APT Tour & Cruise Reviews

APT
4.7 out of 5
292 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with APT. Every review has been verified.

     
“Great tour of New Zealand”
- WA, Australia Mar 2019

It was a great tour and we saw a lot of NZ. Our bus drivers Reece (North Island) and Brownie (South Island) were very polite and Brownie (Maori) gave us an informative and humourous insight into his childhood and that of his father's and grandfather's. Annalise our Tour Director was the best, had such a wealth of knowledge.

Most of the accommodation was good but 3 hotels did not have air conditioning and because NZ was having an Indian Summer it was not comfortable for sleeping. We had great weather except on the last day when it rained and we missed seeing Mt. Cook. The meals were all awesome.

The overnight cruise was a highlight for us and of course so was the extra excursion (which everyone should do) taking a helicopter ride on Franz Josef Glacier. New Zealand is a spectacular country, people are so nice. Would recommend this trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful bucket list trip!”
- NSW, Australia Dec 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

We did the 12 Days of Christmas Tour with APT, this was our first time doing this type of tour and it did not disappoint! It was a very well organised, stress free trip, both the Tour Director (Linda) and our Coach Driver (Lenny) were wonderful, which really made the whole tour perfect. Every hotel and activity was prepared and it was a lovely experience for a first timer. It may seem like a lot of money but it was worth every cent! Wouldn’t hesitate to do another APT Tour again!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A great trip!”
- VIC, Australia Nov 2018 5 Helpful Votes

We booked with Yvonne of Global Journeys. Everything was worry free and Yvonne promptly dealt with any questions and was so easy to deal with. When, 10 days out, we were notified that APT needed to change the itinerary because of low water levels in the Danube and Rhine rivers Yvonne was immediately in contact.

We decided to go on the revised itinerary and we were not disappointed!

APT went to great lengths to ensure we enjoyed a holiday like no other. The Majestic Imperator was an absolute highlight, four hours of regal luxury from Budapest to Vienna was just bliss. The private charter flight to Rotterdam was another highlight and the unique voyage through The Netherlands and Belgium was full of delightful stops at places like Kinderdyke and Willemstad.

Apparently this itinerary was a first for APT, maybe one they should repeat. We both returned home relaxed, maybe a kilo or two heavier. We thoroughly recommend Global Journeys and APT.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Amsterdam to Budapest, when the rivers are LOW”
- New Zealand Oct 2018 33 Helpful Votes

We booked our APT Europe River Cruise with Global Journeys, we upgraded flights and had a few changes, nothing was a problem and communication was excellent. We planned to be overseas for two months and Global Journeys were able to schedule everything to suit. Recommended.

We arrived at the ship early in the day and the crew welcomed us and were happy to store our baggage until loading at 3pm. The welcome when we boarded was impressive as we were personally escorted to our room and advised of all the facilities. We were advised the first night that there were concerns about the river levels being at record low levels. This proved to be the case and the authorities would not allow the cruise ships to pass through sections of the Rhine or Danube. APT through their people on board kept us fully informed of the day to day situation, which was totally out of their control, and provided alternative transport and accommodation where necessary.

In our case we spent three nights in top class hotels. I do not think we missed a great deal on the river and probably visited as many castle/churches, towns as was expected. APT were excellent at all levels, accommodation, meals, staff and organising tours. All the staff were very professional with a sense of humour. I would rate this company very highly, thanks for looking after us all.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“12 Day Tasmanian Tour”
- SA, Australia Oct 2018

We had a fantastic trip with 24 other passengers in a large coach which enabled plenty of room. APT do an excellent tour and our accommodation and food was great, plus the itinerary was excellent. Our tour guide Jenny was very informative and looked after us well. Ron, our coach driver was also fantastic. Everyone got along well and nobody kept anyone waiting. Lots of hugs at the end which symbolises a great trip. Many highlights along the way and to do over 2.5 thousand kilometres we covered a lot of Tasmania in a short time. Very happy with Global Journeys and would use them again when we hope to travel perhaps in 2020.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fascinating journey through the former Eastern Bloc of Europe”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2018 1 Helpful Vote

This trip had a focus on the fascinating recent history of these countries including the fall of Communism, however it also covered the highlights of medieval and imperial history and sights of the region. It was our first APT trip, and despite concerns of lots of retirees, the group ended up being a good mix of like minded travellers in their 40s to 60s. Both the tour director Nick and all of the local guides were excellent - knowledgeable and friendly. Despite the need to change our initial plans due to circumstances out of our control, Juliet of Global Journeys was constantly helpful and supportive. We would book with both Global Journeys and APT again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Relaxed river cruising in warm and friendly Cambodia & Vietnam”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018 3 Helpful Votes

First impression in Cambodia is the warm and friendly people. In Siem Reap visiting the temples is a snack by tuk tuk. Angkor Wat and surrounding monuments are special highlights providing a glimpse of past civilisations. The Sofitel Siem Reap is a beautiful retreat with top class facilities and wonderful staff. The five hour coach trip from Siem Reap to the cruise ship allowed us to take in the country side and way of life. The 8 day river cruise was beyond expectations. The ship was well appointed and spacious, the staff from captain, hotel manager through to ship's crew and tour guides ensured we were well looked after. Nothing was left to chance regarding safety and comfort. A highlight was the special Luke Nguyen - a must.

Shore visits to villages, markets and temples provided a real insight into the way of life of the locals who have been subjected to a horrific history over the past 80 years but who willingly welcomed us into their homes. The Mekong River is massive, well beyond our expectations; the life blood for millions of people in four countries. APT do a great job with this cruise. It is both an educational and very relaxing way to see the region. As usual Georgie at Global Journeys did an excellent job arranging all the details. In an area where things can easily go wrong there was not one hiccup.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Comprehensive tour of Vietnam and Cambodia”
- New Zealand Sep 2018

This escorted tour took us to many of the key historical locations and scenic wonders of the former French Indochina region. From the bustle of Saigon and nearby war-time tunnels at Cu Chi to Da Nang and its famed China Beach, Hoi An and Hue and on to Hanoi with its Ho Chi Minh mausoleum and the beautiful Halong bay limestone formations, fish farms and cultured pearl production. In Cambodia, the extensive Angkor temples were so impressive before experiencing life along the mighty Mekong River, aboard the beautiful R V Amalotus to the thriving capital Phnom Penh with its nearby "killing fields" memorial site. Finally we had the chance to see life in the great Mekong Delta region.

Highlights were many including Saigon; the many thousands of motor bikes in their organised chaos, the massive Ben Thanh market, the Palaces and parks. Hoi An; the ancient town, festival, and farming communities. Hanoi; visit to the Ho Chi Minh mausoleum and Hoa Lo Prison.

The one lowlight: was the dinner at the Sofitel Legend where we were served under cooked chicken at the "special dinner". Halong Bay; sadly the rain spoiled this part of the tour, however the fish farms and pearl culturing were impressive. Siem Reap; Angkor Wat at sunrise, and Khmer Cooking class. Phnom Penh; The Killing Fields, though sombre was worth the visit and the Tuk-Tuk ride was a great experience. Tan Chau; the visit to the APT supported village on Evergreen Island was magical.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“21 Day Best of Vietnam & Cambodia”
- New Zealand Sep 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Tana our tour guide throughout was just great and all the local guides were fabulous as well. The only meal we did not really enjoy was the dinner put on by the Sofitel Hotel in Hanoi. It was what we would call 'below average'. Also we were disappointed with the breakfast on the Singapore Airlines flight, Singapore to Auckland. The flight attendant said they had run out of omelettes so she handed us some awful Asian meal which had an awful smell. We could not eat it. Those flight attendants were not the usual most friendly people.

The hotel in Hoi An was nice but the bathroom set up was rather odd. With a curved shower tiled wall that leaked into the toilet area, a small toilet room with a glass door, the privacy was rather poor. The hotels were of a very high standard and the 2 night cruise on Halong Bay was great. The week long river cruise was fabulous too. Meals were all fabulous apart from the Hanoi Hotel one I mentioned. A great trip thank you.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“APT Budapest to Amsterdam”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2018 8 Helpful Votes

Absolutely fabulous cruise under the the direction of Daniela Obermeir on board AMA Reina & Venita, couldn't find a fault. One of the most magnificent holidays we have had, if not the best. Lots of laughs with wonderful food and organisation. Will certainly travel with APT again.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Royal Tasman Tour around Tasmania”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Once again APT put a really comprehensive tour together - we feel as though we really saw Tasmania. As usual the accommodation was excellent, and the travel arrangements were seamless. Beautiful scenery, wonderful dinners, good company and a cheerful atmosphere - we would never have seen so much or learned so much about Tasmania if we had done it ourselves. Everything from spring flowers to spring snow - we saw it all - and the wildlife was lovely at Cradle Mountain. Thank you Yvonne for arranging our trip through Global Journeys - we are looking forward to our Baltic cruise next year!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic Canada and Alaska Experience”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

We thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful APT tour. The booking process with Georgie from Global Journeys was very easy and the communication excellent. The tour presented some beautiful scenery and some wonderful experiences. The early snow at Lake Louise was a highlight! We loved the Rocky Mountaineer's great service, great food and spectacular scenery. The Fairmont accommodation at Jasper, Lake Louise and Banff in particular lived up to their icon status.

The coach tour with driver Vic was very enjoyable with ample refreshment stops and opportunities to take in the atmosphere and scenery. Tour leader Rusty was exceptionally well organised, provided excellent support and a very knowledgeable commentary throughout the tour. The Holland America cruise was smooth with great dining, shore and entertainment experiences. The only disappointment was the inability to visit Glacier Bay due to an on-board medical emergency. Whilst this was disappointing we fully understand why this decision was taken and would have appreciated this action had the "boot been on the other foot". Overall this was a wonderful coach, rail and cruise holiday experience to two very beautiful countries presented in a very enjoyable way.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Stunning Africa!!!!”
- WA, Australia Aug 2018 View Photo

Amazing Classic African Safari, 26 days of awesome moments. APT have excelled again with this tour. The beautiful accommodation, the excellent itinerary, the fabulous guides and the sensational memories really make this a true trip of a lifetime. Every detail was taken care of, even when some quick changes needed to be made. The flexibility and diversity of the African tours allowed for guests to join in or leave and continue on other tours with such ease. Apart from missing those who left, the transition was flawless.

We have been so enriched by all the different facets of South and East Africa, now imprinted on our souls. Could not imagine how this tour could be improved, just perfect. When dealing with the wonders of nature you have to go with the flow and APT are definitely experts at accommodating. Congratulations once again for an amazing experience, we will definitely continue our relationship with the best tour company in Australia.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“APT St Petersburg to Moscow Russian river cruise”
- WA, Australia Aug 2018 4 Helpful Votes View Photo

Many great experiences on this tour of the palaces, churches, Kremlin and a lot of places of interest along the way. The ship is Russian and Russian crewed and whilst it was good and the staff were very friendly it was not to the standard experienced previously with the AmaWaterways ships that APT use on their European river cruises. Nor was there the flexibility of say just having a snack at meal time rather than formal dining for lunch and dinner. The entertainment was generally good however putting it on at 8.30 and 9.30 at night was getting a bit late for a lot of people. The local guides were excellent with a great command of English and knowledge.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Spectacular Scenery in the Canadian Rockies and Alaska”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

The Butchart Gardens in Victoria were spectacular at this time of year. The awesome sight of glaciers - such as the Athabasca Glacier that we walked on in the Rockies; the multiple glaciers in Glacier Bay (some calving off into the ocean as we watched); and the Mendenhall Glacier near Juneau - were unforgettable. Watching a young mother black bear lead her two cubs along the shore as we paddled along Blue River was a thrill.

The old gold-rush town of Skagway was delightful. And the trip to the Misty Fjords, out of Ketchikan, was also memorable. These highlights - together with the unique perspective of stunning and varied scenery from two days in a bubble-top carriage on the Rocky Mountaineer - made the entire 22 day journey a trip of a lifetime.

It was an ideal time of year to travel; we had the benefit of two very good APT tour escorts - one on the land tour and another for the cruise; and only minor downside for us was that the pace was a little hectic. However, the overall experience was very enjoyable - and very much worth doing!

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Complete Kimberley's tour”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2018 2 Helpful Votes

Great trip well organised but I suggest people do the land trip first and followed by the cruise.The food, accomodation and itinerary for land and sea trips were first class.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Unforgettable journey through two awe-inspiring countries ”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Yvonne made the booking experience a breeze and APT fitted the bill in delivering an amazing holiday experience that we could not fault. The Northern Lights was a bonus we never expected! Our friends followed our escapades on Facebook and are making their own plans now to visit Canada and Alaska. Very much looking forward to our next adventure.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“First River Cruise”
- NSW , Australia Aug 2018 4 Helpful Votes

What a trip. I've never done a cruise of any description before and this was certainly the way to go. My cabin on the ship was great and I could sit and watch the countryside go by. The ship and its staff were fabulous and would definitely go with APT again. My experience with Global was wonderful. I met some great new friends and have already made plans to catch up for lunch in a few weeks. The places we visited along our journey were great and I especially liked the little villages of Melk and Durnstein. I absolutely fell in love with Prague and Budapest and would love to go back and spend more time there.

Now for the next one!

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic Kimberley Tour”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2018 1 Helpful Vote

This was a great way to see the Kimberley and travel to places we would not normally get to see. Travelling the infamous Gibb River Rd and the even worse road to the Bungles was a highlight. Spectacular walks to Gorges where we could swim in the pools, although quite fresh, and amazing colours of the geological formations. Great chance to see lots of wildlife. The accommodation provided by APT and the food exceeded expectations. Our tour group was of similar age but with diverse backgrounds and all got on well. Highly enjoyed and recommend to anyone wishing to see this unspoilt part of Australia.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Kimberly Perfection ”
- SA, Australia Aug 2018 4 Helpful Votes View Photo

Our first APT trip - and what a trip. Everything was wonderful - the experiences, the learning, the company, the food, the wine, the cabin, the entertainment and best of all - the amazing crew. We loved that there seemed to be genuine respect and appreciation between all staff (different to other big ship experiences). Despite having to answer the same questions and give out the same information hundreds (1000's?) of times, everyone acted as if it was the first - and with a big smile. The cabin attendants (hi Savio!) and catering and other hospitality staff always looked and sounded as if they were delighted to see you, the deck guys were amazing AND entertaining and the expedition team were just wonderful - enthusiastic, generous, knowledgeable and skilled. We were sad to arrive in Darwin at the end of the cruise. Thank you everyone.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 292