Collette Tour Reviews

Collette
4.7 out of 5
23 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Collette. Every review has been verified.

     
“Collette's British Landscapes were revelatory”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019 View Photo

We travelled north to Edinburgh via York, then back south via Gretna Green, staying in a 12th Century Welsh Castle (allegedly haunted), then onto Stratford-upon-Avon where we headed off to fabulous Stonehenge and returned via beautiful Cotswold Cottages.

A fantastic trip with an amazing tour director (Christine) who had so much knowledge about the UK, we were continually amazed (and entertained). Highly recommended tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Exploring South Africa, Victoria Falls and Botswana”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019 View Photo

This Collette tour was well structured with a very competent Leader, Johnathon. We enjoyed all aspects commencing from Cape Town and particularly the game drives in Entabeni and Chobe. The small group of 16 was a perfect size and mostly interacted well. The weather in mid/late April was ideal. We would recommend the tour unreservedly. Hannah from Global Journeys once again provided a professional service.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great way to see the highlights of Japan”
- NSW , Australia Apr 2019 View Photo

Jemma at Global Journeys provided another smooth booking and this was my first tour with Collette. I was glad to be on a tour in view of the language barrier and also to learn about day to day life and background info which I otherwise wouldn't have known.

Our tour guide Tomoe went beyond her call of duty to provide maps and info and suggestions when asked. The accommodation was excellent; rooms were larger than expected for a solo traveller and the hotels had great locations. Being vegetarian was challenging but this was expected. All in all, there was a great balance of free time and designated sights and a good group of 32. This tour gave a great overview of Japan.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Scenic Japan”
- ACT, Australia Apr 2019

Japan was certainly very busy so it was great to be staying in top quality accommodation and being escorted to various destinations. The tour went to all the iconic Japanese cultural and geographic spots. It was a good balance of organised activity and free time. Only issue was not enough time in Hiroshima visiting the Peace Museum.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Northern Lights Tour”
- VIC, Australia Feb 2019 1 Helpful Vote

The pace of this tour was good and not too tiring with no early morning checkouts. I also liked it because all breakfasts and dinners were included in the tour. There were no other optional tours that we had to decide on because everything was included. We were lucky, there were only about 30 of us in the group.

My main reason for taking this tour was to see the Northern Lights. Unfortunately we did not see the Northern Lights with our naked eyes, just some white cloud which the tour guide said was the Northern Lights. When we took photos with the cameras or mobile phones it does appear as green Northern Lights.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip through the Imperial Cities”
- QLD, Australia Nov 2018 1 Helpful Vote

Great last minute trip through the Imperial cities with Collette. Our river cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest had been cancelled due to low water levels so this trip with Collette was very last minute. Many thanks to Jemma from Global Journeys for organising everything for us with such short notice.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“America's Music Cities”
- WA, Australia Nov 2018

My main reason for selecting this tour was to go to Graceland and everything else was a bonus. However, everything was great to see and visit. We had a mix of Americans, Canadians and Australians (including me). The best highlights for me (other than Graceland) were RCA Studio B where Elvis recorded most of his songs as did many others and going to the Grand Ole Opry at Ryman Auditorium. The only problem with the tour timetable was that day 2 had half a day and the night as free time and day 1 was busy from morning to late evening. It would have been more comfortable if dinner on day 1 was on day 2 to break the days up a bit. I also think that for another $40 or $50 the visit to Graceland could have included all of the exhibits rather than some and then being asked to pay for other displays. Staying at the Gaylord Opryland Resort was one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had. It is fantastic.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“USA Music Cities”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018

Enjoyed this tour very much, New Orleans - Memphis - Nashville. Great accommodation, excellent tour guide. Generally a value packed tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Pilgrimage to Fatima and Lourdes with Barcelona”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

It was the pilgrimage of a lifetime... I felt so blessed to have joined this group, there were a lot of wonderful people, there were 4 priests who joined us and the tour manager Pedro was just so wonderful and very knowledgeable. I would surely book with Colette and Global Journeys again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Cultural Treasures of Japan”
- WA, Australia Sep 2018 1 Helpful Vote

Loved Japan, enjoyed the tour. The hotels were all of an excellent standard, the sites and experiences were memorable. The pace of the tour was great. Only criticism is that we would have liked longer in Tokyo, should have arrived there a few days earlier. Would definitely book with Global Journeys and Collette again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“First class tour of Japan”
- WA, Australia Sep 2018 1 Helpful Vote

First time travelers with Collette. Excellent value, very good accommodation and very knowledgeable tour director. The itinerary was thoughtfully selected as it gave a good balance of new and old Japan. Sufficient free time to cater for the shoppers. First time also with Global Journeys. Jemma was excellent, all went like clockwork.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Enjoyable tour of Tuscany”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2018 1 Helpful Vote

The hotel we were based in was well-positioned but we would class it as ordinary. Cleaning of room was not the best and often bathroom items (esp. floor mat) were not replaced. We asked for a new room because the shower cubicle was very small. Breakfast was an adequate buffet.

Excursions were excellent with knowledgeable local guides but we were often left with too much free time - not enough to see major sites like the Uffizi Museum in Florence, and not enough information to visit smaller attractions. (We're not into shopping and don't buy souvenirs.)

The tour director, Sergio, was fantastic. He dealt with anything thrown at him with professionalism. He could also tell very funny stories. I think we will stick with Australian companies in the future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Alpine Lakes & Scenic Trains”
- QLD, Australia Jul 2018

The accommodation was very comfortable and well located. However, Lake Maggiore was the only one with aircon. Because of traffic noise or ground floor position it wasn't appropriate to leave the window open at night, so the rooms were hot which made sleeping difficult. Value wise, most travel is overpriced when you travel as a single. Cynthia was an amazingly knowledgeable and competent guide.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Tour through the Southern parts of Portugal and Spain.”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2018 3 Helpful Votes View Photo

Very good organising in every things.. the hotel, the food, the bus - travelling and best of all is having local guide tours in every cities. I will travel with this tour company again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful tour of Portugal with Collette ”
- NSW, Australia Jan 2018 3 Helpful Votes

This was my first guided tour and initially I was sceptical. Having travelled independently a good deal for decades, I flinched at the idea that my next 10 days were totally planned, down to every meal. But it was wonderful, and a great experience, and now I’m organising another.

Our tour guide Jose was fantastic, friendly, funny and professional. We saw and experienced so much, far more than possible if travelling independently. The accommodations were of a very high standard, actually better than I expected. Most meals were very good, and Jose went out of his way to meet everyone‘s dietary preferences/requirements.

Many places were special, including the towns of Sintra, Monsaraz, Obidos and Evora, and the sights around the Algarve, especially the Cape of St Vincent’s, were amazing. The visits to the cork and tile factories were also interesting, as were the wineries. We moved at a good pace, spending at least 2 or 3 nights in all the hotels but one. Overall a well thought out tour itinerary. Thanks Global Journeys, Collette, and our wonderful guide Jose.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous trip ”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2017 2 Helpful Votes

We thoroughly enjoyed our Alpine and lakes train trip through Switzerland and Italy. From the time we were picked up to be taken to our departure flight to be picked up on arrival back in Sydney ,all went very smoothly.

The group were a great mix of people. Our tour leader Marian was fantastic! We were very impressed with Collette Tours and would definitely do another one with them.

Reply from Collette:
Thanks Jan & Gary, great to hear you had such a fabulous time, we look forward to seeing you on tour again soon. Ask Global Journeys about our loyalty program. I shall pass on your words to Marian too. Best regards, Alison

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A mixed bag. An interesting but poorly planned itinerary”
- WA, Australia Oct 2017 15 Helpful Votes

The Istrian and Dalmatian coasts offer spectacular contrasts for the traveller. Roman ruins such as the Amphitheatre in Pula and Diocletian's palace in Split, romantic mediaeval towns, walled cities like Dubrovnik and natural wonders of the calibre of the Plitvice Lakes make for a rich and interesting travelling experience. This Collette tour doesn’t leave much out, although Mostar should have been included, but it just doesn’t cut it on the logistical side.

The tour is badly planned and doesn’t flow from one destination to the next, necessitating too much time on an essentially uncomfortable bus getting from one place to another. Rather than start at one destination and straightforwardly wind its way up or down the counties visited, the itinerary demands travellers go backwards and forwards from place to place. This resulted in two full days of cramped, unrelenting coach travel when it could have been avoided.

I was informed that Collette intends to reconfigure this tour in 2019, probably as a consequence of feedback similar to the above, and I would not recommend the existing tour to anyone who wants to limit their time on the road so as to experience as much as can be experienced in these wonderful countries.

The standard of accommodation was high, the tour guide was knowledgeable and efficient, but the grade of coach offered, with seating that was as cramped as a typical regional airline, was not as good as what I have experienced with Globus and more akin to what I have experienced with the operator Trafalgar.

Reply from Collette:
Thank you for your valuable feedback. A re-design is planned for this tour, and it is indeed feedback like this that allows us to make ongoing enhancements. In addition I have passed along your comments to our product team to address. Thanks again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip through South America ”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2017 5 Helpful Votes

It was an amazing trip and we have enjoyed very much. There are lots of companies offer the touring of South America. The reason we chose the Collette was because their trip include the opportunity to see the spectacular glaciers as well. It was our second trip booked through Global Journeys with the help of Yvonne. She can be contacted with phone or email all the time and helped us with whatever questions we had, which made our booking so much easier. Thanks Yvonne!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Collette tour of Eastern European Capitals”
- QLD, Australia May 2017 18 Helpful Votes View Photo

The Collette tour went well. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see a little more of Eastern Europe. I think it was good value for the money, Eastern Europe seems to be quite a bit cheaper than other parts of Europe (excluding Berlin and Vienna which are more expensive).

Prague was really crowded at the major destinations eg the castle and Charles Bridge, it's a trendy youth destination it seems. I enjoyed all the other destinations however, especially Berlin which has its own vibe, Budapest (fabulous hotel overlooking the Danube), Krakow (less fast-paced, more quaint) and Warsaw (interesting, friendly and diverse).

It is a quite fast-paced tour, but the attractions and options they include are all good, as are the hotels, mostly excellent in fact. The only hotel I did not like was the Mecure Grand Biedermeier in Vienna, because I had a single bed with a particularly hard mattress. All the hotels were located very close to the "Old Town" parts of the cities which made getting around on your own very easy.

There were only a few Australians on the trip, it was mostly Americans but all lovely people and a nice group of only about 22. One elderly gentleman struggled quite a lot with walking distances, steps etc so probably not a tour recommended for less mobile travellers. There was quite a good variety in locations and activities, plus free time included.There were other singles and we did some things together which was nice.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Pacific Northwest & California”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2016 1 Helpful Vote

The guide and the driver both ensured a smooth tour and our needs were met. Collette is only new in Australia and we had not heard from them before but a number of other guests spoke very highly of the company which was reassuring. Probably the most enjoyable part of the tour was the whales we spotted along the coast which we watched for sometime. The tour manager Abby was a local and was very passionate about her home state and had a lot of interesting information and printouts which she shared with the group.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 23