Spain, Portugal & Morocco Reviews

Cosmos Guided Tour starting in Madrid and finishing in Madrid

4.4 out of 5
42 Reviews
     

Most Popular Reviews

  9 Votes   Debbie & Alwyn
  9 Votes   Iain & Ria
  9 Votes   Pamela & Ruth
  8 Votes   Lee
“Spain, Portugal & Morocco”
- Victoria, Australia Jul 2019 1 Helpful Vote

We had a great trip of Spain, Portugal & Morocco with Cosmos. Very well organized, could not find any faults. The Tour director and our bus driver were great.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great expansive tour”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Great trip for the cost. We had New Zealanders, Americans and English amongst the majority of Australians. We all got on extremely well, and made the most of our time together.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Spain Portugal Morocco”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

This is a very popular trip, with 2 tours running concurrently on the same date. Our coach had 44 people, which is the largest we've encountered. The tour had a good pace, even though there are always places we would've liked to have seen more of (Mijas in Spain for example). Our tour director Paulina was the best one we've had on one of these tours (and we've done over a dozen) as she spoke excellent English, was firm, humorous, directed people well, and gave quality advice.
The only major negatives were (as usual on these tours) the hotels and the included meals. Most were good, some were average, and some were terrible (no safe in the room when we were told "every room has a safe", only one towel for a twin share, no telephone, poor wi-fi). It was an experience to see Morocco, but no matter how many times we were warned, some people still managed to fall prey to stomach issues. Overall a great tour and one I would recommend with a few caveats.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Cosmos Spain, Portugal & Morocco”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2019 3 Helpful Votes

Could not be happier with our Tour. We can honestly say we had the very best, most eloquent, thought provoking, persuasive, inclusive, trustworthy and knowledgeable Tour Director, John Shaw. John made this Cosmos adventure unforgettable.
When I first started booking this tour I had trouble with our home internet - NBN was a horror. It was through Global Journeys that I was able to arrange our trip. Jemma Rosen not only did the job she had to do, but she went out of her way to make the process as easy as possible - answering numerous emails & calls - nothing was too much trouble - so Thank You Jemma - you are a credit to Global Journeys. Your integrity and honesty are irrefutable.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Spain, Portugal and Morocco tour ”
- NSW, Australia Mar 2019 2 Helpful Votes

It was a good tour, tour guide and driver were excellent. Accommodation was not bad, some options on tour were not good especially the dinner. The show was good but the food was not what I expected. Too many tour guides came in and out and that made for confusion, so many of them that five of us got lost as we didn't know who to follow. Anyway, thanks to Paulina.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Spain, Portugal and Morocco”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018 9 Helpful Votes View Photo

What a great trip we had. Sun, sand, sangria, camels, belly dancers and much more. Who could ask for anything more. The guide and driver on our coach were marvelous. The other 41 people on the coach were great and we had some wonderful times and laughs with them. Everywhere we went was magnificent. It was a quick on off the coach affair but it didn't matter to us, because we wanted to see so much. I can recommend this to anyone.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Spain Portugal Morocco ”
- WA, Australia Aug 2018 5 Helpful Votes View Photo

Great trip, great value, all went well thanks to an amazing tour guide Julian. Very busy tour, not for people who have difficulty walking. We had the usual whingers but they didn’t spoil the trip, well done Cosmos.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Spain, Portugal & Morocco”
- WA , Australia Aug 2018 5 Helpful Votes

It was a very good trip. I suppose my negative would be that people like myself who paid the single supplement fee didn’t get any priority as far as hotel rooms were concerned, for example one lady on the trip who hadn’t paid the single supplement was lucky enough on two occasions to get a much better room than those (namely two of us) who had paid the extra. This was frustrating to see, so I do think Cosmos should look into that. Apart from that it was a great trip, but the food was only just adequate.
(GJ. Hi Eileen. Paying a single supplement guarantees you your own room. If you choose not pay it, then Cosmos will try their best to match you up with another traveller. Occasionally there aren't any other solo travellers, and so you get a room for yourself without paying extra! More often than not however, that isn't the case. This is the same policy as all Operators we are aware of. Hope that helps.)

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Spain, Portugal & Morocco”
- New Zealand Jun 2018 5 Helpful Votes

Rosa, our guide was excellent in all respects. Have done 5 cosmos trips and she tops all other guides. Mix of people were good. We were the oldest couple but that was no handicap. Enjoyed holiday and would travel with Globus family again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Trip”
- SA, Australia Apr 2018 8 Helpful Votes

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. So much to see and explore in Spain. Most of the iconic and UNESCO World Heritage Sites were covered. Morocco stands out for me especially Medina of Fez; it is incredible! Market selling whole camel head was on display. Photos taken at the Tannery showing the dyeing process of leather were like out of the National Geographic! Our Tour Director, John Shaw, has a wealth of knowledge on all these three countries. He went beyond and above his duties to keep us entertained. He is approachable and helpful. Khalid, our driver kept us safe with his attentive driving. Jemma was great in having my travel documents delivered to me in a timely manner.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Spain, Portugal & Morocco”
- WA, Australia Dec 2017 9 Helpful Votes View Photo

Many of the excursions were very good and the tour guide was excellent. The only complaint iwould be the repetitiveness of hotel breakfasts ... but this is not under the tour’s control as even the best hotels all provide similar breakfasts. Spain was our favourite.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Quick Tour Spain, Portugal and Morrocco”
- QLD, Australia Nov 2017 9 Helpful Votes

This tour was a very fast-paced glimpse of three countries that have shared histories. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and considerate of traveller needs. The coach was very new, clean and comfortable with lots of leg room. Wi fi was available on the bus in Spain and Portugal and in all the hotels. However, the signal was variable. The standard of hotels was good considering this is a 'budget' tour. All had buffet breakfasts with a variety of foods to choose from. The included dinners were generally satisfactory - the one at Fuengirola being exceptional. The tour covers a lot of ground and many days are spent travelling to destinations. Not a lot of free time to explore. Highlights included Seville, Granada, Fuengirola, Lisbon, Obidos and Marrakesch.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Spain, Portugal & Morocco”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2017 2 Helpful Votes

This was a great, but sometimes fast paced tour with Cosmos. We had travelled with Cosmos previously so knew what to expect. We added three days at the commencement of the program to give us time to recover from the long flight and also to see more of Madrid. We are very pleased we did. The hotel was out of the city but well positioned to access the bus directly to the Plaza Mayor. Even with our limited Spanish we were able to manage these trips into the city. The standout city for us was Seville - from the location of our hotel, nearby ancient pubs and access to the city centre and the Cathedral and wonderful cafes.
This was our first time travelling with the support of Global Journeys. The tour was well priced and as a return customer for Cosmos a discount made it even better! Many thanks to Jemma for her support and assistance in making decisions and the professional way our documents were prepared. We would definitely travel through Global Journeys again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A great tour of Spain, Portugal and Morocco.”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2017 4 Helpful Votes

We had a great time on this tour. Our Cosmos tour director Angel Diaz was excellent. Extremely helpful, friendly and had a great sense of humour. Everything was well planned and we didn’t experience any problem. A big thank you to Madeline at Global Journeys for organising our holiday for us.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Spain, Portugal & Morocco”
- WA, Australia Sep 2017 2 Helpful Votes

Unexpected surprise, enjoyed most of the tour. Excellent tour Director, coach and driver. bread! Maps provided were not available in English, hardly anyone speaks English which did not help. Disappointed with some hotels who were unable to change rooms due to full bookings and late arriving. Problems with A/C & TV and room service. Hotel management should check rooms and ensure there is nothing lacking before letting. Breakfast unsatisfactory, no fried eggs only boiled or scramble, coffee machine constantly out of order. Some hotels even did not have sliced bread.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Spain, Portugal & Morocco”
- ACT, Australia Sep 2017 5 Helpful Votes View Photo

Highlights: Lisbon, Seville, Casablanca’s Hassan II Mosque. Don’t understand why the visit to Casablanca’s Hassan II Mosque is not on the itinerary. Too many shopping stops, especially in Morocco. The performance of “1001 nights” in Casablanca is very amateurish. It seems they gathered some of the most ugly and unwilling women to sing and dance on the stage.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Very enjoyable trip”
- WA, Australia Sep 2017 3 Helpful Votes View Photo

I have travelled with Cosmos before and definitely value for money. Didn’t have to worry, our Tour Director took care of us, John Shaw I would say knows how to organise and has great knowledge about Spain, Portugal &/Morocco. The trip is moderate, a fair bit of walking, I think this was the only thing I felt was sometimes too much, perhaps the heat didn’t help otherwise would have enjoyed the walks.
Our tour group were the best ever, everyone took to the tour and therefore made this trip even more enjoyable. Our driver was excellent, the amount of driving that he had to do, can’t say enough, excellent skills.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great holiday!”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2017 2 Helpful Votes

Had a wonderful time , the tour was organised well and the history was incredible The tour guide was excellent, weather great. Most meals were great too.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Special trip through a spectacular region”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2017 3 Helpful Votes View Photo

Spain and Portugal are beautiful, scenic countries countries with a climate ideal for touring in. We had an amazing Tour Guide (Julian) who was organised and efficient, thorough in his directions and explanation, knowledgeable, always available and heaps of fun. He was always conscious of our comfort and limitations of some tour members and he used to refer to us as a "family" and encouraged us to look out for each other.
Our stops en route to the major destinations were excellent, Obidos our favourite, where we could have spent several days, not just hours. Morocco was a little more challenging, hotel, service and food standards were definitely of a lower standard but that's Africa and it did make the trip interesting and gave us all lots to laugh about. All in all we had a lovely holiday on a well organised Cosmos tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing trip to Spain Portugal and Morocco”
- New Zealand Jul 2017 3 Helpful Votes

We all had such an amazing tour. We enjoyed every aspect. We took advantage of the optional tours but not the dinners and live shows ..which allowed us the evenings to relax. It is very difficult to decide on any highlights , but probably our tour guide, the optional tour of Toledo and the included tour of the Alhambra Complex stand out for us.
We did enjoy having free time in most cities we visited, and always our tour guide would go over possible places we might like to visit, places to eat and shop, and how to get to and from our accommodation. He also gave us his phone number and assured us help was only and phone call away if we needed it. Fortunately, we never had to but it did reassure us. Our tour guide was amazing , called Angel, his knowledge, humour and care for everyone on the tour really bound our group together.
It was a hot time of the year to travel but we did manage and it was lovely to have the tour bus always ready to pick us up at the appropriate times , with the air conditioning switched on. I cannot recommend this tour enough... thank you to Global Journeys for the bookings, nothing was a problem.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 42