Avalon River Cruise Reviews

Avalon
4.7 out of 5
431 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Avalon. Every review has been verified.

     
“Excellent cruise”
- VIC, Australia Jul 2019

Excellent tour. Highly recommended. Great scenery. Great excursions. Great food, wine and entertainment. Excellent cruise director, cabin staff and waiters.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“8 Day Romantic Rhine Cruise”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019

We were looking for a relaxing pre-home trip after having travelled on the Trans-Siberian train trip from Japan to St Petersburg for 4 weeks. We found this Rhine cruise to be surprisingly active and a lot of fun, in a "have a look at each town and city along the way and get out and see everything", kind of way. The food on board was excellent, rooms were well set out and regularly serviced by some really diligent and committed staff. The tour director knew exactly what she was on about and had things organised to the nth degree. Wait staff were also very friendly and very keen to see to our every request.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Our ship was a joy to be on”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

We had high expectations as several of our friends had done this and similar cruises and to our delight it lived up to the expectations. Our ship the Avalon Tranquility II was a joy to be on, staterooms were great as was the crew, food and entertainment. The days were filled with exciting new places to see and explore. We would happily return to do another cruise on a different waterway with Avalon. People at Global Journeys were great to deal with, very professional and kept us informed throughout the whole experience will definitely use them again.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“The lights of Budapest to the palaces of Prague”
- SA, Australia Jun 2019

Travelling from Budapest to Prague with Avalon Waterways via the Danube was a memorable experience. Our ship was the Avalon Passion built in 2016. The ship was clean and comfortable and the entire crew were friendly, polite and helpful and all spoke English to a competent level.

Our cruise director Bram held regular information sessions to keep us informed of what was in store for us the next day. The atmosphere aboard ship was relaxed with no need to wear formal dress for meals and guests were allowed to relax in the lounge, on the sun deck or in their cabins as they wished. We were very well fed with a wide variety to choose from for breakfast and several choices for lunch and dinner with the menu changing each day depending on the country we were travelling through.

At each stop along the way there were local guides on hand to show us the sights, with coaches included where necessary, and many optional tours available at reasonable prices. I can personally recommend the Hungarian wine tour, the Vienna food tour and the Prague dinner and folk show (a bit of a theme there). Stops on the cruise included Bratislava, Vienna, Durnstein, Melk, Linz , Passau and Regensburg.

My fellow passengers were a mixture of Australians, New Zealanders, Americans, Canadians, Chileans, Indians and other cultures. Among those I was able to share a meal and/or drink with were a Canadian fireman, an ex NFL player wearing a Super Bowl ring, a US attorney, a former miss Australia and other interesting fellow travellers.

Thanks to Hannah from Global Journeys for arranging my booking and keeping me informed when things were due both to and by me and overall making the process simple.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Enjoyabe cruises on Rhone & Rhine Rivers”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019

Avalon Waterways run great river cruises. The Rhone River cruise was great. Poetry II ship is a lovely vessel, our suite was very comfortable, staff were really good. Excursions on shore were well organised. Food was prepared well, we enjoyed the panorama lounge to have lunches and dinners to watch the river go by.

The Rhine River cruise was good. Expression ship a bit larger and slightly less performance of crew and staff. Great scenery on both cruises. Would recommend Avalon for any cruising in Europe. We really enjoyed our time on the rivers.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful cruise through Provence and Burgundy!”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

I have booked with Global Journeys before and I highly commend Georgie for her professionalism in assisting me to plan our Avalon Waterways Cruise and flights. Our trip was faultless with all flights, connections, transfers and meeting points working out perfectly.

The Avalon cruise met our expectations and more. Our cruise host Gayle was warm and welcoming and carried out her role with fantastic organisational skill. Our cabin was spacious and comfortable with the wide sliding windows affording wonderful views as we glided along the Rhone and Saone Rivers in southern France.

Freedom of choice for meals, seating and optional shore excursions allowed for flexibility and an opportunity to meet and mix with fellow passengers. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience - exceptional dining, good onboard entertainment and interesting land tours - a highly recommended French River Cruise!

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Gorgeous little towns along the Rhine”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

Pretty towns with decorated stores everywhere. A great variety of quality keepsakes instead of the usual stuff. Had plenty of time to explore the town or stop for coffee and cake. Townfolk warm and welcoming and good sense of humour. Wear good walking shoes as most streets have the original cobble stones. Avalon staff were thoughtful and professional. Food on the ship was fantastic and changed each day.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Affordable luxury”
- New Zealand Jun 2019

We were pleasantly surprised when we booked online and found that we were allocated our personal travel agent. This made the process really easy and pleasant. Our ship, the Avalon Passion, was new and offered comfort beyond our expectations. All staff were knowledgeable, courteous and helpful. Our fellow passengers were friendly and many made interesting table companions.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“An excellent experience”
- TAS, Australia May 2019

The whole experience was excellent. The help and communication I received from Yvonne Brooks of Global Journeys was first class.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“River cruise delight”
- VIC, Australia May 2019 4 Helpful Votes

We are extremely happy to leave some feedback about our recent Avalon River Cruise from Budapest to Amsterdam. The program was first class as was every aspect of the service. Great, knowledgeable and very friendly staff. They went well beyond what we'd expect to make the journey so special. Our cruise director was brilliant and so entertaining.

Avalon made sure every little detail was addressed and this was confirmed when we discussed issues with travellers who were cruising with other companies. It was relaxing yet very special and the overwhelming feel was of that of pure satisfaction. I only wish I had the will power to resist the food!

This is not our first cruise but I would certainly recommend Avalon to anyone considering cruising.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Another great trip”
- VIC, Australia Apr 2019

I was a bit unlucky with the weather but it did not stop me having a great time. Especially seeing the tulips which was my main reason for taking this river cruise. I really enjoyed the trip, my accommodation was excellent (even if I was at the end of the corridor) the staff were excellent as usual. Food, wine and entertainment were very good, as was the organisation.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“A tip toe through the tulips ”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019

We booked this Tulip Time Cruise because my husband is a keen gardener and thought we would be gliding down the rivers of Holland and Belgium seeing endless fields of tulips. Unfortunately this was not the case and the only opportunity to see tulips was the included visit to Keukenhof Gardens. In fact, we did not see much of the countryside at all as the boat sailed at night except for 2 afternoons towards the end. This was very disappointing and rather disturbing sleep wise.

The cities we visited were all lovely with beautiful old buildings we don't have in Australia but I would have liked to see the little towns along the river too. The boat was nice and well appointed, the staff friendly and very helpful and of course the food was good with a French chef, maybe a little bit too fancy as only the French do.

There was a mix of nationalities on board, the majority of passengers being American, Australian, and English. Everyone seemed to get along. We had a few showery days and it got unseasonably cold for the last few days but overall the weather was as expected. We were disappointed with the amount of entertainment on board... there was only a few nights when anything was on. They were good acts but we were expecting more local acts.

We booked the trip with Jemma and as usual it was easy and everything went as planned. Thanks Global Journeys once again.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“River Cruise through France”
- VIC, Australia Apr 2019

Well organised, all staff gave their all, really outstanding service, the rooms, although compact, were well appointed and had everything you could need. The large panorama windows a definite advantage.

The one disappointment was the food, we were in France in Spring with superb fresh fruit, strawberries, raspberries, apples and fresh crusty bread in abundance at every port however not on the menu. Roast spring lamb, or freshly made traditional French onion soup or apple tart with fresh Normandy cream would have been nice, not hard or expensive but not available. We purchased our own at each of the stops.

The food was well prepared, often with a reconstructed presentation, Eastern European in style - it missed the mark in what it could have been delivering, that is fresh, provincial French food. Unfortunately, if you like quality cafe coffee you will also need to buy it onshore.

Overall the cruise was enjoyable and to be recommended, just buy from the local market or boulangerie when you stop for the day.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing river cruise of Vietnam and Cambodia”
- New Zealand Mar 2019 View Photo

This tour by Avalon was absolutely amazing. There were only twelve people in our group so a boat that has 18 cabins was only partially filled. How luxurious is that.

Our Cruise Director, Quang, is a credit to Avalon’s staffing, his infectious personality was a hit with all on the trip. Our Vietnam guide, Chang, was also an extremely cheerful and knowledgeable man. Our guide for Cambodia, Chantha, was an amazing guy who regaled us with his history knowledge and had us in fits of laughter every day especially when on the bus microphone. We cannot speak highly enough of these 3 guys.

All of the boat staff were extremely accommodating in every way, nothing was too much trouble, they were faultless.

We were very impressed that there were daily excursions, on many days more than one. The variety on offer meant you were never left wondering what to do each day. Meals on board were outstanding with numerous course choices every mealtime, given there were only 12 of us.

This was our second Avalon river cruise and would highly recommend them.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Leisurely cruise on the Mekong”
- WA, Australia Feb 2019 View Photo

Fantastic trip starting in Ho Chi Minh staying in the opulent The Reverie Saigon which stepped straight onto the boulevard. New Year lights and interesting history, although maybe too war orientated.

Cruise on the Avalon Saigon was better than expected. Great cabin, exceptional food and terrific crew made the journey very relaxing. Our tour director, Khan, was very efficient and personable and his story reflected Vietnam’s struggles and cemented what we had been learning on the many day tours. Both Tiem and Pharott were very instructional guides in Vietnam and Cambodia.

Great seeing the river and all its agricultural and aquaculture produce. Tour culminated in Siem Reap and the best was left to last because the temples of Angkor are absolutely amazing. The variety and the intricacy of these ruins are better than any photo depicts.

Highly recommend this trip to anybody. All costs are included so there are no hidden surprises. People make any holiday memorable and the 20 people on board plus the crew and tour directors made this one supremely enjoyable. Thanks to a Hannah from Global Journeys for once again making this holiday seamless and stress free and also obtaining a late discount on initial price.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Christmas markets in Europe”
- New Zealand Dec 2018

Great trip met some really nice people. The ship was well presented apart from a rip in our cabin carpet.

Our trip was disrupted due to the shootings at Strasbourg Christmas Market, so that was by-passed but Avalon recovered well and provided alternative markets to visit.

Staff, particularly the waiting staff, were very good and the cabin attendant made up the room every day so that it sparkled.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Great Way to Experience Christmas Markets”
- WA, Australia Dec 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

This short cruise was a great way to start our Christmas European holiday with delicious food, highlighting local produce, and a reasonable wine list with meals. Our cabin was spacious, well designed along Avalon’s panoramic window principles and had the most comfortable bed with zero partner disturbance.

The staff were fine but a little hit and miss in terms of quality and friendly service. Certainly our cruise director needed to be more present, more light humoured and more personable. Given the tragic events in Strasbourg we understood and appreciated the urgent changes to our schedules along the way.

Most excursions were well done with informative local guides but having to spend extra time in Basel was a disappointment.

We both appreciated the friendly, timely and comprehensive service from Juliet from Global Journeys and intend to book through her again.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“A truncated river cruise”
- NSW , Australia Oct 2018 5 Helpful Votes

It was not the fault of Avalon that there was insufficient water in the Danube to allow us to do the whole cruise we had booked to do. However, Tony, our tour leader and Avalon worked very hard to make our experience enjoyable and memorable. We were able to visit every advertised port, other than Nuremberg, plus we visited Linz and for a fee, a bus excursion to Bratislava was offered, which we did and enjoyed very much. The food provided on our ship was of exceptional quality and the staff serving us more than met our expectations.

It was disappointing, to us, that the mix of passengers on the ship was limited with the vast majority being from the US. We like to meet people from many different nations but on this occasion we were limited to mostly the USA, followed by Canada, some from the Philippines, a few from Hong Kong and we made up two of only three Australians on board.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“River cruise in France - treated like royalty!”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018 2 Helpful Votes

What a way to see the highlights of the French countryside! Pampered by the crew who attend to your every need. Relaxing in style, whether it be your room, the lounge or the dining room. The food was delicious! The tours were fantastic and went very smoothly as everything was so well organised! Highlights were Versailles, the French countryside and of course the Eiffel Tower. Would highly recommend this river cruise.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Just terrific, exceeded our expectations ”
- WA, Australia Sep 2018 1 Helpful Vote

Our expectations were reasonably high but this trip exceeded them all. Jemma at Global Journeys made the booking process a breeze and Avalon delivered on all occasions. The staff were exceptional, Nico, the Tour Manager, couldn't have been more accommodating or well organised. I have no problem in recommending this cruise.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 431