AAT Kings Reviews

382 verified AAT Kings tour reviews from past clients of Global Journeys.

VIC, Australia
Mar 2019
1 Trip
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Booking With Global Journeys
Just returned home from our trip to the Great Ocean Road and Kangaroo Island and Adelaide. We had a fabulous time and enjoyed every part of the trip. Our tour guide and coach driver were great. The food was so enjoyable and the accommodation was the best. My sister and I could not find anything to complain about so I am sure we would travel with your company again. Once again thank you for an enjoyable trip.
Australia
Feb 2019
1 Trip
“Great Ocean Rd, Kangaroo Island and Barossa”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Global Journeys was very helpful, easy to deal with, efficient and reliable. We had a great trip. We met some great new friends and had a ball. Highlights were Kangaroo Island and the Barossa tour was very good. The accommodation was very good, even in smaller towns, and we were very pleased with the included meals - all were of high quality.
QLD, Australia
Jan 2019
2 Trips
“Scenic tour through New Zealand's South Island”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Fantastic trip, happy with the professionalism from booking to the end. AAT Kings were excellent in every aspect and the tour guide Isobel was probably the best guide I have ever had on an escorted tour. Her pride in New Zealand was evident throughout and her knowledge was brilliant. She is a friendly, happy, patient guide, quite a natural to this type of work. AAT Kings are lucky to have her. Would definitely travel with them again.
QLD, Australia
Jan 2019
“Perfect Tasmaina”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
I would highly recommend this tour and already have to a close friend. I was happy that the tour included the Mt Field National Park and Cradle Mountain. It was a well paced tour and I felt I was accommodated well. I enjoyed the Freycinet Lodge and all the accommodation was of a high standard. I chose this tour because I had the option to visit MONA within the timeline of the tour.

The food everywhere was a highlight of this tour particularly at the Josef Chromy Wines Estate. I've learnt about Cape Grim beef and have found it here in QLD. Everywhere everything was delicious. I could write about that aspect all day. Our tour guide Carolyn was a great ambassador for her state. I was surprised how she could inform, be clear and friendly all day and night. She is a marvel. Her reportage of Tasmanian history is personal as she is from convict stock. She is a born storyteller and she brings it alive for all to ponder and connect with that magical island.

The coach was ever so comfortable and the seating was fair and ample. Global Journeys were courteous and prompt with all correspondence. We would use Global Journeys again when planning our next holiday. The discounts were what prompted us to use Global Journeys. I had my birthday on tour and it was the best ever as we visited the lavender farm in the morning and in the evening we all got very merry.
Hong Kong
Dec 2018
1 Trip
“6 Day Tasmania Tour”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
I had booked AAT Kings' Tasmania tour (6 day tour from 29 Dec 18 to 3 Jan 19) through Jemma of Global Journeys. I was impressed by Jemma's efficiency and professionalism.

My husband and I had an enjoyable holiday in Tasmania, however, if AAT Kings could make more of an effort on the following items, it would enhance and sustain its brand and image.

1) Ensure accuracy of its documents prior to being sent to its customers (I needed to send an email to Jemma prior to the commencement of the trip and requested confirmation on the pick up venue on first day of the tour).

2) Incorrect information listed on the documents resulted in 4 customers being unable to assemble at the correct pick up venue (Travelodge Hobart) at 2:00 pm on the first day of the tour, so they missed out on visiting 2 spots and the driver needed to drive back to the Travelodge to pick them up. This incident shortened our time for sightseeing (visited Hobart's down town...) as the welcome drinks started at 6:00 pm.

3) Time for bag collection was at 7:00 am (4 days) and 8:00 am (1 day), the former collection time gave us discomfort as we needed to wake up at 6:00 am at the latest so as to meet AAT Kings' request. We needed rest on our holiday, however, this request put us under pressure ...

4) Most of the hotel accommodation arranged was pretty good except "Travelodge", the grading of the motel does not meet AAT Kings' brand.

Most of the food arranged together with service rendered by the Travel Director and Driver were good.

I would consider both Global Journeys and AAT Kings in the future as they offer value for money.
NSW, Australia
Nov 2018
2 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Our wonderful trip around Tasmania”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Our trip to Tasmania was extremely well organised and certainly met our expectations. The guide Caroline was very informative and very attentive to all the group. Despite the group being very large (50 people) there were no problems at all and everyone got on very well. The accommodation was excellent and we had no complaints there. The itinerary was well thought out and it was a good time to go. The weather was pleasant with no rain, despite it being very cloudy. The only disappointment was we didn't have enough time at Port Arthur. We would have liked more time to explore all the buildings. Other than that we're very happy.
VIC, Australia
Nov 2018
1 Helpful Vote
1 Trip
“Amazing and wonderful worry free tour ”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Global Journeys and AAT Kings made my Tasmanian Wonders tour absolutely worry free. Madeline from Global Journeys organised this tour for me so well. From my arrival to departure I had no worries. The trip was great and we were blessed with beautiful weather.

Everyone was so friendly and helpful on this tour. We got on with each other so well. Our Travel Director Carolyn had a wealth of knowledge and understanding about Tasmanian history and she was very helpful. Tom our coach driver was excellent in all areas of his expertise and very helpful as well. I left with so much knowledge and understanding of Tasmania. I will visit Tasmania in the near future soon. I would recommend this tour to anyone who loves travelling and learning about cultures, people and scenic views.

I enjoyed every minute of this tour. I have already booked another tour to Europe with Global Journeys. Thank you to Global Journeys and AAT Kings for the best tour I have ever had!!
NSW, Australia
Nov 2018
1 Trip
“Tasmanian Wonders”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Great trip. Well organised and easy to just sit back and enjoy. Carolyn, our tour director, shared interesting stories and background information on the areas we visited while Tom, our coach driver, was professional, courteous and got us safely from one destination to another. The itinerary was well planned and gave us a great taste of Tasmania. Would definitely recommend.
WA, Australia
Nov 2018
2 Trips
“A fantastic 10 day trip around Tasmania”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Had a fantastic time travelling around Tasmania with AAT Kings. Everything was so well organised, with a very informative travel director and great driver. Made our trip worry free and very enjoyable. Made lots of friends who we will definitely catch up with again. Great accommodation throughout and our friendly travel director would often include an extra stop at a lookout or interesting site if we were running on time. Loved Tasmania, particularly the west coast and central highlands. Cradle Mountain was the highlight!
QLD, Australia
Nov 2018
1 Helpful Vote
1 Trip
“10 Day Tasmanian Wonders coach tour with AAT Kings”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Had a wonderful tour around Tasmania in November, the roadsides were covered in wild flowers, the weather was ideal and the coach tour staff were excellent at keeping us informed about the local history. This tour visited spectacular rainforests and tourist attractions that suited the type of tour we were looking for. The accommodation and meals supplied were all excellent with special dietary requirements catered for. I would recommend this tour to anyone travelling to Tasmania.
United States
Nov 2018
2 Trips
“Interesting tour!”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Again Juliet rose to the occasion! I told her what I wanted to do and she arranged it! It was a one night stay so we were constantly busy, but that was the plan! I was a little disappointed in the Pioneer Lodge, but that had been my choice! I thought the check in was unorganised and the buffet was so overpriced! But the accommodations were fine!
Australia
Nov 2018
1 Helpful Vote
1 Trip
“Excellent tour of New Zealand's South Island”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Wow what an excellent tour, scenery was fantastic, lovely group of people on our tour and everybody was friendly and mixed well. Would like to say that Isobel Needham our tour guide was fantastic, so helpful and knowledgeable with all our points of interest on the way. Overall could not fault anything on this tour.
NSW, Australia
Oct 2018
1 Trip
“Wonderful 17 Day Kia Ora Tour of New Zealand”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Wonderful holiday, we saw all the sights we wanted to visit plus extras. The tour director Gina and our driver Mark went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time even when the weather caused some problems. There was plenty of variety with optional tours. Everything was organised for us so we just had to sit back and relax. Highly recommended.
NSW, Australia
Sep 2018
1 Trip
“8 days in the North Island of NZ”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Was very enjoyable, tours director and driver were excellent. Hotels were good and enjoyed my trip immensely. My fellow companions were good company and the coach was not full which gave room to move around. The inclusions were good and options were diverse although I did not take them.
WA, Australia
Sep 2018
1 Trip
“Queensland Islands and Rainforrest”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Very satisfied with all aspects of this tour. Final night BBQ was a great touch. It gave everyone an opportunity to mingle and get to see how life is in North Queensland.
NSW, Australia
Sep 2018
“Great trip”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Booking With Global Journeys
Great trip, did not have to think too much because the tour was all planned. Beautiful coach with an amazing driver, sailed smoothly all the way around. Knowledgeable tour director. I learnt so much about Tasmania that I had no idea about. Accommodation was more than acceptable. Would definitely travel with AAT Kings again.
NSW, Australia
Sep 2018
1 Helpful Vote
“Tassie's Wilderness Icons”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
This was our second trip with Global Journeys and AAT Kings. Booking was easy. The trip was fantastic and we travelled on a brand new coach. Both the driver and tour coordinator were friendly and helpful. Carolyn shared her knowledge about the area we travelled and you could tell she just loved her job. Hotel accommodation was far beyond our expectations especially Tall Timbers Smithton. Staff were always friendly and helpful as were all tour guides. All inclusions were great as were the optional extras. Being the first tour of the season we had a small group all of whom were friendly and easy to get along with. Even the weather played its part and only rained one day. Saw fantastic sights. Would recommend this tour.
QLD, Australia
Sep 2018
1 Helpful Vote
“Tasmanian Wonders 10 day AAT Kings Tour ”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
We were the 1st tour for the season and left Hobart with 17 passengers, the coach was brand new and very comfortable. Our driver Tom had many years of experience so I felt very comfortable and safe. Carolyn our tour director also was a wealth of knowledge about everything! I'd been to Tassie for 4 days 20 years ago and this was the best way for me to see more. I'm single and enjoy travelling but not driving, therefore being driven around allowed me to see a lot more. I loved the mix of towns we got to see as well as spending time in Hobart and Launceston. The hotels were all clean and comfortable, a couple of places were noisy, mainly traffic noise. The meals included were more than enough, breakfast buffets with a lot of choices and dinners included had a lot of local cuisine.

Carolyn & Tom knew all the good coffee places to stop in towns and for a bit of shopping etc. Our group being smaller got along pretty well and often had evening drinks in the bar, so it was quite social. I paid for some optional tours such as a wildlife night spotting tour and a penguin night tour which were good value. The James Boag Tour was interesting and you get 3 beers, cheese and crackers. Port Arthur was an amazing place to visit (emotional). I felt the boat harbour tour wasn't for me, so if that was left out there would be more time to look around, you need a bit of time to walk around and there are lots of buildings to see. Included tours such as Bridestowe Lavender farm & Ashgrove Cheese farm were a good way to see family businesses.

The whole trip I felt was good value for money, because our group was smaller I can't comment on a coach load which I could imagine would be quite different. AAT Kings seem very professional, helpful and love what they do. The photo is overlooking the town of Stanley in the northwest of Tassie, one of my favourite places. I would recommend the 12 day tour as you get to stay at Freycinet and 2 nights in Cradle Mountain.
NSW, Australia
Aug 2018
2 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“21 days Untamed Kimberley and West Coast.”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
We have just returned from a 21 day tour of the Kimberley and West Coast with AAT Kings. We were very fortunate to have Liz as our Tour Director. Liz was always enthusiastic, had a wealth of knowledge and a great sense of humour. Likewise Darren, the coach driver, was courteous and a safe driver who negotiated some challenging roads and conditions. If you choose to travel with AAT Kings and encounter Liz and Darren on your tour you will have an amazing holiday!

Our tour started in Darwin and 49 of us travelled through to Broome where 32 left and another 12 people joined for the journey to Perth. Although initially a large group, we had a great mix of ages and personalities which made for enjoyable company, despite the size of the group.

Living on the East Coast of Australia one can never truly imagine how different the West Coast of Australia can be. The rugged and contrasting landscapes were amazing and despite some days travelling vast distances we were always rewarded with unique experiences and sights. From the various gorges we visited with their steep cliffs and unusual rock formations to cruising the Ord River with all of its amazing wildlife with a stunning sunset at the end, was magical. During our time in the Kimberley we also visited some local indigenous art galleries and had a local indigenous guide, Ted Hall from the Argyle Diamond Mine gave a very informative talk on the operations of the mine and his people.

Accommodation on this tour was varied and at times challenging. Not being campers, we really didn’t know what to expect at Emma Gorge, El Questro. However, our safari-style tented cabins were a truly unique ‘glamping experience’ as was the quality of the food on offer. By contrast camping in Karijini National Park was certainly a very different experience and a word of warning - rug up, bring your thermals – it was very, very cold at night.

Other highlights of our tour were Broome where we were fortunate to witness ‘the staircase to the moon’ phenomenon and a late afternoon camel ride along Cable Beach – highly recommended! The Pilbara region was also very different - lots of red dust which covered everything, even us! Further down the coast we experienced wild dolphins at Monkey Mia, the incredible Ningaloo Reef, wildflowers in abundance, the amazing stromatolites at Hamelin Pool and The Pinnacles – how do those rock formations ‘grow’ out of the sand? Our journey soon came to an end in Perth but we were certainly left with many memorable experiences.

Our thanks also to Madeline at Global Journeys, who was always very efficient in relaying information to us regarding our tour and ensuring all documentation was correct. Some of our fellow travellers had also booked through Global Journeys and were full of praise for their organisation and efficiency.
NSW, Australia
Aug 2018
1 Helpful Vote
9 Trips
“Amazing scenery, great tour, great group, good fun”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Whilst I have done several coach tours in Europe, this was the first I've taken in Australia and I really enjoyed it. It's a long haul journey which can be made or ruined by the tour director. In our case, Liz did a fantastic job of juggling the wants and needs of a full coach load in some of the remotest parts of Australia, even providing a few surprise stops along the way. Darren, our driver, mechanic, cleaner, did a great job of getting us where we needed to be safely. The flat tyre was a highlight for us, not so much for Darren!

Other highlights of the tour included all the gorges and some of the amazing views along the west coast. All different and all beautiful, but my favourite on-water experience in the Kimberley, was the Ord River cruise to Kununurra. The Outback experience at Katherine was a lot of fun, as was the visit to the rum distillery. The Bungle Bungles were stunning (I did the optional excursion of the full day 4WD tour) and the half-day tour to the Horizontal Falls from Broome was brilliant (also an optional but well worth it). We were also fortunate enough to see the huge carpets of wildflowers along the west coast, not something every tour gets to see.

Accommodation was good everywhere, particularly when you take into consideration the isolation of some of these townships. I really enjoyed the tented accommodation at El Questro and the resort in Broome. We were well catered for with food along the way, with the exception of our last night at the Crowne Plaza in Perth. Their restaurant definitely does not live up to the hype. All in all, this is one of my favourite tours, I'm just sorry that I didn't add a short trip to Kakadu to the beginning.

Results 1-20 of 382  

Back to top