in Morocco. Always ate where the G Adventures guide suggested and had no problems.

We had great local guides at each destination in Morocco in Tangier, Fez, Volubilis ruins, and Marrakech and felt well looked after with our G Adventures guide always behind us as we were led by the local specialist guides through the Medinas.

Every second day was a long travel day which meant often sitting for a long time in a small minivan especially in Morocco but the scenery was lovely especially the lush green mountains on the way to Chefchaouen and then to Fez. Chefchauoen is a lovely blue village and so charming. Worth seeing!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Explore Kruger NP and Victoria Falls”
- QLD, Australia Feb 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

The game drives through Kruger National Park and Karongwe Private Game Reserve were fantastic experiences. The knowledge of the guides regarding animals and birds was exceptional, allowing the tour members to actually sight a vast variety animals in a natural environment.

Victoria Falls was spectacular, providing another highlight of the tour and the evening dinner cruise on the Zambezi provided an excellent finale to the tour. The G Adventures CEOs, Gail and Patience were absolute professionals and their efforts ensured that the entire tour was a wonderful experience.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The best of the best”
- United States Jan 2019

My trip to Australia was just as amazing as my last one. Once again Juliet was a great help and she truly set me up with one of the best tours there was on offer. The National Geographic tour was one of the highest rated tours and it truly showed! I got the best of the best on this trip. I loved traveling to the desert and seeing Uluru and also getting to see some koalas on the Great Ocean Road. Unforgettable for sure.

The only thing I was somewhat nervous about was when I first showed up for the welcome meeting the age demographic was a lot older than me and I'm not sure if I was warned about this before I booked the tour. Definitely not Juliet's fault, since I had already had a different travel agent who left on maternity leave before I was put in touch with Juliet. I stayed positive though and still found a way to make friends even though they were 50 years older than I am. My tour guide was young, along with a couple of other people in the group so I stuck with them and really made some friends that I will never forget there as well.

Australia was absolutely beautiful and there were so many opportunities to explore each city and do optional activities. I think for this trip, my G Adventures tour guide made it amazing.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Well organised 8 day tour to Egypt”
- WA, Australia Jan 2019 1 Helpful Vote

It was a well organised tour. A lot of history and the knowledge of our guide was outstanding. The group was funny and very cooperative. I had a good time. The accommodation was just standard and perhaps a little review of some places could be revisited. Overall I'll be happy to book a trip with Global Journeys because of their genuine approach to travel. Thank you for the fun.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Discovering Sri Lanka”
- NSW, Australia Jan 2019

Sri Lanka, better known as the 'Isle of Gems', is aiming to make tourism their number one industry over the next few years and boy are they doing a good job of it. Clean beaches and enough National Park safaris to keep everyone in the family happy. Definitely a worthwhile holiday retreat.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Unforgettable trip to New Zealand's South Island ”
- United States Jan 2019

Juliet was an amazing travel agent who quickly responded to any questions I had. My trip to New Zealand was incredible and I met so many people from all over the world that I will still keep in touch with. Some of the highlights of my trip were swimming with dolphins, the shot over jet, hiking the Franz Josef Glacier, and skydiving. There were so many other activities that I also enjoyed but those were just a few of my favorites.

The only downside was the experience that I had with my tour guide and his inappropriate behavior but once we had contacted G Adventures as a group, they had great customer service and fired the guide during our trip and sent a new and much better CEO. I have no complaints about this trip, it is one that I will remember forever and thanks to Juliet she helped ease my nerves before I left and helped with every step of planning the trip as well. Thank you!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Awesome tour of Cuba”
- Germany Dec 2018 View Photo

I enjoyed this tour a lot. The group was very good, we had an excellent guide and driver. Highly recommended tour. Best G Adventures tour for me so far. The booking through Global Journeys went very smoothly (main reason to not book directly with G Adventures was the better price tag).

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Rapa Nui”
- NV, United States Nov 2018

Just the perfect way to end a 10 week South American tour. The guide, people, and the history were unforgettable. A relaxing way to end the trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing immersion into Ecuadorian culture and nature”
- New Zealand Nov 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

The guide on this trip was very knowledgeable and was able to provide in-depth information on the customs of all sorts of indigenous Ecuadorian people, plants and wildlife (from what to eat and which bugs can kill you), to the layout of the land. I felt like this was more than an introduction to Ecuador but it still left me wanting more.

I would've never chosen any of the accommodations for myself, however they were all very comfortable and charming. Free bottled water and breakfast included everywhere. If you love nature, wildlife and love to explore places less travelled by other tourists then this is a fantastic trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Morocco - an adventure to a different world”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2018 View Photo

From the busy cities of Fes and Marrakech and Roman ruins of Volubilis dating back to 1BC to the snow-capped peaks of the High Atlas Mountains and the Sahara desert, this tour is all encompassing. A fast-paced trip as I like it, offering endless variety for all my senses and camera. A knowledgeable guide who was proud to show us his country and put together a good mix of restaurants, picnic stops, markets and rest stops into the itinerary.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“3 day Paracas & Nazca lines tour”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018 View Photo

The tour was great, the hotel was good & in the center of town. We were picked up in Lima on time & everything was perfect. The flight over the Nazca lines was wonderful & so was the boat trip out to Ballestas Islands. Our guide was good & gave us lots of information on the area & sunset in the desert was beautiful.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Absolute Peru with outstanding guides”
- NV, United States Sep 2018

It was an incredibly intense tour of the country. I can't imagine doing it any other way. The CEO and step on guides were outstanding. Hiking the Inca Trail into Machu Picchu was the highlight.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Inspiring trip to the Galapagos”
- NV, United States Sep 2018

It was a fun, inspiring trip. Actually 1 day in a hotel on the islands and 3 days on a boat. The food was very good. The CEOs were amazing.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Food

Was this review helpful?

“Enjoyable Trans-Mongolian trip”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018

I really enjoyed this Trans-Mongolian trip, the guide was excellent and very helpful at all times. Once in a life time experience with great people that I met during my recent trip. Thank you to those who made this trip happen and organised it well.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 38