APT Tour & Cruise Reviews

APT
4.7 out of 5
312 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with APT. Every review has been verified.

     
“Magnificent Europe on Amabella”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Our first river cruise and we enjoyed every moment. Jemma Rosen from Global Journeys did a great job organising everything for us as a last minute decision to go. APT was great, Amabella our ship was OK but maybe a bit in need of redecorating in the main lounge area. The food was plentiful but not as many choices as we are used to on ocean cruises. The highlights were the wonderful excursions and special events, they were amazing!

We loved our double balcony cabin and the top deck pool was very much appreciated as we were experiencing a record breaking heatwave in Europe. We were not expecting it to be so hot, 38 degrees some days, hotter than Sydney summer. Would love to do more river cruises in France or Portugal but the big drawback is the horrendously long flights to Europe. My ideal would be to cruise over and back. Thanks Jemma for all your help and we would certainly book with you again if the right holiday in our budget became available.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent cruise with good service”
- WA, Australia Jul 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Generally an excellent cruise with good service and very good guides on shore excursions. The only event which we thought overrated was the dinner at Princess Heide's castle - the cooking of the food (chicken) was very ordinary compared with that served on the ship .

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Frantastic trip to the Top End and the Kimberley”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019

Our APT tour of Kakadu, Arnhem Land and the Kimberley was amazing! Unforgettable scenery, hospitality and an enlightening education from a most professional and committed tour director. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Rockies Explorer ”
- ACT, Australia Jul 2019 View Photo

We travelled with APT on a 12 day Rockies tour which included the Rocky Mountaineer in GoldLeaf. Don't do it unless you have an appetite! The entire trip ran very smoothly thanks to the great organisation of our APT tour guide and the knowledgable and competent driver. The main complaint from all passengers was that there was not enough time in each town to really appreciate the wonderful accommodation and great scenic attractions. So it was a bit rushed. We had some companions in their 40s and 50s and some in their 60s and 70s and the whole group got on really well. The rest of the tour group continued on to Alaska and by then they had a good group of friends to cruise with.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great tour of Cape York”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019

Great to walk to the top of Cape York then get a helicopter view the same afternoon. Day of great adventure.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great Trip and Great People”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

Thanks to Hannah our trip went off very well and would use Global Journeys in the future. Our touring party was fantastic and a very good mix and we all got on like a house on fire. If I did this trip again I would look at another flight option.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Magnificent Kimberley Coast”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote

The Kimberley coast cruise with APT has long been on our bucket list. We had read many positive reviews and they were all true. The ship, the crew, the organisation, the food, the excursions were all exceptional. The expedition staff, led by Jane, went out of their way to ensure we maximised our experience. Well done APT. Closer to home Yvonne and Global Journeys ensured all pre-cruise organisation went smoothly.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Kimberley Wilderness Adventures ”
- TAS, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Booking with Global Journeys was good. Overall, the trip was excellent, but we are still extremely disappointed that APT could not see fit to refund a night's accommodation that was booked accidentally, so we will think twice about using the company again. Accommodation good. Time of year was good. We mixed well with other travellers and plan to keep in touch with some. Driver/guide Basil was excellent.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Outstanding Kimberley trip by land and sea”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019

We had a wonderful 10 days on the land from Broome to Broome via at times very rough roads. Thanks to our driver, Ray, who was a mine of knowledge, as well as working tirelessly to make the trip as smooth (!) as possible. The component by ship gave us a totally different insight from the vast landscape we encountered. We would have liked more time free in Broome, rather than being taken on a coach trip before boarding the ship. Additionally we would have liked to be able to upgrade our flight seats, rather than being told the APT seats were not upgradable. I feel that Global Journeys should have discussed this with us at the time of booking.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Great river cruise Amsterdam to Budapest”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 6 Helpful Votes

A great cruise, very well organised, everything went on time and when one of the locks was damaged APT organised changing boats without interfering with the trip. Extremely well done. A great holiday. Flights and cruise well organised by Hannah Campbell, nothing needed to be done. Thank you all.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing tour of The Kimberley ”
- NSW, Australia May 2019 View Photo

The Kimberley is amazing. Although I have seen pictures of the Bungle Bungles, being there seeing all these formations of millions of years is breathtaking!

We travelled with APT. The driver guide was very good in her commentary of the area, the accommodations were of good standard, the four wheel drive truck was comfortable and the other people in the group were all very nice. We would strongly recommend this 9 day tour with APT.

Booking of this tour with Global Journeys was smooth and efficient.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Rockies & Alaska tour.”
- VIC, Australia May 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Wonderful tour with APT, very well organised, great tour guides and coach driver. Cruise to Alaska was very relaxing after a hectic ground tour.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Flawless & an Amazing Holiday”
- VIC, Australia May 2019

We had the best holidays of our lifetime! Everything was top notch, from the excellent service from Jemma at Global Journeys, our very professional APT Tour Director Mary, coach driver Rob and our Alaska cruise guide, the lovely Cara, they just made the whole trip almost flawless, first class in every way.

They really looked after us very well and exceeded our expectations. We had a terrific holiday. A huge thank you to all especially Jemma, she was extremely helpful, provided great guidance with the trip from the beginning until the very end. Really glad that we booked through Global Journeys, would highly recommend their service!

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Central Australia Discovery”
- Hong Kong May 2019 View Photo

I had been to places where not many people have paid attention to but are gorgeous. The landscapes in Alice Springs, West MacDonnell Ranges, and the helicopter ride over the lost cities were fabulous.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic trip from start to finish”
- ACT, Australia May 2019 2 Helpful Votes

We booked our APT 22 Day Rockies Odyssey & Alaska cruise through Yvonne at Global Journeys and the whole experience was delightful and seamless. Yvonne is very professional, prompt, and helpful. I thought we had to cancel our trip due to my husbands medical condition and Yvonne was terrific... thank goodness were able to go and it was truly the trip of a lifetime.

The flights with Air Canada in premium economy were certainly the way to travel however the service was pretty ordinary. Once we met our APT tour guide Russel Burton (Russ), we knew we were in good hands and he managed our group beautifully as ages ranged from mid 40's to late 70's. Russ was very informative, enthusiastic and very caring and I would love to do another tour with him "at the helm". Norm Creighton was in charge of driving the coach and we were able to relax (snooze) knowing we were in very capable hands.

To the tour... OMG Lake Louise was breathtaking in her frozen elegance, the Banff Springs Hotel made us feel like royalty, the Rocky Mountaineer was fantastic from the minute we boarded. The meals and Freedom of Choice activities were all first class and we went on a helicopter over Banff, on a zodiac in Victoria, Float Plane in Whistler and the Ice Explorer on the Athabasca Glacier just to name a few activities. We were lucky enough to see one grizzly and 7 black bears in the wild. I would recommend going early in the season, beat the crowds and experience the frozen wonderland at its best.

We enjoyed the land content more than the Holland America Cruise. We found that Holland America need to provide more activities (trivia etc) and it is lacking live music in the day time around the ship. Having said that we enjoyed BBKings and Billboard each night where there are two pianists taking requests. The meals were smaller than other cruise ships I have been on, however the beds comfortable and the scenery at Glacier Bay stunning.

We all found the last day in Vancouver to be very taxing. We disembarked the ship at 08.00 and did not fly out of Vancouver until 11.50 pm. This was a very long day as it was cold and raining and whilst APT looked after our luggage they did not look after the tour group. Unless you had booked day use in a hotel (too late on the day) there was nowhere to go. The Fairmont said we could not sit in their lobby and some of the group sat in the food court in excess of 12 hours waiting to go to the airport. I feel that APT could make a meeting room available for travellers to use, buy their own meals etc but have somewhere to go. This left a bitter taste in many a mouth after what was previously a first class, every detail thought about, trip.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Tour from Amsterdam to Budapest”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019 9 Helpful Votes

Firstly we would have no hesitation in booking again with Global Journeys (hello Madeline). They were very professional, pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. The trip went like clockwork.

We did the 15 day APT River Cruise. It was brilliant. Beautiful boat, incredible staff. The food was excellent and there was always free time just to wander on the city tours. If you really want to be looked after you will love this form of travel. We celebrated our 50th Wedding Anniversary on board which was incredible. Thanks again to all involved in make this River Cruise very memorable for us.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“ Sailing into a European spring ”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019 7 Helpful Votes View Photo

We have travelled extensively each year by air, on land and with many ocean cruises but this was the first river cruise for us. Last year on a tour to Scandinavia almost the entire bus had done an APT European river cruise and were full of praise and this in part motivated us to experience it ourselves.

The transfers at each end of the trip were efficient and seamless. The ship and the crew were first rate and the service unparalleled. We give a special commendation for the cruise director Emma Leslie for both friendliness and she demonstrated the greatest attention to detail with backup plans when because of the river height, when they needed a Plan B. She also gave an excellent on-board commentary while travelling through the castle reaches of the Rhine Valley.

We are active tourists but we appreciated that the company provided more gentle excursions for those who are not up for rigorous activity. The food was of a high standard served by friendly and courteous waiting staff, but with the greatest respect lacked the WOW factor of say a Seabourn cruise which is approximately in the same price range.

It’s hard to compete with Budapest, the wonderful 800-year-old Franconian Bavarian villages, and the elegance of Vienna. The itinerary with the peak experiences at the Lichtenstein private Palace concert in Vienna and the dinner recital at Schloss Burg Namedy were memorable. The latter with a live Princess soldering-on, reminded us of the Alan Bennett play "People" about another lady dedicated to the upkeep of a stately old home in the country.

Fellow travellers were mainly Australian and we still not cannot get our head around why gentlemen in their 70s with legs way past their prime and looking like the legs of a queen chair, insist on wearing shorts even when the temperature was hovering around 15 Celsius. It quite put us off our Martinis which were perfect once we had taught Stan the barman how to make a 007 Bond Vesper Martini.

Look forward to travelling with the company again.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Budapest to Amsterdam River Cruise is a Top Experience”
- Australia Apr 2019 9 Helpful Votes View Photo

From day one we enjoyed the welcoming and pleasurable hospitality on board the MS AmaVenita. Every aspect of this trip was executed with perfection and we honestly cannot fault it. The itinerary was well planned with options for guests at each port during the journey. As it turned out every guest's preferences for the on-shore excursions were met.

The Cruise Director Emma, kept us all informed and aware of events at every point during the trip. We were also blessed with great weather for the full fifteen April spring days. There was plenty of variety in the choice of excursions and through visiting small towns such as Melk and Miltenberg and big cities like Budapest Vienna and Cologne, guests were given a taste of many different worlds. We did everything from learning how to make Apple Strudel to Beer Drinking to listening to fabulous concerts In the Liechtenstein Palace in Vienna and Schloss Burg Namedy in Germany.

The journey by river in itself is so interesting as the ship travelled through 68 locks. The engineering involved is amazing and to explain it, a university lecturer and Historian specialising in Engineering History gave the most interesting account of the waterway system we were travelling on.

The food was excellent and varied with the menu reflecting the different regions we passed through. The journey was made pleasant through the sheer friendliness of all staff. I fully recommend this trip to anyone looking for a relaxing and yet stimulating journey. Thank you to the team from APT and Global Journeys for making it a seamless experience which now has become a set of the most beautiful memories.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Voyage Through The Balkans”
- QLD, Australia Mar 2019 3 Helpful Votes

Hannah did a great job booking our river cruise (Voyage Through The Balkans) with APT.

If you want a holiday where everything ( excursions nearly every day with guides, drinks all day and night, dining all day / night of the highest quality each day) is paid for and you are thoroughly spoiled, then book with Global Journeys and APT.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Great tour of New Zealand”
- WA, Australia Mar 2019

It was a great tour and we saw a lot of NZ. Our bus drivers Reece (North Island) and Brownie (South Island) were very polite and Brownie (Maori) gave us an informative and humourous insight into his childhood and that of his father's and grandfather's. Annalise our Tour Director was the best, had such a wealth of knowledge.

Most of the accommodation was good but 3 hotels did not have air conditioning and because NZ was having an Indian Summer it was not comfortable for sleeping. We had great weather except on the last day when it rained and we missed seeing Mt. Cook. The meals were all awesome.

The overnight cruise was a highlight for us and of course so was the extra excursion (which everyone should do) taking a helicopter ride on Franz Josef Glacier. New Zealand is a spectacular country, people are so nice. Would recommend this trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 312