Bunnik Reviews

51 verified Bunnik tour reviews from past clients of Global Journeys.

NSW, Australia
Jul 2018
1 Helpful Vote
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Firstly, Juliet of Global Journeys made me feel secure and took a lot of the worry out of the travel arrangements. Secondly, whether by good luck or fair judgement, Bunniks’ European Alpine was just what and where I needed to escape and experience. The itinerary as enhanced by Aleš our tour guide and Danny our coach driver made even the free time active and meaningfully so. This tour and added stay in Zurich meeting relative and friends capped a great Agosto away from the Aussie winter.
VIC, Australia
Jul 2018
1 Trip
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
The trip was excellent. Jemma was outstanding in her attention to the details we required and every request was quickly acted upon.
QLD, Australia
Jun 2018
1 Helpful Vote
2 Trips
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
An excellent tour with a good group of like-minded travellers of a similar age, and an interesting itinerary. The hotels were mostly of a good standard as were the included meals - which catered adequately for me as a vegetarian. Our tour guide Petr did a good job of keeping us informed and the local guides were mostly very good and informative. With a group of sixteen we had plenty of space to spread out on the coach.
WA, Australia
May 2018
4 Helpful Votes
3 Trips
“Scandinavian Discovery”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
The Bunnik Scandinavian Discovery Tour was a great mix of cities and wilderness of Sweden, Norway and Finland. I loved the experience of visiting the Arctic Circle and seeing the midnight sun, climbing the mountains and going through the tunnels (all in the bus of course!), the vast tracts of birch and pine trees, and the pristine waters of the fjords. The cities were enjoyable too with their old architecture, unique building styles and the modern, quintessential Scandinavian styled new developments. A fantastic blend. The group was a lovely mix of people and enjoyable company. The Tour leader was very professional, courteous, always had our well being at heart and entertaining. All that you could ask.

The Bunnik meals were (a) Sweden - very ordinary and the meatballs were certainly just the same as in any IKEA store in Australia. Not very enjoyable. (b) The open sandwiches at the fish stall in Stockholm were a surprise and an absolute delight, (c) the Cider farm lunch in Norway was wonderful country fare and most enjoyable (d) the farewell dinner meal in Denmark at 'Host' was sensational nouvelle cuisine. Loved it. I found the cost of food and drink unexpectedly high, especially in Norway (obviously I had not done my homework!).

The unusually warm summer weather had some hotel operators scrambling i.e. insufficient or no aircon and doonas on all beds instead of light covers. There was an eclectic mix of hotel styles from the hip and upmarket to the traditional ski resort style, all acceptable to me but not to everyone's taste.. Disappointed not to have more time in Denmark. It seemed to be rushed and an afterthought. Although notionally we had a few days, it really ended up being one late evening in Aalborg and 1.5 days in Copenhagen.
VIC, Australia
May 2018
1 Helpful Vote
“Jewels of Dalmatia, well paced friendly tour”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Have just returned from Jewels of Dalmatia tour with Bunnik. The tour had a maximum of 17 passengers and this made travelling very easy. Blaž the tour guide was excellent, he was very well informed and included special inclusions that made our tour that more personal. The accommodation was very good, usually close into town so you could go out and explore.

Enjoyed Dubrovnik, Plitvice lakes and the beautiful scenery of Slovenia. The tour group were friendly and sociable. The month of May is definitely the best time to travel. Very few crowds, weather was great, not too warm, good walking weather.

I would travel with Bunnik again, transfers went smoothly both arriving and departing. Yvonne at Global Journeys did an excellent job, especially with the transfer of hotels in Venice, I really appreciated not having to move hotels, as some people on our tour had to do. I wouldn’t hesitate booking with Global Journeys again.
NSW, Australia
Apr 2018
5 Helpful Votes
2 Trips
“Wonderful places but some logistical problems in Israel and Jordan”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Egypt and Jordan in particular had many memorable sites. Accommodation on the whole was pretty good; sometimes very good. Increased tourist numbers everywhere impacted on where we went and slowed down access sometimes. There were also some exceptionally long waits at a couple of airports which adversely affected the program. Our group numbered 19. As there were three countries and three guides, one rating can't apply as two of the guides were really good and one was not that great with organization and information, so I've had to average out.
Reply from Bunnik:
Dear Pam,

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments about your recent Egypt, Israel & Jordan tour. Even though we have corresponded with you regarding your Jordanian guide, I just wanted to take this opportunity of confirming that we've addressed the area of concern with our agent in Jordan. Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your time in the Middle East.

Warm regards, Julie Moran-Bunnik
Customer Care Manager


NSW, Australia
Apr 2018
9 Helpful Votes
4 Trips
“An enjoyable holiday”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Booking With Global Journeys
The trip itinerary is very comprehensive and varied. It includes lots of sightseeing as well as interesting activities which give more insight into Japanese culture. There are no optional activities and they are certainly not needed.

We stayed at each destination for 2 or 3 nights which means less packing and unpacking - an added bonus. We had just one Japanese guide for the whole trip. She was very organised, very knowledgeable and extremely helpful. She was able to give us good advice on how we could use any free time.
SA, Australia
Mar 2018
7 Helpful Votes
“Sri Lanka turns it on”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Bunnik Tours are certainly the people to travel with. This is our third trip with them and each time they have provided a detailed itinerary, great organisation with surprises and extras along the way.

It is certainly appreciated when you have a Sri Lankan tour guide (Priya) who had the depth of knowledge about his own country and who was caring and thoughtful to the sixteen passengers on the trip. The group was comprised of single women and married couples - we all got on really well together. The bus driver and the assistant were also very considerate and helpful.

One of the highlights, apart from the daily attractions, was learning the Sri Lankan song which we were able to perform in several hotels! One of the extras was being given a recipe book and a copy of the song at the end of the trip. Our only regret was that we missed seeing a leopard at Yala National Park. This was an excellent trip and we would recommend it to anyone.
QLD, Australia
Feb 2018
1 Helpful Vote
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
A full on itinerary packed with treats! The only negative I had was the less than average/acceptable accommodation and food provided at Kinabalu Pine Lodge. The only positive on that lodge was the view from my upstairs balcony.

Thoroughly enjoyed Sarawak, perhaps a little more that I did Sabah. All areas, including Brunei, had their own unique sights and highlights. I would recommend this tour and don't be put off by the amount of walking - there are occasions when you can sit back and relax and you can choose not to do all of the canopy treetop walks.

Of all the guides, I'd have to say our Sarawak guide/driver, Don, was just superb and proactive. He was also a good cook which we got to sample at a local village.
NSW, Australia
Sep 2017
7 Helpful Votes
2 Trips
“Southern Italy, Sicily and Malta”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Booking With Global Journeys
This was a very good tour but the Tour Director was very disappointing. She seldom gave local or weather info, or even stopped to go to the loo every couple of hours. The only thing she was adamant about was needing to sleep at night so don't call her - luckily none of us had a need to do so. The tour itself was fascinating and included many places we has never even heard of but we're nonetheless very much worth visiting. Of course we went to all the places we knew about. Both Bunnik Tours and Global Journeys are to be congratulated on a fantastic tour, it's just the we wouldn't use Elena again as a tour director if we had any choice. The local guides were all much better.
Reply from Bunnik:
Thank you for posting a review about your Southern Italy, Sicily & Malta tour. While it was great to hear that you enjoyed the tour we were concerned to read that you were not completely satisfied with your tour director, Elena. A tour director often sets the tone for the entire tour and our choice of guide is not taken lightly. We have taken your comments seriously and are monitoring all feedback that we receive relating to Elena. Encouragingly, we have already received several lots of feedback from others in your group and overwhelmingly it has been positive however we are investigating this further and will make any changes we feel are necessary to improve our clients' experience on tour. We were thrilled to read that you found the tour itself fascinating and enjoyed all of the places you visited. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments and for providing us with an opportunity to improve our service.


WA, Australia
Sep 2017
7 Helpful Votes
“Introduction to Dalmatia”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Booking With Global Journeys
The tour, Jewels of Dalmatia, was an excellent introduction to some of the great old cities and parts of of Hungary, Croatia, Bosnia Herzegovina, Montenegro and Slovenia, with a parting farewell in the unique old Italian city, Venice. The scenery on the 3500 km journey was breathtaking, be it the mountains, forests, plateaus or the coasts. The old cities were rich with history and glorious architectural styles, with an ambiance found only where there has been a rich background of various cultures over the centuries.

Our coach was modern and comfortable, our driver excellent. The tour guide was personable, knowledgeable had infinite patience and always had our welfare at heart. We didn't have the cities all to ourselves. It must be the 'go to' destination of Europe at the moment (Sept 2017) as we always had lost of other coaches plus a number of cruise ships for company. Sometimes it meant it took a while longer to access facilities, cafes and shops.

Overall, the tour was busy and would suit people who like to be on the go.
QLD, Australia
Aug 2017
3 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Wonderful holiday in Italy, Sicily and Malta”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
We loved travelling in a small group of only 20 people. Highlights were Rome, Sorrento, Amalfi Coast, Alberobello, Matera, Giardini Naxos and Malta. We absolutely loved Malta. Everything went smoothly, the accommodation was good and the tour guides were brilliant.
VIC, Australia
Aug 2017
9 Helpful Votes
“Wonderful holiday through Spain, Portugal and Morocco”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
We were looked after well throughout the tour, saw many wonderful places and had some free time to pursue extra interests or rest. I was not very happy with the Emirates flights as my seat allocations were the opposite of my requests and the planes were very crowded and dirty, especially the toilets, with poor in-flight service.

However the land trip itself was very comfortable and clean with good coaches and assistance throughout. The Moroccan guide was particularly good and gave us an excellent insight into his country. Most of the hotels were well situated although some were a bit far from the centre of town.
VIC, Australia
Aug 2017
2 Trips
“Comprehensive and well organised trip”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
We saw a lot of wonderful sights in the three countries and all the included entrances were excellent and well timed. It was a busy schedule but we had enough free time to do shopping, independent sightseeing or resting if we wished. The whole trip was well organised with no hitches. Recommended.
SA, Australia
Aug 2017
5 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
A very enjoyable holiday. Almost everything was perfect. We were particularly impressed with the smoothness of all transitions - from bus to hotels, to the various sites we visited and so on. Timing was spot on. Our Group was surprisingly small (only 7) and we were looked after extremely well. Our Italian guide for the bus component in Italy was extremely good - knowledgeable, caring and a sense of humour. Local guides were good too. The cruise ship (Celebrity Reflection) was comfortable and the food was great. Excursions were, as usual, rather expensive, but they were very well organised and we felt well looked after.

Only a couple of changes could be made. The hotel in Florence was nicely central but certainly not 3 star. And our ocean view cabin on the ship was badly placed near the front where we suffered a lot of early morning noise as we docked - hawsers, anchor chains and the engines. Partly our fault as we could have tried to change. The dining times on the ship were rather rigid too and though we were booked for flexible times, we couldn't seem to arrange that (the waiting list for this was too long, we were told) , so we ended up on a fixed time and our party of 7 could not get together.
NSW, Australia
Jun 2017
9 Helpful Votes
“A Holiday You Wish Wouldn't End”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Booking With Global Journeys
This holiday exceeded our expectations. It was the first time we had travelled on a group tour, as we usually do our own thing, so we were a little anxious. The small group guarantee by Bunnik was therefore attractive.
Well, we couldn't have hoped for a better group of people, tour director or bus driver. They were all fantastic!

Norway was amazing!!!!! A postcard on every turn in the road and this tour didn't leave anything out. It would be so hard to pick a favourite location or site as there are simply too many to choose from. I guess if we had to pick a favourite town in Norway it would be Bergen, such a picturesque city with great people, food, wine and scenery. Norway is expensive, but we knew that when we booked, but I must say not as expensive as I first thought. It all depends on what you are shopping for!

The Cruise on the Baltics with Holland America was also fantastic. We hadn't been on a cruise since our early 20's so again a little anxious. All anxiety disappeared from the moment we set foot on the ship. The ship staff couldn't be more obliging. The quality of the service and food on board was amazing. Though the ship (MS Zuiderdam) was a little older than some others it was still in good shape and very comfortable.

All the ports we visited were great. I think Tallinn (Estonia) and Stockholm were probably our favourites. We only booked tours in St Petersburg and did our own thing in all the other ports. We heard mixed reports on the tours being offered by the Holland America, it really depended on who you spoke to.

Overall I would recommend this tour to people who want an enjoyable, hassle free holiday. The pace is good, with only a few longish days in the itinerary. We had one of the best holidays we have ever had and thank Global Journeys and Bunnik Travel for putting this together for us. We will definitely be back for more!
NSW, Australia
Jun 2017
5 Helpful Votes
“Couldn't have been better.”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Booking With Global Journeys
Having always organised our own trips and never having done a tour in a bus with others, we were nervous. However from day one everything was excellent and kept getting better! We can't praise our tour guide Mat and the driver Emanuel too highly. They were professional but fun. Their knowledge of the areas was a major factor and the organisation for each day went as smoothly as clockwork. Mind you our group of 13 could take some of the credit!

The itinerary was beautifully planned. When you thought it couldn't get any better, it did. The accommodation was always in wonderful locations and the rooms spacious and comfortable, All meals were excellent. The unexpected inclusions and the variety of activities were amazing. We initially thought the price was reasonable but came to think it was excellent value. We were looked after right up to the moment of boarding the cruise ship.

This also applies to our pre trip booking. Yvonne was the epitome of patience and helpfulness. Thank you Yvonne and Bunnik / Global Journeys. I've been singing your praises since returning home. The photo attached shows just one of the fabulous views from our hotel room.
VIC, Australia
Jun 2017
7 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Great holiday in Eastern Europe!”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
I travelled through six countries in Eastern Europe recently with a really great guide and sixteen other Aussies. All aspects of the trip - itinerary and arrangements - allowed the right combination of organised activities and time to explore. We could spend the entirety of our free days in art museums, or we could walk or shop. The tour group size encouraged positive interaction and cohesion, often everyone chose to eat together in the evenings. People were helpful and considerate: no one was habitually late or antisocial.

All the hotels were comfortable, and well-positioned close to public transport in larger cities, and right on the main square in the medieval town of Cesky Krumlov, which allowed us easy access to the whole town. The guides were generally knowledgeable and informative, but particularly our own tour guide was quietly considerate, capable and someone whose knowledge and judgment I grew to value very much.

The main cities we visited - Berlin, Warsaw, Kracow, Budapest, Vienna, Prague - were sensational, especially Vienna, but the travel days also incorporated stopping places that caught the imagination, like the sight of the ruined castle on a hill above the Danube at Durnstein in which Richard the Lionheart was imprisoned on his way back from the Crusades. Like Durnstein, our stops at Bratislava, Melk Abbey, Kutna Hora and other places added to the layers of history and culture available to us. The stay in Cesky Krumlov was like a country weekend in a medieval town.

I loved the bus travel, which allowed me to see geographical changes: the rivers, especially the Danube and Moldau, the Great Plain of Hungary, the vision of the High Tatra mountains in the distance, then up close. Overall, the tour was a huge success for me - lots of fun, but also comprehensive in its offerings of new knowledge and experiences.
VIC, Australia
May 2017
6 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Overall we enjoyed our Northern Spain Portugal trip.”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Booking With Global Journeys
Our guide Fernando was awesome and often went out of his way to assist us. We were fortunate to have delightful travelling companions and everyone got on well . It is our opinion that the tour would work better in reverse and another day should be added to Madrid. There was just not enough time to see all that Madrid had to offer. Reversing the tour would mean some half day tours would be in the morning instead of the afternoon, particularly Evora. It was a very hot day and an afternoon walking tour was extremely unpleasant.

The accommodation in Madrid at the Sterling Hotel was way, way below standard. The room allocated to my husband and myself barely fitted a double bed ( not queen), there was no space for luggage, the bathroom was sub standard and the breakfast was the worst we had on the tour. (I tried to put my complaints on the Bunnik website but was unable to do it.) (GJ: That's OK Bruce & Pat, we'll pas them on.)
Reply from Bunnik:
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed having Fernando as your guide as well as having great travelling companions. I have passed on your comments to our Product Team for consideration as they plan for next season's program however I am pleased to advise that we are no longer using the Sterling Hotel in Madrid. During your time in Madrid a Congress was being held which meant that we needed to use an alternative property to the usual one we stay at. I do most sincerely apologise for any inconvenience you experienced as a result of your stay there. Thank you again for sharing your tour experience and we hope to welcome you back again soon!


VIC, Australia
May 2017
1 Helpful Vote
1 Trip
“Our first organised tour”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Would definitely book through Global Journeys again and would consider another Bunnik tour. The highlight for us was Northern Spain as the scenery was spectacular and wonderful towns and villages. We were a bit disappointed with the Algarve region as we didn't think we saw the best of this area or had enough options to explore on our own. Would have liked another day or two in Madrid. Overall though the tour was fantastic.

Results 1-20 of 51  

Back to top