Bunnik Tour Reviews

Bunnik
4.6 out of 5
59 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Bunnik. Every review has been verified.

     
“A wonderful tour of Turkey and Greece ”
- ACT, Australia May 2019

This was a tour for those with an interest in the ancient world and the history of civilisation while experiencing beautiful landscapes and the modern cultures of these countries. The two tour guides, one for Greece and one for Turkey, were faultless in our view and were a major factor in the success of the tour. They managed to bring to life the modern and ancient histories of these countries.

The cuisine was the Mediterranean diet on steroids and hotels generally exceeded our expectations. We were very pleased that we were on a smaller group tour - 18 fellow Australians - as there are many more options for exploring as compared to larger group tours. We would like to thank Bunnik and Global Journeys for combining to give us this great experience.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Well organised tour with excellent guide.”
- VIC, Australia May 2019 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

Bunnik tours are always well organised. The Moscow & St Petersburg part of the tour was amazing but intense. To complete the programme required commitment! The local guides were excellent and well informed and nice! Daiga our Latvian guide for the whole tour was excellent, knowledgeable and no nonsense. The weather was stunning throughout.

Highlights: Swan Lake at the Hermitage theatre, St Petersburg, Rundale Palace in Latvia, Baltic States generally, Czech Republic especially Cesky Krumlov, Prague.

The hotels were generally excellent - the Arts Hotel in Krakow was outstanding. It was a packed trip, a cold went through us all causing greater or lesser debility. The members of the tour group were a mixed bunch, most lovely, but there’s always a few less happy souls! I myself met a couple from a place I lived in years ago & our girls had gone to school together & we had acquaintances & friends in common so that was fun!

Negatives: crowds even at that early stage of the season. Physical requirements of the tour too much for some. Some tour members just inexplicably negative. Singapore Airlines Premium economy- would not recommend to anyone, food poor, facilities disgusting as no separate toilets for that class & will work harder & longer to fly business! I loved my stopover in Singapore- used the card & went to the attractions & arrived home far less jet lagged.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous Egypt tour”
- NSW, Australia Mar 2019 4 Helpful Votes

I booked my Bunnik tour (Egypt in Depth) through Global Journeys. The process was clear, simple and reassuringly efficient. I had always wanted to visit Egypt and the trip was everything that I could hope for.

I visited in March - April and the weather was warm and sunny each day but cool in the early mornings and evenings. The tour guide made the trip; he was so knowledgeable and organised. The itinerary covered all the highlights of Egypt, accommodation was wonderful, including the Nile River cruise.

If you have ever thought of going to Egypt, my advice would be: just do it! Go now, it is wonderful and you will be so glad you did.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Sri Lanka - no troubles from start to finish ”
- WA, Australia Dec 2018 View Photo

Once again Global Journeys has enabled us to have a wonderful holiday. Jemma was there for any queries, recommendations and advice. Nothing was too much trouble for her and we were not just a number. Well done Jemma will certainly be booking through you and your company again. My advice - visit Sri Lanka , it was such a great surprise.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Sri Lankan Discovery”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018

This trip/itinerary covered all that we wanted out of Sri Lanka, including Anuradhapura. We enjoyed the surprises that the Guide had for us. The itinerary did not state there was an option for another safari in Yala, our guide told us when we got there. The food was super good including the "village" lunches. Disappointed we did not go to the elephant orphanage, just drove past it.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful 28 Day Bunnik tour of South America”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

It was an Incredible tour. I've travelled with Bunnik before & I've never been disappointed. We did so much & saw so much. It's pretty full on & we were tired by the end of each day but it was wonderful.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Jewels of Dalmatia”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2018 2 Helpful Votes

An excellent tour with a good group of like-minded travellers of a similar age, and an interesting itinerary. The hotels were mostly of a good standard as were the included meals - which catered adequately for me as a vegetarian. Our tour guide Petr did a good job of keeping us informed and the local guides were mostly very good and informative. With a group of sixteen we had plenty of space to spread out on the coach.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Scandinavian Discovery”
- WA, Australia May 2018 8 Helpful Votes

The Bunnik Scandinavian Discovery Tour was a great mix of cities and wilderness of Sweden, Norway and Finland. I loved the experience of visiting the Arctic Circle and seeing the midnight sun, climbing the mountains and going through the tunnels (all in the bus of course!), the vast tracts of birch and pine trees, and the pristine waters of the fjords. The cities were enjoyable too with their old architecture, unique building styles and the modern, quintessential Scandinavian styled new developments. A fantastic blend. The group was a lovely mix of people and enjoyable company. The Tour leader was very professional, courteous, always had our well being at heart and entertaining. All that you could ask.

The Bunnik meals were (a) Sweden - very ordinary and the meatballs were certainly just the same as in any IKEA store in Australia. Not very enjoyable. (b) The open sandwiches at the fish stall in Stockholm were a surprise and an absolute delight, (c) the Cider farm lunch in Norway was wonderful country fare and most enjoyable (d) the farewell dinner meal in Denmark at 'Host' was sensational nouvelle cuisine. Loved it. I found the cost of food and drink unexpectedly high, especially in Norway (obviously I had not done my homework!).

The unusually warm summer weather had some hotel operators scrambling i.e. insufficient or no aircon and doonas on all beds instead of light covers. There was an eclectic mix of hotel styles from the hip and upmarket to the traditional ski resort style, all acceptable to me but not to everyone's taste.. Disappointed not to have more time in Denmark. It seemed to be rushed and an afterthought. Although notionally we had a few days, it really ended up being one late evening in Aalborg and 1.5 days in Copenhagen.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Jewels of Dalmatia, well paced friendly tour”
- VIC, Australia May 2018 6 Helpful Votes View Photo

Have just returned from Jewels of Dalmatia tour with Bunnik. The tour had a maximum of 17 passengers and this made travelling very easy. Blaž the tour guide was excellent, he was very well informed and included special inclusions that made our tour that more personal. The accommodation was very good, usually close into town so you could go out and explore.

Enjoyed Dubrovnik, Plitvice lakes and the beautiful scenery of Slovenia. The tour group were friendly and sociable. The month of May is definitely the best time to travel. Very few crowds, weather was great, not too warm, good walking weather.

I would travel with Bunnik again, transfers went smoothly both arriving and departing. Yvonne at Global Journeys did an excellent job, especially with the transfer of hotels in Venice, I really appreciated not having to move hotels, as some people on our tour had to do. I wouldn’t hesitate booking with Global Journeys again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Sri Lanka turns it on”
- SA, Australia Mar 2018 7 Helpful Votes View Photo

Bunnik Tours are certainly the people to travel with. This is our third trip with them and each time they have provided a detailed itinerary, great organisation with surprises and extras along the way.

It is certainly appreciated when you have a Sri Lankan tour guide (Priya) who had the depth of knowledge about his own country and who was caring and thoughtful to the sixteen passengers on the trip. The group was comprised of single women and married couples - we all got on really well together. The bus driver and the assistant were also very considerate and helpful.

One of the highlights, apart from the daily attractions, was learning the Sri Lankan song which we were able to perform in several hotels! One of the extras was being given a recipe book and a copy of the song at the end of the trip. Our only regret was that we missed seeing a leopard at Yala National Park. This was an excellent trip and we would recommend it to anyone. (Ed: Review based on slightly different itinerary. Trip name and itinerary updated this season)

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Introduction to Dalmatia”
- WA, Australia Sep 2017 9 Helpful Votes View Photo

The tour, Jewels of Dalmatia, was an excellent introduction to some of the great old cities and parts of of Hungary, Croatia, Bosnia Herzegovina, Montenegro and Slovenia, with a parting farewell in the unique old Italian city, Venice. The scenery on the 3500 km journey was breathtaking, be it the mountains, forests, plateaus or the coasts. The old cities were rich with history and glorious architectural styles, with an ambiance found only where there has been a rich background of various cultures over the centuries.

Our coach was modern and comfortable, our driver excellent. The tour guide was personable, knowledgeable had infinite patience and always had our welfare at heart. We didn't have the cities all to ourselves. It must be the 'go to' destination of Europe at the moment (Sept 2017) as we always had lost of other coaches plus a number of cruise ships for company. Sometimes it meant it took a while longer to access facilities, cafes and shops.

Overall, the tour was busy and would suit people who like to be on the go.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful holiday in Italy, Sicily and Malta”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2017 6 Helpful Votes

We loved travelling in a small group of only 20 people. Highlights were Rome, Sorrento, Amalfi Coast, Alberobello, Matera, Giardini Naxos and Malta. We absolutely loved Malta. Everything went smoothly, the accommodation was good and the tour guides were brilliant.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful holiday through Spain, Portugal and Morocco”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2017 14 Helpful Votes View Photo

We were looked after well throughout the tour, saw many wonderful places and had some free time to pursue extra interests or rest. I was not very happy with the Emirates flights as my seat allocations were the opposite of my requests and the planes were very crowded and dirty, especially the toilets, with poor in-flight service.

However the land trip itself was very comfortable and clean with good coaches and assistance throughout. The Moroccan guide was particularly good and gave us an excellent insight into his country. Most of the hotels were well situated although some were a bit far from the centre of town.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Comprehensive and well organised trip”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2017 1 Helpful Vote

We saw a lot of wonderful sights in the three countries and all the included entrances were excellent and well timed. It was a busy schedule but we had enough free time to do shopping, independent sightseeing or resting if we wished. The whole trip was well organised with no hitches. Recommended.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great vacation”
- SA, Australia Aug 2017 6 Helpful Votes

A very enjoyable holiday. Almost everything was perfect. We were particularly impressed with the smoothness of all transitions - from bus to hotels, to the various sites we visited and so on. Timing was spot on. Our Group was surprisingly small (only 7) and we were looked after extremely well. Our Italian guide for the bus component in Italy was extremely good - knowledgeable, caring and a sense of humour. Local guides were good too. The cruise ship (Celebrity Reflection) was comfortable and the food was great. Excursions were, as usual, rather expensive, but they were very well organised and we felt well looked after.

Only a couple of changes could be made. The hotel in Florence was nicely central but certainly not 3 star. And our ocean view cabin on the ship was badly placed near the front where we suffered a lot of early morning noise as we docked - hawsers, anchor chains and the engines. Partly our fault as we could have tried to change. The dining times on the ship were rather rigid too and though we were booked for flexible times, we couldn't seem to arrange that (the waiting list for this was too long, we were told) , so we ended up on a fixed time and our party of 7 could not get together.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A Holiday You Wish Wouldn't End”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2017 9 Helpful Votes View Photo
Trip: Bunnik Tour (BUN37200)

This holiday exceeded our expectations. It was the first time we had travelled on a group tour, as we usually do our own thing, so we were a little anxious. The small group guarantee by Bunnik was therefore attractive.

Well, we couldn't have hoped for a better group of people, tour director or bus driver. They were all fantastic!

Norway was amazing!!!!! A postcard on every turn in the road and this tour didn't leave anything out. It would be so hard to pick a favourite location or site as there are simply too many to choose from. I guess if we had to pick a favourite town in Norway it would be Bergen, such a picturesque city with great people, food, wine and scenery. Norway is expensive, but we knew that when we booked, but I must say not as expensive as I first thought. It all depends on what you are shopping for!

The Cruise on the Baltics with Holland America was also fantastic. We hadn't been on a cruise since our early 20's so again a little anxious. All anxiety disappeared from the moment we set foot on the ship. The ship staff couldn't be more obliging. The quality of the service and food on board was amazing. Though the ship (MS Zuiderdam) was a little older than some others it was still in good shape and very comfortable.

All the ports we visited were great. I think Tallinn (Estonia) and Stockholm were probably our favourites. We only booked tours in St Petersburg and did our own thing in all the other ports. We heard mixed reports on the tours being offered by the Holland America, it really depended on who you spoke to.

Overall I would recommend this tour to people who want an enjoyable, hassle free holiday. The pace is good, with only a few longish days in the itinerary. We had one of the best holidays we have ever had and thank Global Journeys and Bunnik Travel for putting this together for us. We will definitely be back for more!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Couldn't have been better.”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2017 7 Helpful Votes View Photo
Trip: Bunnik Tour (BUN37200)

Having always organised our own trips and never having done a tour in a bus with others, we were nervous. However from day one everything was excellent and kept getting better! We can't praise our tour guide Mat and the driver Emanuel too highly. They were professional but fun. Their knowledge of the areas was a major factor and the organisation for each day went as smoothly as clockwork. Mind you our group of 13 could take some of the credit!

The itinerary was beautifully planned. When you thought it couldn't get any better, it did. The accommodation was always in wonderful locations and the rooms spacious and comfortable, All meals were excellent. The unexpected inclusions and the variety of activities were amazing. We initially thought the price was reasonable but came to think it was excellent value. We were looked after right up to the moment of boarding the cruise ship.

This also applies to our pre trip booking. Yvonne was the epitome of patience and helpfulness. Thank you Yvonne and Bunnik / Global Journeys. I've been singing your praises since returning home. The photo attached shows just one of the fabulous views from our hotel room.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great holiday in Eastern Europe!”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2017 10 Helpful Votes

I travelled through six countries in Eastern Europe recently with a really great guide and sixteen other Aussies. All aspects of the trip - itinerary and arrangements - allowed the right combination of organised activities and time to explore. We could spend the entirety of our free days in art museums, or we could walk or shop. The tour group size encouraged positive interaction and cohesion, often everyone chose to eat together in the evenings. People were helpful and considerate: no one was habitually late or antisocial.

All the hotels were comfortable, and well-positioned close to public transport in larger cities, and right on the main square in the medieval town of Cesky Krumlov, which allowed us easy access to the whole town. The guides were generally knowledgeable and informative, but particularly our own tour guide was quietly considerate, capable and someone whose knowledge and judgment I grew to value very much.

The main cities we visited - Berlin, Warsaw, Kracow, Budapest, Vienna, Prague - were sensational, especially Vienna, but the travel days also incorporated stopping places that caught the imagination, like the sight of the ruined castle on a hill above the Danube at Durnstein in which Richard the Lionheart was imprisoned on his way back from the Crusades. Like Durnstein, our stops at Bratislava, Melk Abbey, Kutna Hora and other places added to the layers of history and culture available to us. The stay in Cesky Krumlov was like a country weekend in a medieval town.

I loved the bus travel, which allowed me to see geographical changes: the rivers, especially the Danube and Moldau, the Great Plain of Hungary, the vision of the High Tatra mountains in the distance, then up close. Overall, the tour was a huge success for me - lots of fun, but also comprehensive in its offerings of new knowledge and experiences.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Bunnik Trip”
- ACT, Australia May 2017 5 Helpful Votes

After many years of being independent travellers this was our first experience with group travel. We loved it for a variety of reasons including the great variety of activities covering both city and rural/parks locations - and varying from visiting churches to a pizza and gelato luncheon. We had an excellent guide for the land based travel and good quality accommodation and coach.

Bunnik took all the stress out of travelling between different cities with a great group of fellow travellers which added to the fun and a good balance between organised activities and free time.

As a swimmer the tour provided plenty of time and opportunities fro swimming around the Adriatic as well.

For the two weeks of land based touring Andre and the guide and Robert the driver were excellent - very informative and could not do enough for the travellers. a tribute to their efforts was that the tour group contributed a tip despite Bunnik already having made such a payment. Unfortunately the tour guide for the cruise based activities, Jan was not so good. Very laid back and the only time he showed any enthusiasm was when seeking a tip at the end of the cruise. Would not rate him.

Some of the city tours, particularly when visiting churches went into to much detail but overall the individual city/park guides were of a very high standard (particularly the guide in Split). We would definitely look at a Bunnik tour for future international travel.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wow what a trip!”
- TAS, Australia Apr 2017 5 Helpful Votes

Wow what a trip. Morocco was nothing like I imagined. I believe our local guide showed us the real Morocco and much more. A fascinating country and so varied. This part of the tour felt like an adventure. Using different modes of transport in this tour was a great idea, comfortable roomy bus travel, driving across the desert in 4wd drives, travelling across the Gibraltar Strait to Spain on a Tassie built ferry and the fast train rides.

The Spain part of the tour felt like a fabulous holiday. Our guide was so efficient and calm it was soothing and relaxing travelling with him. He showed us how to enjoy Spain, the food, the places and the people whilst imparting a wealth of knowledge to us. He also gave us great information about our after tour stay. The cooking sessions were brilliant but even better eating the results afterwards at our exclusive dining experiences.

I visited many places on this tour that I would never have found on my own. The unseen bonus of a tour like this is the people you meet that you never forget. I thoroughly enjoyed the Bunnik tour and would sign up for one again any day.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 59