Northeast India & Darjeeling by Rail

13 Day Small Group Tour from Kolkata to Delhi with G Adventures

Book online and enjoy exclusive savings on G Adventures 13 Day Northeast India & Darjeeling by Rail. Anybody can view the sights of India by foot or bus - but you're not just anybody. Instead, get off the beaten path and see India in a very untypical way - by train. Over two weeks, you'll head north into Sikkim and Darjeeling...read more

     
Our Price From:
$ 1,244
Per Person ($AU)
Save This Month:
$ 294
Per Person ($AU)
Small Group Tour Starts In
Starts In
Kolkata
Small Group Tour Ends In
Ends In
Delhi
Trip Budget
Budget
Affordable
16
Max Group Size
16
Adventure Tour
Trip Style
Adventure Tour
Rail Journey
Trip Style
Rail Journey
Countries Explored:
India
Trip Operated By:
G Adventures
G Adventures
34 Reviews
Trip Reviews:
No Reviews
Trip Code:
AHDR

Itinerary

Expand All
1 Calcutta
Arrive at any time.
2 Calcutta - Jalpāiguri
Visit the Victoria Memorial, New Market and explore Mother Teresa's House. In the evening, board an overnight New Jalpaiguri Kamrup Express train to New Jalpaiguri.
3 Jalpāiguri - Darjeeling
Famous for the black tea grown amongst the tea plantations, enjoy the scenic views of Darjeeling. Set upon the foothills of the Himalayas, expect the climate to be much different from the plains. Stay: Mountain View
4 Darjeeling
Watch the sunrise at Tiger Hill, visit a tea estate and explore the Mahakal Temple. Later, travel the World Heritage-listed Darjeeling Himalayan Railway on a vintage steam engine train. Continue with a visit to the Peace Pagoda and a cooking demonstration at a local, family-run restaurant. Stay: Maple Wood Resort (L)
5 Darjeeling - Gangtok
Continue by private van to Gangtok and take an orientation tour of the town. Take in the stunning scenery of the Himalayas surrounding this quaint town. Stay: Maple Wood Resort
6 Gangtok
Enjoy a day trip to Rumtek Monastery and take the rest of the day to explore this scenic town. Stay: Krishna Residency
7 Gangtok - Kalimpong
Continue by private vehicle to Kalimpong and embark on an orientation walk of the town. Enjoy the rest of the day to explore at leisure. Stay: Krishna Residency
8 Darjeeling to Varanasi
Drive to New Jalpaiguri Station with a stop en route at Deolo Hills to take in views of the mountainous scenery. Catch the overnight train to Varanasi.
9 Mughal Sarāi - Varanasi
Arrive to Mughal Sarai in the morning and continue by van to Varanasi. Enjoy an evening visit to the ghats. Stay: Hotel Vaibhav
10 Varanasi
Take a sunrise boat trip on the Ganges. Enjoy a free afternoon to explore Sarnath and the city of Varanasi. Stay: Hotel Vaibhav
11 Varanasi - Lucknow
Take a morning Varanasi-Lucknow Intercity train. In the afternoon, visit the Bara Imambara. Stay: Pallava Residency
12 Lucknow - Delhi
Spend most of the day exploring Lucknow. In the afternoon, board the Swarna Shatabdi Express train to Delhi, with dinner provided on board. Enjoy the night in the bustle of Delhi. Stay: Hotel Mehar Castle (D)
13 Delhi
With extra time, you can book our 'Agra Independent Adventure' including accommodation, transport, and a guided visit to India's most famous sight, the Taj Mahal.

G Adventures Inclusions

Expand All
Sightseeing Highlights
  • Savour a local lunch in Darjeeling.
  • Ride a World Heritage-listed toy train.
  • Watch the sunrise on the Ganges.
  • Experience the bustle of Delhi.
Trip Inclusions
  • Victoria Memorial visit
  • Ganges ferry ride
  • Deolo Hill visit (Kalimpong)
  • Local lunch (Darjeeling)
  • Gangtok orientation tour
  • Rumtek Monastery day trip
  • Darjeeling orientation tour
  • Tiger Hill sunrise visit
  • Tea estate visit
  • Mahakal Temple visit
  • Peace Pagoda visit
  • Toy train to Kurseong
  • Evening ghats visit (Varanasi)
  • Sunrise boat trip on the Ganges
  • Lucknow orientation tour
  • Bara Imambara visit
  • All transport between destinations and to/from included activities
Accommodation
  • Hotels/guesthouses (10 nts), sleeper train (2 nts)
  • A variety of styles of hotels/guest houses are used in India. These can vary in terms of service, efficiency and cleanliness. In many instances they might not be like what you are used to back home. Power cuts are a regular occurrence in many places, especially throughout North and Central India. Although a number of hotels have generators there may be times when these won’t work. It is also recommended when you are in your room to lock the door, as staff will sometimes enter without reason.
Your Tour Guides
  • Chief Experience Officer (CEO) throughout, local guides
Included Meals
  • 1 lunch, 1 dinner
Transport
  • Train (seats), train (beds), toy train, private van, walking
Read Trip Notes
  • Trip Notes outline what's included, visa information, important notes, how to get to your hotel, packing checklist, optional activities, travel insurance requirements - pretty much everything you need to know about this adventure and more. Please take time to have a read through, and contact us if you have any questions. View Trip Notes

Prices & Dates

Best Price Guarantee We'll beat any G Adventures quote!
Repeat Travellers Past 'G' clients save additional 5%!
Past Client? Save an additional $100 per booking!
Trip Starts Trip Ends Status Offer Save Now Our Price  
Thursday 13 Jun 2019 Tuesday 25 Jun 2019 60per person 1,439per person Sold Out
Monday 02 Sep 2019 Saturday 14 Sep 2019 255per person 1,244per person Enquire
Monday 09 Sep 2019 Saturday 21 Sep 2019 255per person 1,244per person Enquire
Monday 23 Sep 2019 Saturday 05 Oct 2019 255per person 1,244per person Sold Out
Thursday 10 Oct 2019 Tuesday 22 Oct 2019 275per person 1,344per person Sold Out
Thursday 17 Oct 2019 Tuesday 29 Oct 2019 275per person 1,344per person Enquire
Monday 21 Oct 2019 Saturday 02 Nov 2019 275per person 1,344per person Enquire
Monday 04 Nov 2019 Saturday 16 Nov 2019 294per person 1,435per person Enquire
Thursday 14 Nov 2019 Tuesday 26 Nov 2019 294per person 1,435per person Enquire
Monday 25 Nov 2019 Saturday 07 Dec 2019 294per person 1,435per person Sold Out
Thursday 12 Dec 2019 Tuesday 24 Dec 2019 294per person 1,435per person Enquire
Monday 23 Dec 2019 Saturday 04 Jan 2020 69per person 1,660per person Sold Out
Monday 13 Jan 2020 Saturday 25 Jan 2020 69per person 1,660per person Enquire
Monday 03 Feb 2020 Saturday 15 Feb 2020 69per person 1,660per person Enquire
Monday 10 Feb 2020 Saturday 22 Feb 2020 69per person 1,660per person Enquire
Monday 17 Feb 2020 Saturday 29 Feb 2020 69per person 1,660per person Enquire
Monday 24 Feb 2020 Saturday 07 Mar 2020 69per person 1,660per person Enquire
Monday 02 Mar 2020 Saturday 14 Mar 2020 69per person 1,660per person Enquire
Monday 09 Mar 2020 Saturday 21 Mar 2020 69per person 1,660per person Enquire
Monday 16 Mar 2020 Saturday 28 Mar 2020 69per person 1,660per person Enquire
Monday 23 Mar 2020 Saturday 04 Apr 2020 69per person 1,660per person Enquire
Thursday 26 Mar 2020 Tuesday 07 Apr 2020 69per person 1,660per person Enquire
Thursday 09 Apr 2020 Tuesday 21 Apr 2020 65per person 1,554per person Enquire
Thursday 23 Apr 2020 Tuesday 05 May 2020 65per person 1,554per person Enquire
Thursday 07 May 2020 Tuesday 19 May 2020 65per person 1,554per person Enquire
Thursday 28 May 2020 Tuesday 09 Jun 2020 65per person 1,554per person Enquire
Monday 15 Jun 2020 Saturday 27 Jun 2020 60per person 1,439per person Enquire
Monday 07 Sep 2020 Saturday 19 Sep 2020 60per person 1,439per person Enquire
Thursday 17 Sep 2020 Tuesday 29 Sep 2020 60per person 1,439per person Enquire
Monday 05 Oct 2020 Saturday 17 Oct 2020 65per person 1,554per person Enquire
Thursday 15 Oct 2020 Tuesday 27 Oct 2020 60per person 1,439per person Enquire
Thursday 22 Oct 2020 Tuesday 03 Nov 2020 60per person 1,439per person Enquire
Monday 26 Oct 2020 Saturday 07 Nov 2020 65per person 1,554per person Enquire
Thursday 05 Nov 2020 Tuesday 17 Nov 2020 60per person 1,439per person Enquire
Thursday 19 Nov 2020 Tuesday 01 Dec 2020 65per person 1,554per person Enquire
Thursday 03 Dec 2020 Tuesday 15 Dec 2020 65per person 1,554per person Enquire
Thursday 17 Dec 2020 Tuesday 29 Dec 2020 69per person 1,660per person Enquire
Thursday 07 Jan 2021 Tuesday 19 Jan 2021 69per person 1,660per person Enquire
Thursday 14 Jan 2021 Tuesday 26 Jan 2021 69per person 1,660per person Enquire
Thursday 28 Jan 2021 Tuesday 09 Feb 2021 69per person 1,660per person Enquire
Key
Exclusive Global Journeys Savings. Available for a limited time or until sold out.
Limited Time Sale. Limited availability at this price.
Note: Your Global Journeys Travel Advisor will check the availability of your departure date when you enquire. Additional savings may apply. We guarantee the lowest price in Australia. T&C’s apply.

Similar Tours

India & Sri Lanka Tours   G Adventures Asia Tours   Rail Journeys   

14 Days Negombo to Male
Operated By: G Adventures
14 Days Kochi to Kochi
Operated By: G Adventures
14 Days Kochi to Kolkata
Operated By: G Adventures
Trip Notes
Trip prices are per person, and reflect applicable discounts. Discounts are subject to availability, exclusive to Global Journeys and may be withdrawn at any time without notice. Trip prices are correct at the time of the products going live, however are subject to confirmation at the time of booking. All trip information is correct at time of trips going live, however are subject to change by G Adventures. Full terms & conditions are available here.