Avalon Reviews

389 verified Avalon river cruise reviews from past clients of Global Journeys.

NSW, Australia
Jul 2018
3 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Big Disappointment ”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Only spent 7 nights on cruise ship, then was told that the cruise could not continue due to low water levels on the Danube and the drought in Europe. I believe that Avalon Waterways would have been aware of this prior to our departure therefore giving us the option to opt out. We were given the option to leave the cruise after 7 days but that would have been costly for a lot of people and a great inconvenience as we had other airfares and accommodation booked for after the cruise.

We did enjoy the 7 nights of cruising but not happy with the long bus trips used to fulfil the rest of the programme. Avalon did do a wonderful job to put plan B into action but not the holiday we were after. River cruises need to be thoroughly invested before booking as we believe this has happened on a number of occasions, although no mention of this from agents etc. Had no problem booking with Global Journeys, thank you Hannah.
NSW, Australia
Jul 2018
1 Trip
“European cruise”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Great holiday. Good dealing with Global Journeys and Juliet was very helpful and catered to all my needs. Everything went smoothly without any problems. Would definitely use Global Journeys for future holidays.
QLD, Australia
Jul 2018
“Relax Romantic Rhine river cruise”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
What a way to finish a trip of a life time! We had spent the previous 4 weeks on coach and train tours so this river cruise was the perfect way to end our holiday! The Avalon team on the ship were so good - the ship and cabins were kept spotless, the food was delicious, city tours were informative, the sights amazing not to mention the pure pleasure of being able to lay in bed and watch the beautiful countryside glide by! A big thank you to Yvonne who found and suggested this cruise that fitted in nicely with our other tours - it was the perfect end to our holiday!
VIC, Australia
Jun 2018
1 Trip
“An excellent insight into Vietnam, Cambodia and the Mekong river”
Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Guide
Pace
Booking With Global Journeys
The highlight of this holiday was the exceptional quality of all the staff who provided service throughout this trip. The other aspect that was excellent was the out of the way places that going on the Mekong river enabled us to go to. We certainly had many highlights on this tour and I would recommend it to anyone.
QLD, Australia
Jun 2018
2 Trips
“Avalon boat cruise up the Rhine”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
We had a great time, even though there was trouble in the channel with it being blocked by another ship. Avalon overcame the problem by changing us to another one of their ships on the other side of the blockage, so we could continue our trip, if we had gone with a smaller company this would not have been possible. Staff were very good and food was great, the site seeing was good but I would have preferred to stop longer in some ports.
New Zealand
Jun 2018
1 Helpful Vote
1 Trip
“Wonderful trip from Budapest to Amsterdam”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
We had a wonderful experience on board the Illumination. Maria was an amazing cruise director. The staff were all very pleasant and went out of their way to please. One of our group had food allergies and they always met her requirements and in fact always remembered. We would recommend this way to travel to all our friends. We really enjoyed the small town experiences but the big cities had their points of interest as well. Included sightseeing was always led by excellent guides.
QLD, Australia
Jun 2018
2 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Relaxing trip down the Rhine”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
The river cruise with Avalon was lovely. Coming from a sea cruise with 2000 people to the small river cruise of 120 people was great. So much more intimate and the cruise director (Isobel) really looked after everyone like we were all family.
New Zealand
Jun 2018
1 Helpful Vote
1 Trip
“An easy way to enjoy 3 capital cities”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Overall the accommodation was excellent but the Hilton in Prague disappointing due to location, too busy & very noisy due to hotel alterations being done - the noise was such you could not stay in your room during the day. Also the trip to Nuremberg was very disappointing.
NT, Australia
Jun 2018
5 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“A Wonderful Experience”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Every aspect of the trip was outstanding. The ship was immaculate; the crew, from the Captain down, were efficient, friendly and courteous, particularly those with whom we were in daily contact in the dining room, lounge and cabins - they made us feel as though it was a real pleasure for them to serve us. The Cruise Director, Tony, was knowledgeable, entertaining and approachable; the local guides for each excursion were well chosen and effective.

Dining room menus were varied and interesting and the food was attractively presented. Wines provided with lunch and dinner were of good quality and were usually sourced from the region through which were travelling. Included and optional shore excursions provided the opportunity to obtain as good an impression of the local area as was possible in the time available. Onboard accommodation, both cabin and public areas, was well designed and immaculately maintained. The only thing missing which would have enhanced our experience was a large wall map in, e.g, the lobby, that would have enabled us to trace the journey from start to finish.
NSW, Australia
May 2018
3 Trips
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
No complaints. It was a bit isolating to be 20 years younger than most of the passengers, but that can't be helped.
NSW, Australia
May 2018
1 Helpful Vote
1 Trip
“Romantic Rhine”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
We had a wonderful time travelling the Rhine. Our ship was a joy to stay on. The cabin was small but we were only in it to shower and sleep after busy exciting days ashore. Avalon were a great company to travel with, supportive and helpful. The crew were always willing to ensure we experienced a happy holiday.
New Zealand
May 2018
1 Trip
“Great short cruise - next time the whole thing!”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
From the time we first contacted Leanne at Global Journeys right through to the last day, the whole cruise was magic. The only thing I would add was that on the final day it sort of fizzled out in the hotel... I realise that people coming off the cruise have planes to catch etc. but it would have been nice to wrap up the cruise with a final dinner at the hotel.
NSW, Australia
May 2018
2 Helpful Votes
2 Trips
“A busy yet well organised holiday on the Danube River.”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
This river cruise base cost included many off shore excursions. However, to get maximum value, the extra off shore activities are an extra cost. This needs to be taken into account when working out the total cost of the trip, but does add flexibility. Avalon is clearly trying to be the best company to travel with on the waterways of Europe. This is our second cruise with this group and we will be booking our next trip with them.
QLD, Australia
May 2018
3 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Fantastic European River Cruise”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Loved every minute of my river cruise, cabin was great, food & wine were excellent. Enjoyed the variety of excursions and the towns visited. Cruise Director Isabel was wonderful. I am a solo traveller and was made to feel very welcome onboard. Met other solo travellers who hopefully will keep in contact. Would definitely recommend a river cruise and in particular Avalon. Best holiday of my life!!!!!
QLD,
Apr 2018
1 Helpful Vote
1 Trip
“Eastern European Adventure ”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
We had an absolutely fabulous time cruising through Eastern Europe. The Avalon Passion is the newest ship in the fleet and it is outstanding. Our stateroom was extremely comfortable and luxurious, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the daily tours were very informative and well planned. This is the second time we have booked through Global Journeys and we will definitely use them again.
NSW, Australia
Mar 2018
1 Trip
“Family holiday”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
It was an excellent holiday for the family. The food and services on the boat were superb. We all put on weight, of course. The excursions were mostly well organised. The Avalon crew was very professional and friendly. Would recommend this trip without reservation.
QLD, Australia
Dec 2017
3 Helpful Votes
“A fabulous Christmas cruise on the Danube! ”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
This was my first river cruise even though I had been on many ocean cruises. It was a completely different experience with only 152 people onboard and I really enjoyed it. Our cruise director, Tony, was excellent and we had some wonderful entertainment onboard. The accommodation on Sapphire deck with a bed facing panoramic windows was very comfortable and tastefully decorated.

There were so many lovely stops on this cruise but one memorable experience was a magical snowy day tour in Cesky Krumlov in the Czech Republic. I would recommend staying a couple of extra days in Vienna and an extra day or two in Prague as there is lots to see in those two beautiful cities. My favourite Christmas markets were the ones at the Rathaus in Vienna and in Nuremberg.

Thank you to Yvonne at Global Journeys and to Avalon for making this such a wonderful Christmas holiday!
NSW, Australia
Nov 2017
3 Helpful Votes
“Our wonderful Rhine adventure”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
My adult daughter and I had 7 wonderful nights aboard Imagery II. From first boarding until we left everything and everyone was just amazing. Our cruise director made sure we all knew what was happening every day and even made sure we didn't get hit by bicycles on our many excursions ashore. The Executive Chef and his team made sure we were well fed at all times, providing both healthy and not so healthy choices for each meal - we were in heaven.

Our friendly waitstaff made our meals, particularly dinner, very enjoyable and relaxing. Out wonderful cabin steward spoilt us every morning with a tidy of our room and also made an elephant with the towels (very talented). And lets not forget the Captain and his crew. We met some very lovely people, which helped make the cruise all the more special. I will definitely be taking another Avalon cruise at some time. Our agent at Global Journeys made our wonderful holiday very special. Thank you so much.
Queensland, Australia
Oct 2017
2 Helpful Votes
“Black Sea to North Sea: A Wonderful Adventure Abroad”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
The "Avalon Passion" is a beautiful and comfortable ship. We were delighted with our cabin, the extremely comfortable bed, and the large ensuite. Storage space was more than adequate. The crew were excellent. We loved their friendliness and appreciated their willingness to meet our every need. Excursions were very good and very efficiently managed by the cruise director. We purchased several additional tours, and they were all very good value for money. We would love to repeat the cruise some time in the future. However, affordability will always be a factor that we will need to consider.
WA, Australia
Oct 2017
22 Helpful Votes
“River cruising at its best”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
As we had never been on a river cruise before and only heard from others who had done this, we were unsure what we would find. Well the only word to describe it is luxury. The Imagery II we were lucky to get on, was in its second season, and wow what an experience. Capt Marian was a very friendly Host.

We were on the top floor for accommodation, it was spacious and beautiful, sitting at our table and chairs with the sliding door opened with a drink, sailing down the Rhine was very relaxing, our steward Jerry gave us a beautiful smile every day. The food was never boring, each region you visited the wine and food reflected this.

The tour director provided all information twice daily to us , once by a daily newsletter, always found on your bed after dinner and Vlads talk each evening before dinner. All places we visited they provided excellent local guides, optional tours were fairly priced and interesting. All we can say is this is our new way of holidaying.

Results 1-20 of 389  
Global Journeys Travel Industry Associations & Awards

Back to top